Regular price: $31.93

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In this gripping, unforgettable thriller for fans of James Patterson and Lisa Gardner, someone is re-creating infamous unsolved murders...and the killer is closer than anyone could imagine.

Fall in Philadelphia. A man's corpse is found in one of the city's poorest neighborhoods. It's unmistakably the work of a killer.

But to homicide detectives Kevin Byrne and Jessica Balzano, it feels familiar. Eight years ago another body was found in the same place, in the same position...killed in the same manner. Even the crime-scene photos are identical.

That case was never closed. And now more copycat murders are happening. Someone is recreating the city's most infamous unsolved killings, victim by victim - with more clues for Byrne and Balzano to unravel....

Taut and suspenseful, The Echo Man is already an international best seller. Discover what listeners around the world already know: Richard Montanari's novels are "relentlessly suspenseful" (Tess Gerritsen).

©2011 Richard Montanari (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    91
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the missing...

Someone in Philadelphia is killing killers. The first victim is found in the place he left his victim eight years earlier. Few clues are found.
As Byrne and Balzano are trying to conduct their investigation they have a college student tagging along making a documentary film about police procedural and crime. You are almost pointed in his direction but that almost seemed too obvious. As the body count rises the clues also mount but they don't seem to have a meaning. When it finely becomes clear unless you understand some of the great composers you can not guess the why. The Who is just as obscure and you don't really get any clues until almost the end, it's great. I love getting a book I can't guess who done it and there aren't many of those.
This book and The Killing Room which will be released 11/1/17 are not new they are both books that are missing from the series.
If you've never read this series I HIGHLY RECOMMEND it. Each book can be read as a stand alone. There is some progression in the characters lives but nothing that would leave the reader confused about what happened before.
Scott Brick does an outstanding job narrating.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

20 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So far best one yet

I could not put it down. The twist unreal. The ending unbelievable. Give a listen.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is one for the books!

Six stars all the way across!

Just when one thinks one has Byrne and Balzano novels all figured out one has this twister and turner. One had no idea who the creep was. Although once the identity was learned the response was "But of course!" On to the next one.

Another stellar performance by Scott Brick. Performing the masterful writing of Richard Montanari. Please keep them coming.

Well done!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

very loose threads and hard to follow

The plot was translucent at best. not my favorite. The Dollmaker however, excellent work Mr. Montenarri!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Sue
  • Washington, PA, United States
  • 11-23-17

Echo Boring

Very disappointed in the convoluted story and quick conclusion. Have enjoyed other in past. Not this one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very entertaining and suspenceful!

this audiobook kept me wanting to listen...an ending I didn't see coming! I enjoyed it very much!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book

Interesting character's, well written story with many twists and turns
Recommend highly for a rainy weekend read

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Powerful...

Richard Montanari has crafted another powerful installment in the Balzano and Byrne series. With many twists and turns, it will keep you guessing until the end. Scott Brick, as usual brings it all to life. If you enjoy police procedurals mixed with suspense, you won’t want to miss this.