adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Gemma didn’t expect her life to look like this. She’s still living with her mother, who steals her leggings and tells her off for leaving crumbs in the butter. After 20 failed interviews she thought she’d got her dream job as a journalist - except it turns out to be writing articles about cats that look like George Clooney. Luckily she has her wonderful boyfriend, Jack, to help her forget just how awful things are.

Then Jack dumps her out of the blue. With nothing but her childhood teddy bear, Stanley, and a whole heap of heartbreak, Gemma resolves to turn things around. She throws herself into her new job, and soon she’s hanging out with cheeky, golden-haired hunk Charlie, eating in swanky restaurants and sipping trendy cocktails - and her old life seems like a distant memory.

But it’s not long until her shiny new world starts to lose its sparkle - and Gemma misses the days of wearing battered pink converse and eating peanut butter on toast in bed. Then Jack turns up, backpack in tow, and things start to go wrong with Charlie. "Out with the old, in with the new", the saying goes. But what happens if neither one is quite right?

This laugh-out-loud romantic comedy is for anyone who’s ever cried their eyes out to love songs after a breakup or accidentally drunk-texted their ex. Fans of Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk will love this unmissable listen, which is all about falling in love with the most important person: yourself!

This book was previously published as The Truth About Gemma Grey.

©2017, 2019 Sophie Ranald (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Out with the Ex, in with the New

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

almost like two very different stories

At first, this seems like a typical chiclit book, a little bit of mystery on who she's going to end up with. The narrator did a fantastic job with all the different voices especially the American one, Sloan. Then, almost 75% of the way thru, she introduces the very serious topic of domestic violence. Almost like she came across a story that moved her while she was writing this and decided to throw it in. It doesn't fit with the theme or the feel of the story thus far and really just seemed out of place. later there is an entire chapter devoted to stories about it that the character goes to see. I skipped the whole chapter bc I wanted to read something lite and fun. Just very odd to me. Overall, the character is likeable, a bit loose (I don't mean to shame, but I don't think you can't really argue if you are into one night stands). I wouldn't recommend to any friends but since I listened all the way to the end (minus skipping a few sections here and there ) I wouldn't request a refund.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Really cute, easy listening, story. The narrator was great, and I just thought the book was fun overall. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great listen!

Story line was good, some good surprises. Narration was awesome- like talking to a good friend, humorous parts

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-02-20

Good performance, poor storyline.

Really struggled to finish it.. But I'm not a quitter, so I stuck with it til the end. It was hard work though. I'm still waiting for the laugh out loud parts that other reviews mention.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jayne Crammond
  • Jayne Crammond
  • 06-06-21

Really fun story

I love a bit of chick lit, but it was so nice to hear something with a really unique story line and I love the fact that it managed to include a serious issue without being patronising about it. I’ll be keeping an eye out for more audiobooks by Sophie Ranald.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for carly munroe
  • carly munroe
  • 03-07-21

Loved it!

Throughly loved this book.. my first by this author but definitely not my last.
Very current, funny but with meaning.
Narrated perfectly by Jasmine.
Sad for it to have ended! Highly recommend !

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kerry S.
  • Kerry S.
  • 06-14-20

Lovely book

Really enjoyed this book. Lovely story & lovely narration - Jasmine has a super voice for audiobooks.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C watson
  • C watson
  • 04-30-20

Decent read but definitely not a comedy

Listed as a laugh out loud comedy? Where? It was a decent read but not what I expected. No comedy content at all.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elaine Hunter
  • Elaine Hunter
  • 04-24-20

Great

I enjoyed this book. Well narrated. Easy flow of dialogue and good characters. Off to find another Sophie book to try

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jinnyp
  • jinnyp
  • 04-18-20

a good read

a good story with lots of laugh out loud moments. very enjoyable. easy to get lost in

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J Smith
  • J Smith
  • 04-02-20

Enjpyed

Even though maybe not in my generation I did enjoy this book. Interesting having an insight to how the Internet and followers works. It delve into issues that could affect anyone. I would recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-27-20

Another awesome book!

This is my second book by Sophie Ranald and it did not disappoint. I love the way parts are linked to the previous book. That for me, was a really nice touch. Great read/listen, great story and jasmine’s voice was spot on. Now go read/listen to it. Sophie, if you’re reading this, your rock at writing stuff 👊😉

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan
  • Jan
  • 03-16-20

Started well

This book started well but has lost its way and I an now giving up at chapter 20

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RomanceHappyEnding
  • RomanceHappyEnding
  • 09-07-20

Pretty ordinary

The story just didn’t hook me in, ever. It was almost a chore to finish it. Not like other books that have been recommended on here that are similar to books I have liked. Not bad, just not good. Save your credit.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-17-20

Entertainingly easy listening

Enjoyed this story right from the start through to its really well completed finish. Whilst this is definitely a light hearted piece it also managed to dip realistically yet compassionately into some particularly sensitive topics. I'm just about to see if Sophie Ranald has some other books out in audio land as I really enjoyed the character development and story-line in "Out with the Ex, in with the New".

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-14-20

Fun read

Loved Gemma she is a bit of a "it" girl with the world at her feet or at least London.

A blog that's getting some hits, a new job and troublesome men.