My Sister's Bones

Length: 9 hrs and 48 mins
4.1 out of 5 stars (45 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.51

Buy for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the vein of Fiona Barton's The Widow and Renée Knight's Disclaimer, a psychological thriller about a war reporter who returns to her childhood home after her mother's death but becomes convinced that all is not well in the house next door - but is what she's seeing real or a symptom of the trauma she suffered in Syria?

The one person you should trust is lying to you....

Kate has spent 15 years bringing global injustice home: as a decorated war reporter, she's always in a place of conflict, writing about ordinary people in unimaginable situations. When her mother dies, Kate returns home from Syria for the funeral. But an incident with a young Syrian boy haunts her dreams, and when Kate sees a boy in the garden of the house next door - a house inhabited by an Iraqi refugee who claims her husband is away and she has no children - Kate becomes convinced that something is very wrong.

As she struggles to separate her memories of Syria from the quiet town in which she grew up - and also to reconcile her memories of a traumatic childhood with her sister's insistence that all was not as Kate remembers - she begins to wonder what is actually true...and what is just in her mind.

In this gripping, timely debut, Nuala Ellwood brings us an unforgettable damaged character, a haunting, humanizing look at the Syrian conflict, and a deeply harrowing psychological thriller that listeners won't be able to pause.

©2017 Nuala Ellwood (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about My Sister's Bones

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Started a bit slow

It definitely started a bit slow, but piqued my curiosity enough to keep me in until the end, and I am so happy I did! The end is CRAZY and it isn’t really given away at all until the end, and even then I could never have guessed the entire ending, and the small part I did, you have to pay attention to catch the clues at the end! It was so worth getting through the slower parts! An amazing story!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Suspenseful

This was a very good read, with unusual references to Syria, Iraq, Gaza. It was nice to read about the type of people who report from war zones. They are as heroic as soldiers. The ending was a disappointment and somewhat predictable. I’ve read the same ending in 2 other books in the last 2months. By reading I mean audible. Maybe I need to stop reading long enough to give these authors time to create new endings lol

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Don't do it....

out of my 200 plus books in my library, this has to be the worst one. I feel like I've wasted 5 and a half hours of my life I'll never get back. 5 plus hours and it's gone absolutely nowhere. I have no desire to finish the book, it's painful to listen to and I want my money back.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Ugh

Overly dramatic characters that meant to be "flawed" and "interesting". Completely predictable villain. Thumbs down.