Regular price: $28.51

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

She's your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That's why she's so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor - an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son, Nicky, after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together - just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn't come back. She doesn't answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong - Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog's readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily's husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It's the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon Stephanie will begin to see that nothing - not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor - is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense - a clever and twisting freefall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final minute.

©2017 Seven Acres, LLC (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    112
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    76
  • 2 Stars
    35
  • 1 Stars
    14

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    138
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    48
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    7

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    73
  • 3 Stars
    71
  • 2 Stars
    38
  • 1 Stars
    25
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Simply average......

What I liked best about the book was that there were three narrators and all of them were excellent. I also thought that the book really moved. The reason why I only gave the book three stars overall was because I felt that the ending was very abrupt. I also felt that there were many aspects of the storyline that were bizarre and a bit contrived. I am unable to give specific examples because these examples would be spoilers for those who have not read the book. All in all, when the book ended, I was really not satisfied because there were too many loose ends.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Read this if you root for the bad guy

I didn't give it 2 stars because if you just need a story on your way to work or as you're doing other things...background noise, then it's fine. But if you want to invest in characters and need a great plot twist then don't bother. Everything is predictable and for the first time I'm going to criticize these characters. I might have liked them, I wanted to but they ended up being just unforgivable, dumb and dumb...that is my judgement of all three. Narration is fine, story is fine, twists are predictable, plot is fine, ending is weird.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

not so simple favor

loved it! I know the book is always better than the movie, but I can't wait to see the film adaptation!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Simple Favor

Really good story. I took a star for the abrupt ending. I would love for there to be a part 2.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Solid characters but unfolds at an odd pace

This story was a decent listen & worth the credit as it held my interest until the very last word. It had all the elements to unfold into an intriguing mystery/thriller; however, events that would've made the most sense toward the end, occurred very early. This resulted in a few far fetched circumstances, but the author did a great job of making the antagonist somehow likable & leaves the reader somewhat satisfied.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

yuck

This is the book that has officially caused me to take a break from this vein of so called thrillers. It’s been a long time coming. Each new book in this genre has been worse than the last. “If you like Gone Girl you will love this!!” every new ~thriller~ proudly claims. No. Gone Girl worked because Flynn is a talented, thoughtful, careful writer who is rarely heavy handed and never shows her cards. Because the characters in her writing have depth, because we care for them, and because the descriptions are so rich you feel like you are there and because you can feel the story unfolding in a way that can make you feel like you are a part of the unfolding itself. Guys, these plot devices are over. The dead horse has been beaten into the ground. The narrator can not be unreliable if you never got the chance to know or rely on them in the first place. Extremely unrealistic dialogue, unrealistic thoughts, patronizing plot points, just ugh. I can’t even claim to hate the characters because they are so flat and dimensionless I am only seeing the writing the whole time and hating the way the author wrote them. It’s time to move onto non fiction for a while and ride out this influx of one terrible book after another till thrillers get good again. Good narration though I guess?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Too quick

This was a very fast listen. Not a whole lot of character development, just a quick look into their pasts. Kept me entertained enough, but while other books would have me wearing my headphones as much as possible this one did not. Narrators were great, gave good voice to the characters. Without them this probably would've been a flop for me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Potential Spoilers Below

The story here is one most readers (or movie watchers) are fairly familiar with...the story is essentially the same plot as Gone Girl, but in addition to a confused husband, the author adds a clueless friend into the mix. Decent story I guess, but not really anything new.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stick with it, it is worth it

If you could sum up A Simple Favor in three words, what would they be?

The blog style that the book starts out with is initially annoying, however, if you stick with it, the medium becomes multi-dimensional and complex and the story is clever and interesting. The narrative does latch onto sexist stereotypes (the stupid "super mom" and the intelligent, evil beautiful women), but the story line is strong enough so you can simultaneously be critical of the book while enjoying it.

What did you like best about this story?

The juxtaposition of different narrative mediums (blog versus personal thoughts) and points of view.

Which character – as performed by the narrators – was your favorite?

Emily.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Crazee Good!

Interesting twists a d turns made this a great read. To think someone could bee so crazy! Love the narration, especially Emily.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful