• Kiss of the Damned

  • Fallen Cities: Elisium, Book 1
  • By: Elena Lawson
  • Narrated by: Holly Fielding
  • Length: 7 hrs and 31 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (49 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Paige has no interest in being a demon’s plaything.

She shouldn’t even be in the Fallen City of Elisium, but all it takes is one Nephilim jerk proclaiming her to be tainted and that’s exactly where she winds up.

The demons she encounters there are vile, wicked beings, though none more so than Kincaid: The cruelest and most powerful of them all. To ensure her safe return home, Paige must strike a bargain with him.

Forty days in exchange for her freedom.

With no other option, she agrees. If Kincaid’s interest in her can help solve the riddle of her origin and aid in her escape from Elisium, she figures it’ll all be worth it.

Only, the more time she spends with Kincaid, the more the tenuous line between love and hate melts away. Soon, Paige will be forced to confront something far more disquieting than the truth of her heritage: A confusing connection with a demon that she cannot deny.

From best-selling author, Elena Lawson comes the first audiobook in an inventive new series that will thrust the reader into a world of dark temptation, deception, and desire.

Perfect for fans of L.J. Smith, Kresley Cole, and enemies-to-lovers romances. Enter the supernatural world of Fallen Cities in Kiss of the Damned today.

Note: This audiobook is part of a series and ends in a cliffhanger.

©2020 Elena Lawson (P)2020 Thorn House Publishing

What listeners say about Kiss of the Damned

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Give it a shot!

Demon lord buys nascent necromancer from the auction block when she’s booted out of the human and into that of the demon spawned. The entire story has a bit of a pall, but the ideas a relatively fresh, and the relationship between Paige and Kincaid reads true.

I can’t give it five stars, but I definitely think Elena Lawson has the potential to be five star talent.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyed the book

I enjoyed the book.
Got it on audio for a "re-read"the narrator wasn't bad just odd... not sure what the sultry type pauses are for? Not bad just different it just comes across as frustrating at times like ?? why??

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

Could not stop listening! I cannot wait for the next one! It was entertaining and the narrator did such an amazing job bringing the characters to life!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good story

from the beginning I'm interested in whats going on with the main character. she's so confused on whats going on in this. why didn't Ford tell her anything...

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely loved it

Saw a TiKTok by the author and wanted to check this one out. Holy cow this one has great world building, romance and a unique plot. I loved it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great start

I really enjoyed this book great start to a new series interesting story fun and entertaining i can't wait to hear the rest of the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Great Start

I love stories about angels and demons and this is no exception . I am liking the relationship between Paige and Kincade and can't wait to hear more of it.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

slow start, great end

It took me a little over half way into the book to get really interested in the characters. However, once i reached a certain point I was hooked. The main female starts off as a slave and is bought by the main male. She was kept separated from society her whole life so is very sheltered and hasn't experienced much in life beyond what her former keeper let her (basically nothing). Kincade comes across her in the selling auction and buys her despite the fact that he's never bought a slave before and based on his intrigue. He thinks someone sent her as a spy because they knew she'd be irresistible to him. He's the broody not-say-much type and she's a naive young girl whose goal in the beginning was simply freedom and safety.

There aren't too many characters in the story line, its mostly the two main characters living together and learning how the situation is new for both of them. My favorite part of the book hands down was the ball. Paige gets all dressed up and wears makeup for the first time. Of course she's a show stopper and Kincade is all for it. I like the.friendship dynamic growing with Paige and the only other female in the story. I look forward to where that will go.

The story seemed to be a slow development into a wider world. A few characters and new places were introduced towards the end and I'm very interested in alot of the unanswered questions. The author's description of hell was amazing, and I anticipate more action there. We still don't entirely know what Paige is, why/how Kincaid's brother died, or what is up with the rest of the sibling dynamic.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

This was amazingly written! At the beginning I felt the characters feelings, I felt: lost, frustrated and anxious. I loved the evolution of the story and story line, I really can't wait for the next book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Diggin it

I’m really liking the start to this series! It’s your typical plot of said girl doesn’t know what she really is because she was raised as a different species, but with a few plot twists. She’s not a “kneel down and take what life gives her” kind of girl and I like that. I’m excited to see more snark and sass as she comes into who she really is!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Well-Read Mermaid
  • Well-Read Mermaid
  • 09-27-20

A-freaking-mazing!

I'm a huge fan of Elena, and I've read the ebook of Kiss of the Damned... but the audiobook is EVERYTHING. So well done, I feel like it made me love the story even more. I cannot wait for book 2... I need more Kincaid!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jessica Wolfe
  • Jessica Wolfe
  • 01-12-21

That’s it?

Sloooow, so slow I had to speed up the narration and even then there were lengthy pauses. I wonder if they told the narrator to go that slow to hide the fact that almost NOTHING happens. A girl is sold, begins to suspect she’s been lied to and then JUST when it looks like things are about to start happening - it ENDS

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roger P.
  • Roger P.
  • 10-16-20

Great narrator

I really enjoyed the story, Kincaid, and the narrator. I cant wait for what's more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ChaosKay (Audiobook Obsession Reviewer, The Flock VIP)
  • ChaosKay (Audiobook Obsession Reviewer, The Flock VIP)
  • 10-13-20

Brilliant

Loved this book and I am eagerly awaiting book 2.
Holly Fielding is a new narrator to me and enjoyed her narration.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for trufriends
  • trufriends
  • 10-03-20

fine line

after Paige is bought at a slave auction by Kincaid they make a deal which leads to her learning more about herself. Looking forward to the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lotty
  • Lotty
  • 09-28-20

WOW!

This is a truly gripping, unusual and entertaining story that is full of twists and turns, I loved it! The amazing narration brings the characters to life. I cannot wait for the next book to find out what happens next.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for inga
  • inga
  • 09-28-20

I was hooked

I received a free audio copy of this book directly from the author for an honest review.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it’s so full of intrigue and mystery. It starts off a little confusing but once I got my head round exactly what was happening I was hooked. I really loved both Paige and Kancaid’s characters and how their relationships developed throughout the plot. The world building was pretty interesting in a almost dystopian way in a paranormal book with how the world is after Lucifer walks the Earth very clever. I also appreciate the way that there’s almost a theme of Stockholm syndrome which is really interesting. I definitely look forward to the next book in the series!