• Lies to Tell

  • Detective Clare Mackay, Book 3
  • By: Marion Todd
  • Narrated by: Marion Todd
  • Length: 8 hrs and 40 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (44 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Lies to Tell  By  cover art

Lies to Tell

By: Marion Todd
Narrated by: Marion Todd
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $16.12

Buy for $16.12

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer.... 

Lies to Tell is a crime thriller perfect for fans of Alex Gray, D. K. Hood and Rachel Amphlett.

Early one morning, DI Clare Mackay receives a message from her boss, DCI Alastair Gibson, telling her to meet him in secret. She does as he asks and is taken to a secure location in the remote Scottish hills. There, she is introduced to ethical hacker Gayle Crichton and told about a critical security breach coming from inside Police Scotland. Clare already has her hands full keeping a key witness under protection and investigating the murder of a university student. When a friend of the victim is found preparing to jump off the Tay Road Bridge, it is clear he is terrified of someone. But who? Clare realises too late that she has trusted the wrong person.

©2020 Marion Todd (P)2021 W F Howes

What listeners say about Lies to Tell

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A new favorite

I love all of the books in the series. I especially love the narration by the author. The accent never hurts but it’s so well read and I wouldn’t change a thing other than maybe have some more books to in this series to listen to !

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love Lies to Tell

The third installment of the Claire McKay series is totally worth the read. Numerous plots and great characters.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for botanics
  • botanics
  • 09-24-21

Absorbing story and refreshingly plausible events

Well written and well read by the author herself! Reading as good as a
pro actor.

Obviously the genre requires more events to take place more frequently than in real life but Marion Todd manages to make the plot turns appear plausible which isn’t always the case in thrillers.

The local colour is well handled with enough explanation for readers unfamiliar with the locations. St Andrews is becoming as dangerous as Oxford and Midsommer!

Only very in minor criticism is that some of her verbs seem a bit stiff and old fashioned- people regard things, peruse bank statements and there are other similar examples.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TwinkleToes2day
  • TwinkleToes2day
  • 06-05-21

Unexpected Twist

Another winner for me, from Marion Todd.
I like Claire and enjoy learning about her through the series of books and hope there are more to come. The mix of stories intermingled throughout this book, gave me plenty to think about.
I enjoy the glimpses into the private lives of other characters, but they don't overpower the main tales and the twist kept me glued to the very end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Barry Star
  • Barry Star
  • 12-05-22

Needs a professional narrator

Another excellent Marion Todd novel, let down sadly by her own narration. I can hear Marion Todd in virtually every character and that is not good story telling. It's good to hear a local accent but that's not enough, certainly in comparison with some of the great narrations in other audiobooks.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 02-13-22

5 1/2 *

So entertaining. A real thriller. Beautifully developed characters that stay with me. I’ve listened one after the other so have lived with the characters for three days now, miss them already.

The crimes are often intertwined and there’s was a potential danger they would become convoluted and contrived but they didn’t.

Excellent narration. On to the next.