Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free, plus 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals to get you started.
  • After trial, you'll get 3 titles each month: 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals of your choice.
  • Don't like your audiobook? Swap it for free.
  • Cancel anytime and keep your audiobooks.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Two days. Fourteen dead. The next victim could be you. 

The first bullet punches through the windshield of an SUV. A head shot. The driver's death is instantaneous. And it's only the beginning. 

A sniper along I-20 kills eight and causes a 36 car pileup. Brutal. Efficient. 

The next morning, the same individual stalks through a grocery store parking lot with a handgun. He takes out six innocent shoppers along with the store's front window before fleeing without a trace. 

By the time Special Agent Violet Darger arrives in Atlanta, the city teeters toward panic. The vacant streets and restaurants paint an eerie picture. No one dares to venture out. 

A killer walks among them. A shadow. And the public cowers just the way he wants them to. 

Once more Agent Darger must identify with a murderer, must stare into the darkness to anticipate his next move. Putting herself in his head may be the only way to stop him. 

The longer she takes, the higher the death toll. He will kill again and again. 

But what hatred drives a man to such desperate, violent acts? 

And what price must one pay to invite that chaos inside themselves? 

A page-turner packed with heart-stopping suspense. Fans of John Sandford, Karin Slaughter, Gillian Flynn, and Lisa Gardner should check out the Violet Darger series. 

The books in the series can be read in any order, so grab Killing Season and get started today. 

©2017 Tim McBain & L.T. Vargus (P)2017 Smarmy Press

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    96
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    84
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Worst female protagonist ever.

This broad makes all women look bad. She’s the stereotypical overly sensitive woman. Everything about her is annoying- the way she blames herself for everything, the constant overly dramatic commentary. It’s very obvious she was written from a man’s perspective. A man who apparently thinks all women are annoying crybabies. Seriously- save your money on this one.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book.

This book kept me riveted clear up to the end and even then it hints at something coming up in one of her future books about a serial killer dhe has dealt with before.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Marlyne
  • Tucker, GA, United States
  • 12-13-18

Not for me

Too much stuff about the FBI and not enough about what was actually happening in the story. Not my kind of story.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I really liked their other book

I tried, but couldn't make it through this one. I liked the first Violet Darger book but this one just didn't feel right to me(may have been the listening part that just didn't work for me). Won't give up though, I'll try another book by these authors!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

I am loving this new series!! I cant wait for more Violet Darger!!! Smart, sexy, funny!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

One chapter completely omitted

Chapter 42 was completely omitted from the narration. Thankfully, I was flipping between kindle and audible and realized the omission. That chapter was pretty crucial... Although the narrator was generally good, the Georgia accents are lacking.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs CJ
  • 08-22-18

Heroine is a bit irritating

I sort of enjoyed the story but must say I am a bit fed up with heroines who never act sensibly, never call for back up, and never let partners or others know where they’re going. We all know you should always let someone know where you are, especially when you’re hot on the trail of a serial killer. And for heavens sake, go to the hospital or get some sleep! I think this book has suffered because the last couple I’ve listened to have been littered with people acting irrationally. Having said that, the first two thirds held my attention and Kate Marvin is a terrific audio actress.