adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Interview: Silvia Moreno-Garcia discusses her hypnotic horror novel with Audible Editor Edwin

''...there's two types of Gothic novels. Mine mixes both...''
-0.00
  • Mexican Gothic
  • ''...there's two types of Gothic novels. Mine mixes both...''

Publisher's Summary

New York Times Best Seller

"It’s Lovecraft meets the Brontës in Latin America, and after a slow-burn start Mexican Gothic gets seriously weird." (The Guardian)

In development as a Hulu Original Limited Series produced by Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos.

Named One of the Best Books of the Year by:

  • The New Yorker 
  • Vanity Fair
  • NPR
  • The Washington Post
  • Tordotcom
  • Marie Claire 
  • Vox
  • Mashable
  • Men's Health
  • Library Journal
  • Book Riot
  • LibraryReads

An isolated mansion. A chillingly charismatic aristocrat. And a brave socialite drawn to expose their treacherous secrets.... From the author of Gods of Jade and Shadow comes "a terrifying twist on classic gothic horror" (Kirkus Reviews) set in glamorous 1950s Mexico.

After receiving a frantic letter from her newly wed cousin begging for someone to save her from a mysterious doom, Noemí Taboada heads to High Place, a distant house in the Mexican countryside. She’s not sure what she will find - her cousin’s husband, a handsome Englishman, is a stranger, and Noemí knows little about the region.

Noemí is also an unlikely rescuer: She’s a glamorous debutante, and her chic gowns and perfect red lipstick are more suited for cocktail parties than amateur sleuthing. But she’s also tough and smart, with an indomitable will, and she is not afraid: Not of her cousin’s new husband, who is both menacing and alluring; not of his father, the ancient patriarch who seems to be fascinated by Noemí; and not even of the house itself, which begins to invade Noemi’s dreams with visions of blood and doom.

Her only ally in this inhospitable abode is the family’s youngest son. Shy and gentle, he seems to want to help Noemí but might also be hiding dark knowledge of his family’s past. For there are many secrets behind the walls of High Place. The family’s once colossal wealth and faded mining empire kept them from prying eyes, but as Noemí digs deeper she unearths stories of violence and madness.

And Noemí, mesmerized by the terrifying yet seductive world of High Place, may soon find it impossible to ever leave this enigmatic house behind.

"It’s as if a supernatural power compels us to turn the pages of the gripping Mexican Gothic." (The Washington Post)

"Mexican Gothic is the perfect summer horror read, and marks Moreno-Garcia with her hypnotic and engaging prose as one of the genre’s most exciting talents." (Nerdist)

"A period thriller as rich in suspense as it is in lush ’50s atmosphere." (Entertainment Weekly)

©2020 Silvia Moreno-Garcia (P)2020 Random House Audio

Featured Article: Outstanding Women Authors Everyone Ought to Listen to Right Now


Over the course of history, women have made monumental contributions to literature. Legendary favorites and contemporary women authors alike have left their mark on both the publishing world and audio canon. Though by no means comprehensive, this list features women authors who definitely deserve a spot in your Audible library. Read on to learn more about each amazing woman—her life, her work, and her legacy.

Editor's Pick

Plot twists you won’t see coming
" Mexican Gothic left me reeling. I came in expecting a retelling of Wuthering Heights or Northanger Abbey set in 1950s Mexico, but this story stands on its own. Silvia Moreno-Garcia spools a tale that is at separate times scary, intriguing, and heartwarming. Mexican Gothic is peppered with traditional elements of the Gothic novel: an imposing but crumbling manor house, a budding romance, moody characters with dark secrets, and a seemingly inexplicable lack of electricity (candlelight in the 1950s?!). I spent half of this listen on the literal edge of my seat, and the other half trying to stop myself from screaming, lest my roommate think I had gone insane. Frankie Corzo is the perfect narrator for this world that blends English and Spanish, with a somber and melodic voice that only adds to the building suspense. I'm sure that Catherine Morland ( Northanger Abbey’s Gothic-obsessed protagonist) would be a fan."—Mariana P., Audible Editor

