adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.17

Buy for $14.17

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

National best seller

"A meditation on kindness and hope, and how to move forward through grief." (NPR)

"A shining reminder to learn all we can from this moment, rebuilding ourselves in the darkness so that we may come out wiser, kinder, and stronger on the other side." (The Boston Globe)

"Powerful essays on loss, endurance, and renewal." (People)

Cosmopolitan’s "Best Nonfiction Books of 2020"

Marie Claire’s "2020 Books You Should Pre-Order Now"

Parade’s "25 Self-Help Books to Get Your 2020 Off on the Right Foot"

The Washington Post’s "What to Read in 2020 Based on the Books You Loved in 2019"

For fans of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of quotes and essays on facing life’s challenges with creativity, courage, and resilience.

When Maggie Smith, the award-winning author of the viral poem "Good Bones", started writing inspirational daily Twitter posts in the wake of her divorce, they unexpectedly caught fire. In this deeply moving book of quotes and essays, Maggie writes about new beginnings as opportunities for transformation. Like kintsugi, the Japanese art of mending broken ceramics with gold, Keep Moving celebrates the beauty and strength on the other side of loss. This is a book for anyone who has gone through a difficult time and is wondering: What comes next?

©2020 Maggie Smith (P)2020 Simon & Schuster Audio

More from the same

What listeners say about Keep Moving

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

This is not THAT Maggie Smith

I should have paid more attention. I assumed it was the actress. My mistake. But I decided to give it a chance. I've been known to read a self-help/inspirational book or 20. This one is delivered in that coffeehouse blank-verse cadence. Some may like that. And the author's insights are administered in the second person, like commands. So I felt like I was being lectured by a college poetry professor or a literary mother superior on behaviors I may or may exhibit. I gave up at the 20:15 mark. I do believe the author is sincere, and others may find solace and inspiration in her words. And in a pandemic, that could make this worth a couple of hours on any given Blursday.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

How come it’s not narrated by Maggie Smith ?

Completed disappointed when i find out its not narrated by Maggie and the performer is not acting her best for such a motivated book .

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The poet, not the actress with same name

This is Maggie Smith the poet, not the actress with the same name. This is an outstanding meditation on loss,,change, and growth. It is read by the author in a poetic style. This is an authentic book in which the poet shares her intimate story and insights. This book invites reflection and contemplation.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Explaining the profound simply.

A short but impactful book for anyone who is coping with loss and feels a bit stuck. I don't know how many times the phrase "keep moving" is spoken, but each time, a new rationale is provided why we must press forward.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

on point


great insight & just what I needed to hear. Helpful advice for separating partners too. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A different view on personal growth.

I enjoyed the book. It allowed me to examine how those three issues caused me to think on them differently and consider rethinking how I could handle them now with this new information.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Less about Creativity, more about moving forward

This is more a book about moving forward beyond loss, accepting change, and looking for areas where growth and goodness can be. Don't fall into the depression trap -- keep moving. The narration was too much of "poet voice" that had a halting cadence, which I found distracting.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful, touching

I can’t wait to read anything else Maggie has ever written. So authentic, soul crushing, yet hopeful too. Marvelous. Refreshing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dedicado a todos los que necesitan ayuda!

Excelente mensajes dedicado a todo aquel que sufre una perdida , un divorcio mensajes de crecimiento y reflexiones ciertas.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb!

This book will help provoke your thinking to new levels of living life...keep moving. Excellently written.