Sample
  • Mercy

  • Detective Matt Deal Thrillers, Book 1
  • By: Stephen Bentley
  • Narrated by: Chris Defazio
  • Length: 7 hrs and 34 mins
  • 3.8 out of 5 stars (14 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Mercy  By  cover art

Mercy

By: Stephen Bentley
Narrated by: Chris Defazio
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

His daughter was taken. He’ll never get her back.

Set in the near future, Matt Deal is a British businessman married into a wealthy Florida family. Mercy, his 15-year-old daughter, is the glue in his rocky marriage to Lorey. His life is changed forever after Mercy is brutally sexually assaulted on a Destin beach, leaving her in a persistent vegetative state.

Trusting the local detectives to bring the rapists to justice, mixed martial arts expert Deal concentrates in vain on his Florida gym business, only to have his world further explode on learning the men responsible for his daughter’s injuries may escape justice.

Deal is isolated and at his wit's end after his rich father-in-law sends death threats blaming him for all these ills.

Who can he turn to? Where can he go? What will he do? Who can he trust? Will he return to a post-Brexit Britain or will he, ultimately, seek revenge?

Fans of Jack Reacher, Barry Eisler, and any vigilante justice novel will love this book.

Trigger warning: Adult content. The story contains a scene of sexual violence and some scenes of explicit consensual adult sex.

©2019 Stephen Bentley (P)2020 Stephen Bentley

What listeners say about Mercy

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

A Raw Deal

Stephen Bentley wrote a futuristic crime thriller whose protagonist's name is Matt Deal. The opening pages depicted a brutal assault upon Matt's teenage daughter that left her in a permanent vegetative state. The assault, the fact that the perpetrators might be allowed to go free, Matt's wife, and his father-in-law all conspire to make Matt change his life dramatically. This story is raw, gritty, visceral, and has some descriptive sex scenes. It is suspenseful and fast paced, and I recommend it to others who like this genre. Chris Defazio's narration is great. I was given a free copy of the audiobook and I have voluntarily left this review.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story