Kingdom of Lies

Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime
Narrated by: Khristine Hvam
Length: 6 hrs and 19 mins
4 out of 5 stars (14 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

"Kingdom of Lies is a brilliant and bold debut, as full of suspense as the best crime thrillers.” (Linda Fairstein, New York Times best-selling author of Blood Oath) 

In the tradition of Michael Lewis and Tom Wolfe, a fascinating and frightening behind-the-scenes look at the interconnected cultures of hackers, security specialists, and law enforcement. 

A 19-year-old Romanian student stumbles into a criminal ransomware ring in her village. Soon, she is extorting Silicon Valley billionaires for millions - without knowing the first thing about computers. 

A veteran cybersecurity specialist has built a deep network of top-notch hackers in one of the world’s largest banks. But then the bank brings in a cadre of ex-military personnel to “help”. 

A cynical Russian only leaves his tiny New Jersey apartment to hack sports cars at a high-performance shop in Newark. But he opens his door to a consultant who needs his help. 

A hotel doorman in China once served in the People’s Army, stealing intellectual property from American companies. Now, he uses his skills to build up a private side business selling the data he takes from travelers to Shanghai’s commercial center. 

Kingdom of Lies follows the intertwined stories of cybercriminals and ethical hackers as they jump from criminal trend to criminal trend, crisis to crisis. 

A cybersecurity professional turned journalist, Kate Fazzini illuminates the many lies companies and governments tell us about our security, the lies criminals tell to get ahead, and the lies security leaders tell to make us think they are better at their jobs than they are. 

Like Traffic set in the cybercrime world, Kingdom of Lies is as entertaining as it is eye-opening.

©2019 Kate Fazzini (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Cyber crimes

It takes awhile to get the story out. The author tries to weave together a tale of interesting people lurking around the world, nice criminals. Khristine reads it like a children’s book. Looking at her other narrations, that is her specialty. Thought this was a serious subject, it’s not.