• Lost Angels

  • Nikki Hunt, Book 3
  • By: Stacy Green
  • Narrated by: Kate Handford
  • Length: 9 hrs and 13 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (522 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Lost Angels  By  cover art

Lost Angels

By: Stacy Green
Narrated by: Kate Handford
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

On her hands and knees, Nikki moved to the other side of the body. She couldn’t stop her fingers from trembling as she brushed the dark hair off the victim’s face. She couldn’t look away. “I know her....”

When Special Agent Nikki Hunt is called to the Boundary Waters near Stillwater, Minnesota, it’s not just the cold that shocks her to her core: the body of a young woman has been found frozen beside a remote lake. Nikki is devastated to see the victim is her childhood friend Annmarie, and she recognizes the velvet ribbon tied in her hair as the hallmark of a serial killer who she has been hunting for years.

Desperate for justice, Nikki throws herself into the case. But she is shaken by what she finds at Annmarie’s home: a dead-bolt on her front door and a map in the spare room, with the locations of murdered women circled in thick, red marker. Did Annmarie know she was next? Then Nikki finds out that the killer has left a clue in Annmarie’s bedroom: a photo of Nikki’s mother that no one has ever seen. Has the murderer at large been in Nikki’s life since she was a child?

Nikki soon realizes that the key to unlocking this case is in her own family, but digging up the past could put her own daughter in danger. She has spent her whole life protecting the ones she loves, but to find this killer Nikki might have to risk everything.....

Fans of Karin Slaughter, Lisa Gardner, and Robert Dugoni will be completely addicted to this heart-pounding thriller. Once you start, the twists and turns will have you racing toward the end.

©2021 Stacy Green (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Lost Angels

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    417
  • 4 Stars
    85
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    399
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    385
  • 4 Stars
    74
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Over It

I like a good mystery but this one has carried on from the beginning so I get tired of repetition. This book was ok and while the reader is easy to listen to her pronunciation of the following words just bothered me: Composite and Administrative - for some reason it just bothered me. The next book, yet again, involves her personally so I think I'll pass for now. Can't Nikki work on a case without it being personal to her???

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not as good as first two

I liked the first two books in this series, neither was perfect but they were good enough. This one felt alternately rushed, forced, and artificially constrained. No good FBI agent would so thoroughly discard her safety and her team to chase down someone who has been after her. I just lost all respect for the character.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

worth your time

this is the second in the Nikki Hunt series and it doesn't disappoint. The narration is perfect and the story is great with a sharp plot twist near the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

guessed the ending pretty early on.

overall I enjoyed the book. I just guessed the ending fairly quickly. I just wanted a bit more suspense.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good series overall

This third book is better than the first but not as good as the second, however the end was a little cut short (edited too much?). But I like the character and the writer and will continue the series

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I'm Out!

I agreed with many others who find that Ms. Green has gone off the rail with Nikki Hunt. She makes terrible decisions which, in turn, have horrible consequences. Also, the structure of the FBI seems to have totally fallen apart. SSA Hunt (I guess she is an SSA or Supervisory Special Agent however that is not clear in the book) runs around without any supervision. Even SSAs report in to Assistant Special Agents in Charge. However, SSAs do not go out into the field...thus the title supervisory. Allowing for all that, Nikki never reports above, nor does anyone ever call her on her decisions except her subordinates. These facts did not create drama or intrigue, only a ridiculous plot. So bad, in fact, that I will be removing Book 4 from my wish list.

I also agree with those who find the narrator's pronunciation of some words (composite) strange.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story

Does it annoy anybody else when the reader miss pronounces words? Aren’t there some sort of verbal or audio editors out there? Other than that the storyline was great and it kept me engaged the whole time. It makes a long car ride very short.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love

Love this series it is really well written and I
Love the characters! Thank you

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

CREEPY (AS IT SHOULD BE IF ONE IS HUNTING A SERIAL KILLER)!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and listened to it in less than 24 hours, I was so engrossed. I found myself wondering though if the main character, FBI Agent, Nikki Hunt, has any cases to solve other than ones that have ties to her and her family. The killer being sought really has some issues and he knows exactly how to push all of Agent Hunt’s buttons and how to prey on her mental and emotional fears.

A few major complaints — First, the narrator! Not only does she consistently mispronounce words (which really started to annoy me once I noticed it as I had in the previous books in this series), but she does a horrible job as a 5-year-old child.

Regarding Agent Hunt’s 5-year-old daughter (this is on the author, not the narrator), no five-year-old is THAT intuitive, articulate, smart or compassionate, nor do they speak as this 5-year-old does! A 12-year-old MAYBE, but not at five!

Lastly, the book was completely ruined for me as from Chapter 7 through to the very last paragraph of the story, the story just turned itself OFF! I had to keep tapping my phone every minute or so to get it to start again. Sometimes after tapping to get the story to continue playing it was ahead of where it left off and I would have to go backwards to find where I had been. At other times, the story would go for a paragraph or two, and I’d think, “Ahhh…the book is back to normal now!” only to have it turn off again not long after. It made for a very frustrating and unpleasant reading experience, despite the book itself being excellent for the most part.

This strange turning off very few seconds has never happened before in the hundred or do books I’ve read, so I have to assume it is a problem with the recording and not my phone (which is in perfect working order). I will be contacting Audible and asking for my one credit back.
Hopefully this glitz is exclusive to just me.

I very much enjoyed the first three books in this series, but so far, this one was the BEST!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator mispronounced several words

Loved the book. Stacy Green's writing style is great. Kate Handford's narrating isn't bad is you can get past her mispronouncing several common words, such as composite. I didn't notice it in the first book as much as I did in this one. I will probably finish this series, but will most likely avoid any other books narrated by her.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-22-22

a must read

I'm really loving this series, the ending shocked me in this book . Bring on book 4!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeanette NORMAN
  • Jeanette NORMAN
  • 07-23-22

Predicable

l am never sure why so many authors of fictional crime have egocentricity as a prime characteristic in their leading women - ugly self centred dangerous people. No organisation would put up with them - way too dangerous to work with.
Not worth buying
Try the Library first