What listeners say about Mexican Gothic

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,559
  • 4 Stars
    1,411
  • 3 Stars
    778
  • 2 Stars
    295
  • 1 Stars
    129
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,565
  • 4 Stars
    1,063
  • 3 Stars
    553
  • 2 Stars
    248
  • 1 Stars
    173
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,251
  • 4 Stars
    1,196
  • 3 Stars
    695
  • 2 Stars
    302
  • 1 Stars
    144

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Lacking, Disappointing, Not Developed

I was completely sold on the overwhelming amount of positive reviews for this book. I was SO excited. The premise is unique, the location and characters are unique, and other people seemed to really love this book. Initially I thought it was the narration, I just could not get into the story. But I really tried to stay with it because some of the BEST books start off slow and turn into something magically if you just persevere. As the chapters rolled by I watched my hope evaporate by the minute. No character development, no atmosphere, no depth whatsoever, completely 2D characters. It was such a letdown. The dialogue is super basic, it was just so vanilla. Pedestrian. The writing doesn’t ever CONNECT you to the places or people. There is no feeling. It’s vapid and boring. Sorry, I know everyone else seems to think this book was just phenomenal, I want my money back. Total letdown.

61 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Guillermo del Toro should direct the film

Director Guillermo del Toro (Pan's Labyrinth, Crimson Peak) should buy the rights and give this story the lavish movie adaptation it deserves. Silvia Moreno-Garcia has created a masterful period mystery with style, horror and compelling characters. Set in 1950s Mexico, we first meet ambitious, outgoing and high class socialite Noemí in her element of parties and flirtation. However, she is soon swept off to visit her cousin, a newlywed who lives in a crumbling Victorian mansion with oppressive rules and unfriendly relatives. Poor Catalina is practically a prisoner in her own home, but it seems to Noemí that there is more than a controlling husband to contend with at "High Place" (the name of the estate.) Perhaps something supernatural lurks, perhaps something even more terrifying than ghosts...

Additional comments: This book starts slow but builds to a spectacular, heart-thumping climax. Don't listen to it at night if you are trying to get any sleep! I made that mistake and was up all night. At first, I wasn't too keen on the narrator but she really grew on me and by the end of the book I liked her a great deal.

39 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

High hopes lead to a let down.

I was really looking forward to listening to this selection. The synopsis of the story leads you to believe that this is a thriller. It is actually a snooze fest. The narrator’s voice is dull and lifeless and the premise is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. I’m all for imaginative ways of writing but this one is a bit out there. Not at all what I was expecting. A complete let down.

28 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring...

I struggled but was unable to finish this book. The narrator had no sense of emotions just read through the words and the story just dragged. Too boring.

21 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unputdownable

Imagine a cross between Rebecca, Invasion of the Body Snatchers, Fifty Shades of Grey and The Girl with All the Gifts written by Stephen King by way of Angela Carter on mescaline ... and you begin to approach the sheer brilliance of this novel. It is utterly spellbinding and completely unputdownable. The author, Silvia Moreno-Garcia, just keeps ratcheting up the suspense, landing blow after blow on the unsuspecting reader as she takes the plot off in wildly unexpected directions, pulling the rug away from under us.

I was gobsmacked. Gobsmacked and utterly riveted. An 𝒆𝒙𝒄𝒆𝒍𝒍𝒆𝒏𝒕 thriller! ☺

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exceeded All Expectations

Loved every thing about this book. Vivid descriptions paired with mystery, action, romance, and horror. I was intrigued because it was recommended for fans of Rebecca and Jane Eyre, both of which are too 5 favorites, so my expectations were very high. My expectations were not only met but completely blown out of the water. I loved this Mexican Gothic tale and will probably listen to it again very soon.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing story

this story had one of the best slow burns ever and the climax is glorious

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Me encanto!

Finished this book in 2 days. loved the angsty story with the Mexico backdrop. i've never read/heard a story like this.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointment

I was disappointed with this audible story, which was slow and boring. The narration was monotone and only the last hour became interesting.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Slow Burn Horror

Seventy percent of this book was following a flighty socialite flirting for favors, shuddering in passions, in fears, in malaise, and choking on shame - it was boring.

Then it was properly good. This would have been best as a novella for the anthology Fungi.

Yes, I see all of the classics she pulled from, and even a touch of The Fountain (2006), a movie I never understood but that still had me in tears.

But I never liked Noemí Taboada so it is with great reluctance I yield four stars.

13 people found this helpful