adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.99

Buy for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“Pure brilliance. So much will be written about Kaitlyn Greenidge’s Libertie - how it blends history and magic into a new kind of telling, how it spins the past to draw deft circles around our present - but none of it will measure up to the singular joy of reading this book.” (Mira Jacob, author of Good Talk)

The critically acclaimed and Whiting Award-winning author of We Love You, Charlie Freeman returns with an unforgettable story about the meaning of freedom.

Coming of age as a free-born Black girl in Reconstruction-era Brooklyn, Libertie Sampson was all too aware that her purposeful mother, a practicing physician, had a vision for their future together: Libertie would go to medical school and practice alongside her. But Libertie, drawn more to music than science, feels stifled by her mother’s choices and is hungry for something else - is there really only one way to have an autonomous life? And she is constantly reminded that, unlike her mother who can pass, Libertie has skin that is too dark. 

When a young man from Haiti proposes to Libertie and promises she will be his equal on the island, she accepts, only to discover that she is still subordinate to him and all men. As she tries to parse what freedom actually means for a Black woman, Libertie struggles with where she might find it - for herself and for generations to come. 

Inspired by the life of one of the first Black female doctors in the United States and rich with historical detail, Kaitlyn Greenidge’s new novel resonates in our times and is perfect for fans of Brit Bennett, Min Jin Lee, and Yaa Gyasi. 

©2021 Kaitlyn Greenidge (P)2021 Recorded Books

What listeners say about Libertie

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    98
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

absolutely loved ir

my only qualm is about the quality of recording. the narrator occasionally speaks so softly I cannot hear her. aside from that she is amazing for the role and the book was very enjoyable.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narration makes a huge difference

The narrator of this novel is so horribly awful it makes me angry. She cares more about her own voice than the characters or themes in this well written novel. The narrator ruins the novel with her solipsistic devotion to her own self, wherein she makes everything be about her performance rather than what’s happening in the book. There is nothing authentic about this narrator’s voice- she mimics Michelle Obama’s beautiful voice, then tries and fails to render Haitian and Creole accents. Whoever gave this woman the job of narrator should be fired. Audible needs to find a different narrator. Do not ruin this wonderful book by listening to the Audible version.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

FANTASTIC!

Great writing, great characters, great story! The relationship between mother and daughter pulled at my heart. I think, being in my thirties now, I have a better appreciation and perspective to empathize with both characters. Loved this!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Libertie

I did not understand this book. I kept trying to find meaning. Libertie to me was a selfish girl who focused too much on herself and her thoughts.
It became a chore to finish the novel. I only did so because my Book club selected it for our next meeting. The plot tires you out,
I suppose the color of it would make a good movie. The sexual references are done well, the author gets points for that. Can’t recommend.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great read

I enjoyed listening to this book. It was very easy to follow. The narration was also great.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Family trust issues

Libertie does not trust her mother to tell the truth about her grades, she then abruptly marries, but does not trust her husband, she does not trust her friends but ultimately she relies on them to get messages back-and-forth, and then goes back to her mother, whom she has finally decided that she will trust. I did not like it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I tried but just couldn’t finish it!

I wanted to like this book but it felt like it just didn’t make any sense. And boy did it drag on and on! I hate when I am disappointed with a book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

I love the twists and turns this book makes, as much as the lyrical beauty of the words. It’s a song of hope, a song of strength, a song of mother’s and daughters. We often don’t understand our mothers until it is too late. The song of Libertie teaches us, frees us, to love each other.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • c
  • 03-31-22

Woman of true strength

Full of feelings as she is searching for herself place in the world. Thank you for. this great read.



  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful writing

I loved this story. so beautifully told. She is free. "The water has no enemy."