Regular price: $14.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Some fires never burn out...

After 10 years as America's sweetest celebrity chef, Naomi Whitehouse is enjoying life out of the spotlight, back in her hometown of Summerville, Georgia. She's opening a pastry shop with her sister, housesitting for her snowbird parents, and reconnecting with her roots. Life is good until she runs into her high school sweetheart, Jake Hansen, a sexy firefighter who gives her a reception chilly enough to freeze a forest fire. If Naomi wants her homecoming to remain all cupcakes and sugar cookies, she'll have to win Jake over. But how can she earn his forgiveness when he won't even speak to her?

When the girl who broke his heart buys a month of dates at the firefighter's Hunk-for-a-Month fundraiser auction, only honor keeps widower Jake Hansen from backing out of the commitment. He won't let the firehouse down, even if it means enduring a torturous month with Naomi Whitehouse. And Jake knows being close to Naomi again will be torture. Even after all these years, she still gets to him...not that he intends to let her know it. He'll be civil, honor his obligation, and with any luck Naomi will tire of playing small-town pastry chef and Jake will never see her again.

But as the month passes, Jake and Naomi discover some fires never burn out. Will the heat between them be enough to melt away the pain of past mistakes, or is their second chance doomed from the start?

Fans of Bella Andre, Kristan Higgins, and Susan Mallery will love the Summerville romance series, stories featuring sassy Southern women and the alpha males who love them.

©2013 Jessie Evans (P)2015 Jessie Evans

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Liv
  • Los Angeles metro-area
  • 10-29-17

An enjoyable listen!

I’m sold on this series.

★¸¸.•*¨*•★Spoilers alert★•*¨*•.¸¸★

Lead Characters: Naomi Whitehouse and Jake Hansen

Supporting characters: Faith Miller, Mick Whitehouse, Maddie Whitehouse and Jamison Hansen
•*¨*•
Overall rating: ★★★½ - ★★★★☆
•*¨*•
Performance rating: ★★★★★
I’d missed listening to Piper Goodeve’s voice. She is one of my very top favorite narrators. I love that she always does great female and male voices flawlessly. Her acting choices really enhanced my reading experience overall and is one of the key factors for my plan to continue reading this series via audiobook format.
•*¨*•
Story rating: ★★★☆☆
I appreciated that Naomi and Jake’s story was a fast-paced 2nd chance romance. Naomi did what I can’t imagine ever doing – bailing on a relationship because your lover means too much to you. I’ll never understand that really. But in her case, she was still a young teenager at the time when she realized she needed to leave her hometown and her first love Jake and go where her talents as a chef could take her. Jake was devastated when she left, and it took him a long time to recover and give his heart freely to another woman. Sadly, both Jake and Naomi suffer a huge loss before Naomi decides to return to her hometown and replant her roots. Of course, Jake wanted nothing to do with her, but the fundraiser for a new fire station made avoiding her impossible. Naomi quickly overcame Jake’s resistance to reconnecting, but then screwed up majorly by not revealing an old secret before someone else did. But they worked through her misstep quickly and moved forward as more mature thirty-something lovers.

I also liked the secondary characters that interacted with Naomi and Jake. I’m fully invested in discovering how all of their potential HEAs will play out.

Up next in the series:
To Tame a Wild Firefighter (Red Hot Reunions Book 2) is firefighter Faith Miller’s love story with Naomi’s brother Mick Whitehouse.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great start to the series

Where does Melt with You rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Jessie Evans is one of my favorite authors, and I love all of her books. Really, all of them. Melt With You is just as wonderful a story as the rest, and I both enjoyed reading and listening to it.

What other book might you compare Melt with You to and why?

Other books in the Fire & Icing series, as well as Jessie's Always A Bridesmaid books, in that they revolve around different members of the same family, and are also set in Summerville, GA.

Which scene was your favorite?

I have a lot of favorite scenes, but I loved the ones where Naomi and Jake work out their differences with each other.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I wanted to, but was not able to. It really is addictive, and I couldn't wait to hear what happened next.

Any additional comments?

Piper Goodeve does a fantastic job at narrating this book. She just really captures characters' personalities so well.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Decent listen

While the heroine wasn't my favorite this was actually a good story. Be warned while you not like the heroine you will like the story. Author does a good job of telling a story. Narrator does a good job of bringing story to life

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome start to a wonderful series.

If you could sum up Melt with You in three words, what would they be?

Funny, fresh and interesting

Who was your favorite character and why?

Jake. He's hot and forgiving. And, of course, MICK!

Which scene was your favorite?

The end!!!

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I laughed and cried!

Any additional comments?

I love Piper as a narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great listen

What did you love best about Melt with You?

A great second chance romance with hot parts and laughs too.

Who was your favorite character and why?

I loved Jake. He was a great hero

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes!

Any additional comments?

I'm already on to the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love on the Fast Track

Would you consider the audio edition of Melt with You to be better than the print version?

Audio is always better when the narrator is awesome.....and Piper is indeed awesome!

Who was your favorite character and why?

Well Jake.....hello Firefighter duhhhhhh

Which character – as performed by Piper Goodeve – was your favorite?

I think maybe Faith

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I loved it so very much as i do all Jessie Evans books

Any additional comments?

Awesome book.....it makes me wish that Summerville was really a place to visit....lol
I love Firefighters, I love Bakeries so i mean what more could i ask for. I am all about books like this that have second chance at love because they are the best and they are very believable. Also because its kind of like my real life :) minus the Firefighter and Bakery.......Jessie Evans has the best books around so i suggest you all buy this series.......Cant wait for the next book.