This title is included in Audible Escape

Lady of Milkweed Manor

Narrated by: Simon Prebble
Length: 12 hrs and 15 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (480 ratings)
This title is included in Audible Escape

$12.95/month ($6.95/month for Audible and Kindle Unlimited members). First month free for new Audible Escape subscribers. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $32.87

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

When you select “Confirm Purchase”, this title will be added to your library at no cost to you.

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Jane Austen and Charlotte Brontë, debut author Julie Klassen delivers a compelling Regency Era novel brimming with authentic period details, vibrant characters, and enthralling plot twists. Banished from hearth and home, a vicar's 20-year-old daughter pays dearly for a single lapse in judgment. To avoid the scorn of local villagers, Charlotte Lamb wends her way to the forbidding Milkweed Manor on the outskirts of London. Concealing her identity, she finds refuge within the dank confines of this mysterious bastion of old secrets and new life. She soon encounters a former suitor, harboring secrets of his own. Firmly relying on God's strength, both resolve to protect their loved ones. But neither realizes the level of self-sacrifice this will require.
©2007 Julie Klassen (P)2008 Recorded Books,LLC

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    318
  • 4 Stars
    106
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    12

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    296
  • 4 Stars
    85
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    6

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    284
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

PART MISSING!!

I hoped that since the previous review was clear back in April of 2010 this missing part would be fixed but alas it was not. It is a disappointment. It is such a good story and good narration. I hope audible will make amends for this.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Missing portion

I liked the book and the narrator very much. However, the recording I got was missing part of chapter 28 through Chapter 30. I don't know if this has been fixed yet. The original recording is supposed to be 12 hr. and 25 minutes. This one was 11 hr. and 48 minutes.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Listen

Great narrator, excellent characterization and an interesting storyline. Easy listen. I believe this was Ms. Klassen's debut book. I enjoyed this very much. I can see where some readers might be put off by some of the topics covered in this book, perhaps those who have never born and nursed a child. Issues of adoption and loss were very touching and very well handled as was the topic of mania (in a minor character). Fresh voice and unafraid to tackle touch topics and embed them in a great historical fiction.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Missing 2nd half!

Any additional comments?

I was enjoying this story very much until I came to the second half of the download and it was the first half all over again. How do we get the correct second half of the story? I hate being left dangling like this!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Heart filled story

What did you love best about Lady of Milkweed Manor?

I loved the characters.

What did you like best about this story?

The main character's hard decisions. It was interesting to think through them and wonder how I would've chosen.

What does Simon Prebble bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Using different types of British accents from all classes brings to life how very different the characters were in their life stations if you will.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Sad, I can't imagine being faced with such a decision!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely surprise

Not usually a fan of male narrators but Simon has such a sweet way and melodic voice I thoroughly enjoyed his talent. The story took me on such a journey that I did not expect. I was right there with them all the way, through the sadness, the outrage, the self discovery and the joy. Thank you Julie Klassen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

So depressing.....

What disappointed you about Lady of Milkweed Manor?

I have read all of Julie Klassen's books. This one was the worst. It was so depressing. But because I was determined to finish it out I kept going. The information the author collected was good. You could tell she put a lot of effort into gathering historical facts etc. It talks a lot about and describes breast feeding in great detail. My husband walked in while I was listening to a particular section on nursing and asked, "What the heck are you listening too?"

What do you think your next listen will be?

My next audiobook will be by Sarah M. Eden called Longing For Home.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

I thought the narrator was fine. He had a nice strong voice. However, when he did the voices of female characters (which was a lot) it was almost comical. Definitely would have been better read by a woman.

What character would you cut from Lady of Milkweed Manor?

That's a dumb question. I wouldn't "cut" out characters. It wasn't the characters that were the issue.

Any additional comments?

I believe this was the first or one of the first books Julie Klassen wrote. Her writing style and stories have gotten better with time. She definitely does her research when she writes a historical romance, which I can appreciate, and am sure takes a lot of time and effort. I hate books that are depressing and this one topped the list.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good writing

Julie Klassen never disappoints in her excellent writing and story telling. This is a unique one. I suspect if I’d known a main thread through it was breastfeeding, I wouldn’t have purchased it. But there was so much more to it plus some interesting concepts I’d never heard before that I stayed with it. Simon Prebble delivers his usual talented performance. His only two flaws are that he lets his voice drop sometimes to where it’s difficult to hear, and the main male leads sound older than they presumably are.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

This is a beautiful book. Klassen has become a favorite for me, and this book stands out in so many ways as an excellent and masterful piece of literature.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

You will cry, but you will also cheer

This story is not for the faint of heart. It brings up very real scenarios that most likely happened far more than we could ever know. It puts a magnifying glass on the gentry as well as shows you very real characters in each situation. There is one heroine if you want to call her that. She is the embodiment of a true woman. Women have always been strong, we don’t need a society to tell us that. Stories such as this help show that very strength that has always been there, just unnoticed. There is no villain either. Each man and person for that matter are all shown as they should be, human. I’m very grateful for authors such as this.