Ordinary Girls

Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie
Length: 8 hrs and 21 mins
4.2 out of 5 stars (11 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.37

Buy for $27.37

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

*A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2019*

*A Booklist Editors' Choice for Books for Youth 2019*

Perfect for fans of Sarah Mlynowski and Jenny Han, this heartfelt and humorous contemporary take on Sense and Sensibility follows two sisters - complete opposites - who discover the secrets they’ve been keeping make them more alike than they’d realized. 

For siblings as different as Plum and Ginny, getting on each other’s nerves is par for the course. But when the family’s finances hit a snag, sending chaos through the house in a way only characters from a Jane Austen novel could understand, a distance grows between them like never before.

Plum, a self-described social outcast, finally has something in her life that doesn’t revolve around her dramatic older sister. But what if coming into her own means Plum isn’t there for Ginny when she, struggling with a hard secret of her own, needs her most?

©2019 Blair Thornburgh (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

What listeners say about Ordinary Girls

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Annette Wright
  • Annette Wright
  • 09-15-19

Beautifully written story of sisterhood

Blair Thornburgh has delivered an enchanting story of two sisters struggling to find their place in the world. While Ginny is highly strung, Plum is calm and considered but both girls find themselves a little lost. They are ordinary girls with ordinary girl problems and teen angst. But these are also extremely smart girls; quick-witted and knowledgeable. This could make them hard to relate to for the rest of us mere mortals but their charm is endearing and their struggles with the transitions of life, high school politics and family are difficulties we can all recognise. Typical sibling rivalry versus the strong bond of sisterhood is a strong theme throughout. The characters are vibrant and alive, even the more minor characters. Ms Thornburgh's writing is lyrical. She manages to balance a rich vocabulary and lessons in reading comprehension and writing, with a colloquial and relaxed voice, making it inclusive and far from intimidating. There is great humour in this book but expect a roller coaster ride. Jorjeana Marie narrates beautifully, helping to give life to a rich cast of characters.