Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Two days. Fourteen dead. The next victim could be you. 

The first bullet punches through the windshield of an SUV. A head shot. The driver's death is instantaneous. And it's only the beginning. 

A sniper along I-20 kills eight and causes a 36 car pileup. Brutal. Efficient. 

The next morning, the same individual stalks through a grocery store parking lot with a handgun. He takes out six innocent shoppers along with the store's front window before fleeing without a trace. 

By the time Special Agent Violet Darger arrives in Atlanta, the city teeters toward panic. The vacant streets and restaurants paint an eerie picture. No one dares to venture out. 

A killer walks among them. A shadow. And the public cowers just the way he wants them to. 

Once more Agent Darger must identify with a murderer, must stare into the darkness to anticipate his next move. Putting herself in his head may be the only way to stop him. 

The longer she takes, the higher the death toll. He will kill again and again. 

But what hatred drives a man to such desperate, violent acts? 

And what price must one pay to invite that chaos inside themselves? 

A page-turner packed with heart-stopping suspense. Fans of John Sandford, Karin Slaughter, Gillian Flynn, and Lisa Gardner should check out the Violet Darger series. 

The books in the series can be read in any order, so grab Killing Season and get started today. 

©2017 Tim McBain & L.T. Vargus (P)2017 Smarmy Press

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Worst female protagonist ever.

This broad makes all women look bad. She’s the stereotypical overly sensitive woman. Everything about her is annoying- the way she blames herself for everything, the constant overly dramatic commentary. It’s very obvious she was written from a man’s perspective. A man who apparently thinks all women are annoying crybabies. Seriously- save your money on this one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

One chapter completely omitted

Chapter 42 was completely omitted from the narration. Thankfully, I was flipping between kindle and audible and realized the omission. That chapter was pretty crucial... Although the narrator was generally good, the Georgia accents are lacking.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs CJ
  • 08-22-18

Heroine is a bit irritating

I sort of enjoyed the story but must say I am a bit fed up with heroines who never act sensibly, never call for back up, and never let partners or others know where they’re going. We all know you should always let someone know where you are, especially when you’re hot on the trail of a serial killer. And for heavens sake, go to the hospital or get some sleep! I think this book has suffered because the last couple I’ve listened to have been littered with people acting irrationally. Having said that, the first two thirds held my attention and Kate Marvin is a terrific audio actress.