Love Comes Softly

Narrated by: Ruth Ann Phimister
Series: Love Comes Softly, Book 1
Length: 7 hrs and 37 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (476 ratings)

Audible membership

$14.95 a month

Free with a 30-day trial
1 audiobook of your choice.
A monthly selection of Audible Originals.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $26.57

Buy for $26.57

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When it was first published in 1979, this novel introduced inspirational fiction to people hungry for well-told stories based on Christian values. Since then, over a million copies have been sold, and it has been made into a popular Hallmark movie. Janette Oke has won the Christy Award, the Gold Medallion, and scores of other awards. Generations of fans have laughed and cried over this story of Marty and Clark, two grieving people thrown together by necessity who find unexpected love as they work together as a family.
©1989 Janette Oke (P)1989 Recorded Books, LLC

What listeners say about Love Comes Softly

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    343
  • 4 Stars
    84
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    198
  • 4 Stars
    65
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    20
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    286
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Love Comes Softly

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes. I already have.

Have you listened to any of Ruth Ann Phimister’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I have not.

Any additional comments?

I am disappointed only the first three books in the series of ten are available on Audible.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

wonderful book

I really enjoyed this book, but I did not like the narrator's voice. She must have been very close to the microphone when she read, because her constant swallowing, deep breaths and rustling around were very distracting. I noticed that she's read for a lot of other books and on most of those her voice sounded much younger and more pleasant. She also doesn't change her voice at all for the various characters ~ she just pretty much reads it straight through. So, I highly recommend this heartwarming book, but I would definitely try to find another narrator.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Good story, unpleasant narrator.

I love this book and have a hard copy, but like to listen to them on my commute and during my workouts. It is a wonderfully sweet story. I love Janette Oke. However, I have to say that I believe the narrator was a mistake. She has a somewhat grating voice and she sounds very old, while the character in the story is a young woman. Very disconcering. I think this one is better read than listened to.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • W
  • 12-12-05

Good, gentle audiobook

At first I found the narrator's 5-pack-a-day voice irritating. However, Soon I was so entranced by the story of Marty and Clark and their lives on the prairie that I forgot my initial annoyance with the narrator.

This is a wonderful book full of great values and with endearing characters. While it *is* an Inspirational book, Oke's writing lacks the 'heavy-handed' preaching of some Christian Inspirational fiction. As someone who reads a wide variety of literature I found "Love Comes Softly" to be quite restful and entertaining without being bombastic in 'spreading the word.'

Two things about this book grated. I found it completely unbelievable that as a woman of her era Marty would not know how to bake anything but pancakes... Um... She'd been married how long before she meets Clark? What exactly did this girl expect to cook for her husband when they were married?I *know* there were published cookbooks at the time. Second. I would've liked more background on Marty and her family. She doesn't send any letters, or communicate with them at all. It seemed a bit simplistic. A bit more backstory would've added depth to her character.

Overall, an excellent book, sure to delight those longing for a good read in the vein of Anne of Green Gables or Little House on the Prairie.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

Mixed response

I love these stories and know this one almost by heart so I found it unpleasant for the reader to be changing the wording and paraphasing, adding to and leaving out etc. Also the reader has a very pleasant voice when she just reads but when she tries to alter her voice for the character it doesn't work. For example she has the 19 year old main character sounding like a feeble old lady. It would be so much better if she just read it in her own pleasant voice and read it word for word. It is supposed to be unabridged after all.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator too slow

I didn't care for the narrator. I found her reading to be too slow. Great story though!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS SERIES

I so wish all eight books in this series were on Audible. Only the first three are, so the rest I'll have to buy and read the hard copies. Bummer!!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

a pleasurable listen

I enjoyed all three audiobooks in this series (Love Comes Softly, Love's Enduring Promise and Love's Long Journey) and hope the same narrator will continue in this series. I found her voice quite easy to listen to and especially appreciated her differnt voices for different characters.
The best way I can describe this book (and the whole series for that matter) would be the feminine and Christian equivalent of many Louis L'Amour novels. With vivid descriptions of life on the frontier - I came away with a deep appreciation for women's contribution to frontier life survival and for the value of faith in each character's lives.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Book, Terrible narrator

I've read these books a couple times and loved them. the author is a fantastic story teller. I decided to listen to them and the narrator is terrible. Every sentence begins with the sound of spit. The characters sound like they are stupid. very disappointed.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Never fails to disappoint

What did you love best about Love Comes Softly?

I have read this story countless times and now will listen to it no doubt countless times. Such a heartwarming story of how love heals.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes

2 people found this helpful