Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A missing child. A woman found dead. Who is next?

Six-year-old Lola Jade Harper is taken from her bedroom. Her mother is distraught. She is convinced her estranged husband, Gavin Harper, has abducted their daughter.

Detective Rachel Prince is leading the investigation but is soon out of her depth as she searches for the most high-profile missing child in the country. To uncover the truth about Lola’s disappearance, Rachel must untangle the Harper family’s complicated web of secrets and lies.

As the case progresses, the body of a local woman is found. The death at first seems unrelated, until a trail of social media posts lead Rachel to a chilling discovery.

And then, another little girl is taken....

With growing pressure from the public and the appearance of someone from her past she’d rather forget, will Rachel be able to solve the connection between the two missing children and the murder - before it’s too late?

Truly addictive from start to finish, The Lying Kind is a tense, enthralling crime thriller by one of the best new voices in crime fiction. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James, and Karin Slaughter.

©2018 Alison James (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good Story But...

It takes a loooong time for anything to happen. It's a good story made so much better by the narration. Likable characters and well written. Could have gotten to the point much quicker though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

great new series...lived the story line. must read

narrator is the best loved this book will be getting the next one to start reading

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not gripping or suspenseful!!’

Don’t waste your time on this mundane book. The characters were uninteresting and storyline awful....very disappointing. The only positive was Jan Cramer’s narration.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • KAREN
  • 05-28-18

Not great

The usual 'missing child' story and guessed the ending pretty quickly.
Narrator had very strange way of talking which irritated me and spoiled the story. Wasn't sorry to get to the end!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • K. Nikki
  • 09-20-18

Ok

the story was ok story flowed but average read x x x x x x

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-12-18

great book

listened to this in just a few days..kept me guessing with lots of twists and turns. only a couple of gripes..Rachel's strange immature attitude towards her ex and the odd 'banter' between the two central characters..I just can't imagine a Detective inspector calling her Sgt a dickhead and him calling her a loser and constantly swearing at here to f..k off..I know the author is trying to set up the easy relationship between the two characters but I just thought the choice of words didn't ring true. Loved the story and look forward to the next one in the series.
The narration was very good although a couple of the characters sounded like Alan Carr to me which was slightly distracting..and Brickells voice was a bit annoying but it didn't spoil the story.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Julie
  • 06-29-18

Great story terrible narration.

I really liked the story even if it was a bit predictable. But the narration was terrible. The weird inflections and an attempt to make an otherwise likeable police detective sound constantly bad tempered made it very difficult to stick with to the end.