Your audiobook is waiting…

Queenie

Narrated by: Shvorne Marks
Length: 9 hrs and 45 mins
Categories: Fiction, Contemporary
4.5 out of 5 stars (11 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Queenie Jenkins can't cut a break. Well, apart from one from her long-term boyfriend, Tom. That's definitely just a break, though. Definitely not a breakup. 

Stuck between a boss who doesn't seem to see her and a family who don't seem to listen (if it's not Jesus or water rates, they're not interested) and trying to fit in two worlds that don't really understand her, it's no wonder she's struggling.

She was named to be queen of everything. So why is she finding it so hard to rule her own life?

A darkly comic and bitingly subversive take on modern life, Queenie will have you nodding in recognition, crying in solidarity and rooting for this unforgettable character every step of the way.

Perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton, Bryony Gordon and Dawn O'Porter and anyone who loved Fleabag and Dear White People.

©2019 Candice Carty-Williams (P)2019 Orion Publishing Group Ltd

Critic Reviews

"Inspirational, funny and wise." (Kit de Waal, author of My Name Is Leon)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Could relate to so much

the narration is amazing. i feel that people would have a completely different connection with this book if read. would recommend although this heartfelt story can get a bit emotionally heavy in the middle. loved it though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I ended up quite liking it

After my mishap with trying to get a print copy of this book. I decided to do the audible trial and listen to this book for free. Now this is the first time I've listened to a novel in audible form so  this review is a mix of what I think of the book as well as the audible experience.


When I started listening I was just excited to experience something different so I was listening every chance I got. I loved that I had some entertainment in traffic as well as being able to listen on my blue tooth while doing housework. However after a while I did get tired of  hearing the narration. 


The book itself started off a bit shaky for me because it was beginning to feel like a depressing story of one young woman's poor sexual choices and boyfriend drama.


However it turned out to be more than that.This book touched on friendship, mother -daughter and familial relationships, battling anxiety and other complex themes. As I read on I grew to appreciate the backstory of the character and what led up to her decisions. I enjoyed reading about the counselling sessions and I was happy with how the book came together in the end. Not cliched and not depressing.

I got lost a couple of times because the author had some flash backs and I couldn't tell right away sometimes what was happening. I think it was mainly because I was listening to the audio version. I still wonder if I had read the book instead of listen to it if that would have affected my degree of enjoyment.

Overall I give this book three stars. As for the audible experience, I still have mixed feelings about it but I give it three stars as well. 



Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-12-19

Yess

amazing, a lovely depiction of humour and a black protagonist portrayed as endearing . really recommend this.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sharon
  • Sharon
  • 05-10-19

Refreshingly Riveting

Narrator is incredible!
I inhaled this book in a couple of days.
It made me laugh and it made me want to cry.
Queenie is relatable, raw, and human! She makes mistakes like the rest of us but didn’t fail to give me a warm dewy feeling when I finished!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rossanna Carter
  • Rossanna Carter
  • 05-24-19

Queenie

This is my first review. I’ve been compelled to write it having enjoyed the book so much.

Queenie, whilst predictable, has the quintessential coming of age (in your twenties/thirties) that captures superbly the essence of what it feels to be a woman who has gone through anything that makes you feel like you don’t belong.

It balances the need to feel accepted and what makes being a black woman so difficult. For me, I laughed and I felt immensely sad as the parallels with my own life were bought to life by the writer. In so many ways, the feeling that you are not alone is so important.

It was refreshing to listen to a story with a black protagonist and was narrated perfectly. There were so many things throughout the story that I found myself laughing aloud to, or predicting coming from a West Indian family which didn’t ever feel cliché. Empowering women is not a phrase I am fully a fan of, but the book does just that. It articulated the things which we go through as women and more specifically as black women without lowering the value of other ethnicities, the labels which are applied to us throughout our lives. I always thought it was just me - until recently and this just reinforces that actually, the things that aren’t spoken about are just hushed by shame. This book opens a discussion on the factors that affect us, both as black women and as women in general. The moments of hope, despair and solitude, that we try so hard not to let others see.

It is only as I have reached my thirties that I have come to realise that things are different for black women and the connection that I made made me root even more for our heroine. There’s a Queenie in us all, regardless of colour.

Solid 7/7.

I look forward to more books by Candice and plan on purchasing a paper copy for my little sister.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-08-19

Great Book for Young Black Women

Realistic glimpse into the life of a modern young black woman. Loved This Book ❤️

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for london
  • london
  • 05-08-19

Great! Listened twice!

Shvon's voices brought characters to life. Its lighthearted, relatable and easy read ! I listened twice on Audible and I'm sure I'll listen again

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms. SD Hoskins
  • Ms. SD Hoskins
  • 05-03-19

Honest and real

Loved this book. I think many women would relate to it in this modern day world, regardless of your race. I really enjoyed it and the voice actor was good and gave a good feel for thr characters cultural backgrounds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for roseroserose
  • roseroserose
  • 10-22-19

Relevant

Enjoyed this & the narrator was really good. Refreshing to hear this kinda story and some characters made me laugh out loud. Some of the writing was a bit jarring though and the lead was self involved and infuriating at points but maybe that was the point. Definitely worth a listen!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elisabeth Mahase
  • Elisabeth Mahase
  • 10-22-19

stick with it

I spent a lot of time finding the main character very frustrating but could not stop listening - it's so well written and performed that I had to keep listening. Queenie is real, she has flaws but she grows and develops and that was amazing to follow. So stick with it - it's worth it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chrissy
  • Chrissy
  • 10-21-19

Chrissy

Loved it! Shvorne read it well. Made it come alive. Definitely recommend! Candice is a very talented writer. You feel as though you're watching it all take place.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Evieliz
  • Evieliz
  • 10-20-19

Highly enjoyable

This was a perfect audio book - amusing, too. I would and have recommended

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for pootlebaby
  • pootlebaby
  • 08-04-19

Moving, poignant and great fun!

Moving, poignant and great fun. I've laughed out loud listening to this and been heart broken too.
Highly recommended.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-22-19

I loved this book!

Great character development. Interesting story with many layers. Highly recommend! x x x x x

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 09-12-19

Laughed, snorted and cried a river

Wow. Wow. Wow. Queenie, the most relatable, frustrating, lovable, devastating, inspiring book I've read this year. The narrator's performance was amazing! Her twang and accents were so on point. The family and patois was so realistic, relatable and hilarious. Felt so connected to Queenie and especially to such a raw realistic portrayal of panic and anxiety. I literally bawled for the last 8 chapters. Thank you so much for this incredible book, what a movie this would make! am here for it all xx