Sample
  • Missing Girl at Frozen Falls

  • Detective Kay Sharp, Book 5
  • By: Leslie Wolfe
  • Narrated by: Gwendolyn Druyor
  • Length: 11 hrs and 8 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (51 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Missing Girl at Frozen Falls  By  cover art

Missing Girl at Frozen Falls

By: Leslie Wolfe
Narrated by: Gwendolyn Druyor
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

She lay in the frosted grass behind Frozen Falls. Her eyes were wide open, and the wind blew her hair, ash-blonde locks reflecting the blue sky. Her face, beautiful even in death, was pale, as if the bitter cold from the mountain had drained the color from her cheeks.

On a crisp autumn day in the small town of Mount Chester, Detective Kay Sharp comes face-to-face with the past she has spent the last decade running from. Her ex-husband, Brian, has been accused of murder.

Seeing Brian brings a flood of painful memories—he betrayed her in the worst possible way. Yet despite her heartbreak, Kay is willing to put her career on the line to prove his innocence.

Brian is accused of killing Kay’s former best friend, Rachel—the woman he cheated on Kay with, getting her pregnant. The blood drains from Kay’s face; she received a voicemail from Rachel two days ago. “I hope you’ll forgive me,” she’d said, her voice fraught with tears. “I know I have no right, but I need you.” Kay’s stomach plummets. By the time she called back, Rachel was already dead. Could Brian really be the murderer?

Kay faces pressure from her crime team, which doesn’t want her working on an investigation so close to home. But she’s willing to risk everything—she vows to get justice for Rachel.

When Kay visit’s Rachel’s mother, she uncovers a heart-stopping discovery that makes the case even more critical: Rachel’s eight-year-old daughter, Holly, is missing. Could the little girl still be alive?

Up against the most complex—and most personal—case of her career, can she save precious Holly before it’s too late? And will Kay’s determination to find out the truth lead to justice—or be her undoing?

Thrillers don’t get more gripping than this! You’ll speed through this with a racing heart. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter, and Rachel Caine.

©2022 Leslie Wolfe (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Missing Girl at Frozen Falls

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another great book in the series!

Just as Kay and Elliott’s fledgling relation seems to be taking off, her ex-husband shows up. Apparently he’s wanted for the murder of his fiancée..Kay’s ex-bff! Kay agrees to take him to the SFPD to turn himself in, while Elliott solves the murder of a young female jogger. Manipulation, lies, gangs and prostitution make for a fantastic story. The ending was a tad surprising. Can’t wait for the next book!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Narrator though….

The book is great, great story, character development, suspense, intrigue; checks all the boxes in what makes a crime thriller a great book. The narration though makes me cringe. The narrator’s baby voice for any woman except the main character is grating at best. You can hear what sounds like smiles in the narrator’s voice at inappropriate times. Regular speed is unbearable and 1.2 speed is better, but I was dismayed to see she is the narrator for almost all of Leslie Wolfe’s books… cringe.

I downloaded all the KU books available so that I only have to listen while driving.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

Suspenseful! Edge of my seat! As always, a great weaving of stories that left me wanting more.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Finally finished.

I loved the actual story. The narrators voice was so difficult to listen to. As the female it was fine, but when she tried to make it sound like a male talking it was so so bad. I couldn't wait to finish listening to it. I spend a lot of time driving and listening to books, this one was painful.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Engaging

There was a twist in every chapter. I liked the two crime's being solved at the same time.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Missing Girl at Frozen Falls

This story had way more turns than a roller-coaster. I've loved all Leslie Wolfe's books but this was the best. Love character Detective Kay Sharp!!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Story had me at the beginning. Even though I figured out who the killer really was, it was still a great
ride.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Twists and Turns

Detective Kay Sharp is drawn into a case to help prove that her ex-husband is not a killer. detective Elliot is involved in solving a murdered jogger. As they both work their cases things are not adding up for either of them. Only the end will bring a conclusion that neither detective could have imagined.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall