Regular price: $32.87

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Jane Austen and Charlotte Brontë, debut author Julie Klassen delivers a compelling Regency Era novel brimming with authentic period details, vibrant characters, and enthralling plot twists. Banished from hearth and home, a vicar's 20-year-old daughter pays dearly for a single lapse in judgment. To avoid the scorn of local villagers, Charlotte Lamb wends her way to the forbidding Milkweed Manor on the outskirts of London. Concealing her identity, she finds refuge within the dank confines of this mysterious bastion of old secrets and new life. She soon encounters a former suitor, harboring secrets of his own. Firmly relying on God's strength, both resolve to protect their loved ones. But neither realizes the level of self-sacrifice this will require.
©2007 Julie Klassen (P)2008 Recorded Books,LLC

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    186
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    10

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    166
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    153
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    7
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

PART MISSING!!

I hoped that since the previous review was clear back in April of 2010 this missing part would be fixed but alas it was not. It is a disappointment. It is such a good story and good narration. I hope audible will make amends for this.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Judith
  • Pennington, NJ, United States
  • 03-25-10

Missing portion

I liked the book and the narrator very much. However, the recording I got was missing part of chapter 28 through Chapter 30. I don't know if this has been fixed yet. The original recording is supposed to be 12 hr. and 25 minutes. This one was 11 hr. and 48 minutes.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Carrie
  • Yorktown, VA, United States
  • 02-18-11

Excellent Listen

Great narrator, excellent characterization and an interesting storyline. Easy listen. I believe this was Ms. Klassen's debut book. I enjoyed this very much. I can see where some readers might be put off by some of the topics covered in this book, perhaps those who have never born and nursed a child. Issues of adoption and loss were very touching and very well handled as was the topic of mania (in a minor character). Fresh voice and unafraid to tackle touch topics and embed them in a great historical fiction.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

So depressing.....

What disappointed you about Lady of Milkweed Manor?

I have read all of Julie Klassen's books. This one was the worst. It was so depressing. But because I was determined to finish it out I kept going. The information the author collected was good. You could tell she put a lot of effort into gathering historical facts etc. It talks a lot about and describes breast feeding in great detail. My husband walked in while I was listening to a particular section on nursing and asked, "What the heck are you listening too?"

What do you think your next listen will be?

My next audiobook will be by Sarah M. Eden called Longing For Home.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

I thought the narrator was fine. He had a nice strong voice. However, when he did the voices of female characters (which was a lot) it was almost comical. Definitely would have been better read by a woman.

What character would you cut from Lady of Milkweed Manor?

That's a dumb question. I wouldn't "cut" out characters. It wasn't the characters that were the issue.

Any additional comments?

I believe this was the first or one of the first books Julie Klassen wrote. Her writing style and stories have gotten better with time. She definitely does her research when she writes a historical romance, which I can appreciate, and am sure takes a lot of time and effort. I hate books that are depressing and this one topped the list.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Missing 2nd half!

Any additional comments?

I was enjoying this story very much until I came to the second half of the download and it was the first half all over again. How do we get the correct second half of the story? I hate being left dangling like this!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Heart filled story

What did you love best about Lady of Milkweed Manor?

I loved the characters.

What did you like best about this story?

The main character's hard decisions. It was interesting to think through them and wonder how I would've chosen.

What does Simon Prebble bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Using different types of British accents from all classes brings to life how very different the characters were in their life stations if you will.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Sad, I can't imagine being faced with such a decision!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jennifer
  • Kings Mountain, NC, United States
  • 09-21-18

I loved this book so much.

I first read this book years ago when it was originally released. I fell in love with Julie klassen as an author right then. I've listened to as many books written by her as I can. I highly recommend this audiobook. I enjoyed the performance and the story all over again.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An inspirational religious book

Don’t expect gratuitous sex when reading this book. The love is beautifully depicted, the physical intimacy is not, however, missed at all. Very well done.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nancy
  • Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
  • 07-17-18

A lovely surprise

Not usually a fan of male narrators but Simon has such a sweet way and melodic voice I thoroughly enjoyed his talent. The story took me on such a journey that I did not expect. I was right there with them all the way, through the sadness, the outrage, the self discovery and the joy. Thank you Julie Klassen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Heart wrenching

This tale of real life problems had me next to tears several times. You will be up and down emotionally.