Your audiobook is waiting…

Redemption Point

A Crimson Lake Novel, Book 2
Narrated by: Euan Morton
Series: Crimson Lake, Book 2
Length: 13 hrs and 10 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (264 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Number-one New York Times best-selling author Candice Fox delivers a compulsive new crime thriller in Redemption Point.

When former police detective Ted Conkaffey was wrongly accused of abducting Claire Bingley, he hoped the Queensland rain forest town of Crimson Lake would be a good place to disappear. But nowhere is safe from Claire's devastated father.  

Dale Bingley has a brutal revenge plan all worked out - and if Ted doesn't help find the real abductor, he'll be its first casualty.   

Meanwhile, in a dark roadside hovel called the Barking Frog Inn, the bodies of two young bartenders lie on the beer-sodden floor. It's Detective Inspector Pip Sweeney's first homicide investigation - complicated by the arrival of Private Detective Amanda Pharrell to "assist" on the case. Amanda's conviction for murder a decade ago has left her with some odd behavioral traits, top-to-toe tattoos - and a keen eye for killers.....

For Ted and Amanda, the hunt for the truth will draw them into a violent dance with evil. Redemption is certainly in the cards - but it may well cost them their lives....

©2018 Candice Fox (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

"Narrator Euan Morton's gravelly voice and Australian accent embody Ted...His excellent pacing and gripping delivery maintain tension." (AudioFile Magazine on Crimson Lake)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    194
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    214
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    169
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Tremendous Series, Clever and Witty

Unique, humane and vulnerable characters, and a great mystery to boot. Readers who love Department Q and Harry Hole will be thrilled to discover another great series featuring great detectives with severe flaws.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb

Taut, cohesive, so very well-written and narrated. I will be reading all Candice Fox’s novels.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Had so much promise...

This book had so much promise. The beginning of the book will draw you in but unfortunately it will not keep you interested. The author tried to work two different stories into one and it just didn’t work out. I tried so hard to get into it but couldn’t. I didn’t even finish it. Returned it mid way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Don't let subject matter scare you off

I had my concerns about the series because of the subject. I don't like books that use detailing brutality against women and children as just plot devices. I found both books kept me involved without making me want to turn away. I almost wanted to skip the chapters where the supposed molester speaks but I hung on. That said I listened to this straight thru in two days. I had to know what happened. Ted and Amanda are great characters and I want to see more of their development.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

superb!!

I am so glad I've found Candice Fox. Her stories are unique and so easy to listen to. And the narrator, Eaun Morton, is the BEST! He makes the character of Ted Conkaffey come alive! Cant wait for the next book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

creative and thrilling

The best of a great series. Couldn't stop reading till the end. The characters and story are complex and unique.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • R
  • POLLOCK PINES, CA, United States
  • 05-17-19

Didn't Disappoint!

the first book truly surprised me. It kept me coming back for more. I even suggested the book two friends who loved it. So I was skeptical of the follow-up book.

I still love Amanda, woman, and Ted. I loved in the first book how all three played such significant roles in each other's lives. My only downside is that woman was slightly featured in book two but I truly enjoyed learning more of Amanda story as well as Ted's.

I'm waiting book 3. Continue with the journey of Amanda, Ted and woman.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, narrator was hard to follow

Loved the novel. Because there were multiple viewpoint characters it was hard to follow the switching perspectives as the narrator didn’t vary his voice a great deal. Otherwise really enjoyable and a pretty good performance.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My new favorite series!

Can't wait for the next installment of the misadventures of Amanda and Ted. Fox makes these two very damaged, very world weary people loveable. And Morton's performance is always spot on.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Mark
  • Boston, MA, United States
  • 03-31-19

Lossy ending

The first book was great. This book never should have never ended like it did. Sent it back and will not buy the next book.