Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Last Things  By  cover art

Last Things

By: Jacqueline West
Narrated by: Lisa Flanagan, Josh Bloomberg
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $25.19

Buy for $25.19

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

"Everything I love in a book." (Victoria Schwab, author of number-one New York Times best seller This Savage Song)

“The kind of taut, atmospheric thriller that gets your heart racing and sets your imagination on fire. Sensational.” (Claire Legrand, New York Times best-selling author of Furyborn)

Finalist for the Minnesota Book Award

New York Times best-selling author Jacqueline West captivates listeners with a dark, hypnotic story about the cost of talent - and the evil that lurks just out of sight. Fans of Holly Black and Victoria Schwab will be mesmerized by this gorgeous, magnetic novel.

High school senior Anders Thorson is unusually gifted. His band, Last Things, is legendary in their Northern Minnesota hometown. With guitar skills that would amaze even if he weren’t only 18, Anders is the focus of head-turning admiration. And Thea Malcom, a newcomer to the insular town, is one of his admirers. Thea seems to turn up everywhere Anders goes: gigs at the local coffeehouse, guitar lessons, even in the woods near Anders’ home.

When strange things start happening to Anders, blame immediately falls on Thea. But is she trying to hurt him? Or save him? Can he trust a girl who doesn’t seem to know the difference between dreams and reality? And how much are they both willing to sacrifice to get what they want?

Told from Anders’ and Thea’s dual points of view, this exquisitely crafted novel is full of unexpected twists and is for fans of Holly Black’s The Darkest Part of the Forest and Melissa Albert’s The Hazel Wood.

©2019 Jacqueline West (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Listen everywhere

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Reach your reading goals

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Placeholder Image Alt Text

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for $0.00 $14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

What listeners say about Last Things

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

4.5 STARS



LAST THINGS was a total surprise and I didn't expect it to love it as much as I did. It is told in dual POV and the author lets you get closer to the characters only in baby steps and it isn't clear until the last third of the story what we are dealing with here. The enemy and the main characters are kept in mystery which worked really well, I thought. I just wanted to KNOW.

Thea's actions is a little creepy, keeping us guessing almost until the big showdown whether she is on the good side or the bad. Her behavior is borderline stalkerish, she's the girl always standing at the edge of a room, observing. There are glimpses of her being infatuated with Anders but that's not what this is about. At the end of the book I found out how lonely and a little tragic, sad, her life must be. Although she is creepy AF sometimes I couldn't help but love her because I felt her heart was pure. Kudos to the author for making me feel that way about a very ambiguous character.

A