• Killing Season

  • Violet Darger FBI Thriller Book 2
  • By: Tim McBain, L.T. Vargus
  • Narrated by: Kate Marcin
  • Length: 9 hrs and 41 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (373 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Two days. Fourteen dead. The next victim could be you. 

The first bullet punches through the windshield of an SUV. A head shot. The driver's death is instantaneous. And it's only the beginning. 

A sniper along I-20 kills eight and causes a 36 car pileup. Brutal. Efficient. 

The next morning, the same individual stalks through a grocery store parking lot with a handgun. He takes out six innocent shoppers along with the store's front window before fleeing without a trace. 

By the time Special Agent Violet Darger arrives in Atlanta, the city teeters toward panic. The vacant streets and restaurants paint an eerie picture. No one dares to venture out. 

A killer walks among them. A shadow. And the public cowers just the way he wants them to. 

Once more Agent Darger must identify with a murderer, must stare into the darkness to anticipate his next move. Putting herself in his head may be the only way to stop him. 

The longer she takes, the higher the death toll. He will kill again and again. 

But what hatred drives a man to such desperate, violent acts? 

And what price must one pay to invite that chaos inside themselves? 

A page-turner packed with heart-stopping suspense. Fans of John Sandford, Karin Slaughter, Gillian Flynn, and Lisa Gardner should check out the Violet Darger series. 

The books in the series can be read in any order, so grab Killing Season and get started today. 

©2017 Tim McBain & L.T. Vargus (P)2017 Smarmy Press

More from the same

What listeners say about Killing Season

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    257
  • 4 Stars
    81
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    245
  • 4 Stars
    69
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    215
  • 4 Stars
    79
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great tale with intense drama

I want to know who's idea it was to kick the crap out of Darger so much during this book, because that's my new least favorite of the two - and also my most favorite. I mean they kick Darger's ass - physically and emotionally through the entire book. The one who's idea it was to stick Darger in a bride's maid dress at the start gets bonus points.

This book answers the question, "Are Darger and Loshak near superhuman crime solving machines with the ability to sniff out the exact correct answer every time?" The answer is no, they're just normal people with an interesting skill set, but that doesn't mean they still aren't damned good.

The book also suggests the tedium that FBI agents must sometimes face on the job too, yet they do so in a manner that is not tedious to the reader.

The "villain" is excellent too. At some points you can feel a measure of empathy for the villain, which can be scary considering what they do.

Finally, to bury the lede, the climax is nail biting. Rarely did the plot go where I expected, and that included the ending *and* the epilogue.

Good stuff. Have a read/listen. I do not think you will be disappointed.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great

I love this series. I just purchased the Box Set even though I've already listened to two of the books. The stories are linked but completely different. Can't say enough about this team.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

ABSOLUTE THRILLER

This is by far the best book I have listened to in a long time. I especially love the narrator. The story is both suspenseful and filled with anticipation. You can't put it down. This is my second book in this series and I look forward to reading the next book. The writers are wonderful, keep up the good work!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Keep getting better

Again I am not disappointed in these authors. The book was a page turner and I am looking forward to more

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book.

This book kept me riveted clear up to the end and even then it hints at something coming up in one of her future books about a serial killer dhe has dealt with before.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

One chapter completely omitted

Chapter 42 was completely omitted from the narration. Thankfully, I was flipping between kindle and audible and realized the omission. That chapter was pretty crucial... Although the narrator was generally good, the Georgia accents are lacking.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Worst female protagonist ever.

This broad makes all women look bad. She’s the stereotypical overly sensitive woman. Everything about her is annoying- the way she blames herself for everything, the constant overly dramatic commentary. It’s very obvious she was written from a man’s perspective. A man who apparently thinks all women are annoying crybabies. Seriously- save your money on this one.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

You have to be kidding.

Pullleres. This is Georgia. Half the men and women have guns and know how to use them. Moreover, the is a significant number that are conceal carry enabled. The parking lot scene would have ended with Levi on the ground in a pool of blood and fifty rounds in him. Getting serious, woman cops aren't stupid as this heroine imagine going into motel room and not clearing it foreclosures before bringing every on else in. The authors need to watch MY PC Blue or Bosch for some pointers.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good read!!

I liked it. looking forward to reading the next book in the series. I liked how it ended.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A sniper terrorizing a city…

A sniper is terrorizing a city and FBI profilers Darger and Loshan are on the case. As the bodies pile up…including a local FBI agent…can the team understand the why to get to the who?? Another action packed and well written story.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs CJ
  • Mrs CJ
  • 08-22-18

Heroine is a bit irritating

I sort of enjoyed the story but must say I am a bit fed up with heroines who never act sensibly, never call for back up, and never let partners or others know where they’re going. We all know you should always let someone know where you are, especially when you’re hot on the trail of a serial killer. And for heavens sake, go to the hospital or get some sleep! I think this book has suffered because the last couple I’ve listened to have been littered with people acting irrationally. Having said that, the first two thirds held my attention and Kate Marvin is a terrific audio actress.