Regular price: $15.98

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

You think you know the truth about the people you love. But one discovery can change everything....

Eight-year-old Billy goes missing one day, out flying his kite with his sister Rose. Two days later he is found dead.

Sixteen years on, Rose still blames herself for Billy's death. How could she have failed to protect her little brother? Rose has never fully recovered from the trauma, and one of the few people she trusts is her neighbour Ronnie, whom she has known all her life. But one day Ronnie falls ill, and Rose goes next door to help him...and what she finds in his attic room turns her world upside down.

Rose thought she knew the truth about what happened to Billy. She thought she knew her neighbour. Now the only thing she knows is that she is in danger....

The Mistake is a completely gripping thriller that will keep you up all night, from the top 10 best-selling author of Blink, Liar and Safe with Me. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

©2017 K. L. Slater (P)2017 Audible, Ltd

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    92
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

How much do we really know about the ones we love?

I loved this story. It starts with a young, naive girl who falls for the first boy who shows her attention. His manipulation slowly makes her distance herself from her family and friends. Then when something bad happens, he’s the one they blame. But is he really guilty? Just when I thought I had it figured out, the end threw me for a loop. I read/listened to this book in just a few days because I just couldn’t put it down!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Wendi
  • Houston, TX
  • 12-02-17

Couldn't Wait To Continue Listening

K.L. Slater is definitely one of my favourite authors. Does she have a rhythm to her novels? Yes. Does she follow a formula? Yes. After reading her books do you come to know what to expect? Yes. Are all of these things good when combined? Absolutely!

The Mistake deals with Rose, 16 years ago and present. Her brother was abducted and murdered, and her best friend was raped, and she had a horrible boyfriend experience around 16 years ago. Presently she is rather depressed and alone in the world with a job that's hanging by a thread. Her whole world becomes unraveled when she finds a key piece of evidence in her brother's murder which doesn't point to the suspect who was convicted of the crime.

Lucy Price Lewis does an amazing job as narrator of this psychological thriller which doesn't disappoint. I was engulfed in the story from beginning to end. I will look forward to her next thriller!

-Wendi

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

it was worth it

there were times when I found the main character to be annoying... And it was a little confusing at first with the going back and jumping forward.... but in the end it was a good story. I would definitely read more from this writer and I would definitely like to hear more from this narrator.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Hard to stop listening

The narrator was spot on and not annoying at all. I got on edge a couple times due to the main character's lack of sense but hey that was the intent to keep you listening and hoping that one day she will be smart enough to realize the truth. would definitely reccommend. I did not see the end coming!!!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not Really That Captivating!

Expected so much more! The ending was pretty disappointing! However, the narration was actually super good. Lucy managed to bring all of the characters to life. Her voices were distinct. Probably wouldn't recommend this audiobook to others though.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Simon
  • 12-01-17

A Tragic Coming of Age

K L Slater is making a name for herself writing what I would describe as relatively low-key psychological dramas and infusing them with quality writing and believable characters. This one is no exception, the whole thing revolves around the death of a young boy and the flawed relationships that surrounded his life in an old pit village.

It's a dual timeline story split between the present day and the events leading up to the tragedy some sixteen years earlier. Rose, a slightly awkward teenager struggling to come of age meets an older man Gareth triggering a tragic series of events. It's a very human drama, it's not full of action and it doesn't have any real blood or gore and minimal violence.

Powered by Lucy Price-Lewis;s classy narration it's a listen that simply washes over you with quality writing. Price-Lewis is a smooth and classy performer though judging by her accents in this one I think she should probably avoid books set down under!

In all I'd rate this more a drama than an out and out thriller but it kept me entertained in a smooth and accomplished fashion. It signals the danger of controlling relationships particularly set against the hardships felt by former mining communities. It's say the other side of what most young people might have faced compared to Billy Elliot!

No hesitation in recommending it if you like low-key mystery thrillers based on flawed human relationships.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • michelle christie
  • 11-29-17

great listen

I really enjoyed this book. the story flowed and seemed to happen quite organically. Not entirely unbelievable

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ms. Sl Wilson-dickson
  • 12-09-17

The mistake indeed

I think maybe the book was ok but the narrator was irritating and I felt so bored by the combination of both that droned on and on that I had to abandon half way through and fast forward to the last chapter to see the conclusion to save myself another few hours of my brains mental capacity having its time wasted. Not fast moving enough basically not gripping enough. Not saying it was terrible and not sure if it was the narration that caused my issue or the plot...but narration certainly didn’t help me. It’s a matter of taste. Others may love it for the same reasons I didn’t but I got a refund

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Janet biglari
  • 12-07-17

Disappointing

I have a real problem with the females in K L Slater's books, they are so spineless and portrayed as helpless victims. Rose in this latest book needed a shake, she was so wet I got totally fed up of the dialogue which was on a loop about her she was disempowered and helpless. I think I will give this author a miss in future unless some more gutsy females are portrayed.

In spite of the characters I thought the narration was good, and I did enjoy the twist at the end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Chris
  • 11-29-17

Fantastic

This was probably one
Of the best books for a long time, full
Of twists and turns
Couldn’t stop listening to it

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • The Reluctant Hermit
  • 12-04-17

very entertaining

I really enjoyed this book. Well narrated with 3D characters and a good story line. Would recommend.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • jackie
  • 12-03-17

very good

I had preOrdered this book as i liked the blurb. It was as good as the blurb described. A very enjoyable read. good narration and easy to follow and a great story. with a satisfying ending

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • George
  • 12-08-17

brill story got me hooked from the start

Great story line but brace yourself for the twist, Listened to whole book in 3 days well recommend

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-05-17

Worth Listening to

Good story line, however I found it a bit repetitive in places, and thought I had gone back to chapters I had already listened to, a bit slow to start and I did nearly give up, but was good once it got going. The ending seemed a bit rushed

0 of 1 people found this review helpful