Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Into the Unknown  By  cover art

Into the Unknown

By: Jasper T. Scott
Narrated by: Tia Rider,Ben Jaeger-Thomas
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $17.99

Buy for $17.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Their Cruise Ship Jumped to the Wrong Star System 

The USA Today best-selling author of Dark Space, a true master of plot twists, brings you a gripping new sci-fi thriller....

Criminal attorney Liam Price can't believe his luck. He scored a deal for a suite aboard the Starlit Dream to the exotic world of Aquaria in the Kepler star system. He surprises his wife, Aria, with the trip for her 40th birthday, and the Price family gets ready for the trip of a lifetime. 

Soon after the voyage starts, they learn that they’ve somehow jumped to the wrong star system. Liam consults the ship’s computer to determine their location, but he can't access the navigational data. The captain claims that there’s nothing to worry about, but Liam wonders: if there’s nothing to worry about, why restrict access to the ship’s nav data? He fears that pirates may have detoured them to rob and ransom the wealthy passengers. 

Before they can learn more, the ship plunges into darkness, and suddenly the cruise of a lifetime turns into a trip to hell. As the crisis unfolds, Liam and his family are thrust into the middle of a deadly conspiracy and a desperate struggle for survival. 

Into the Unknown is a mystery thriller set in space, perfect for fans of Michael Crichton, Suzanne Collins, and Arthur C. Clarke.

©2019 Jasper T. Scott (P)2019 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Into the Unknown

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    170
  • 4 Stars
    127
  • 3 Stars
    88
  • 2 Stars
    28
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    204
  • 4 Stars
    106
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    143
  • 4 Stars
    111
  • 3 Stars
    73
  • 2 Stars
    30
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I am returning this title

I travel about 50K mikes a year in my car and listen to allot of audiobooks. I return some because they just aren’t my type of book but I really thought this could be my type...wanted to know the ending but. Ouldnt even get there. I developed an intense dislike for Aria which was certainly not what the author intended as she is a devoted mother who cares about the treatment of other species.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book with many surprises

You can't trust anyone. This story has more twists that you can believe... Hard to not listen in one sitting.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Interessting premise but a disappointing ending

This is the second Jasper T. Scott book I've read and both have the same problem. Its definitely NOT hard science fiction. That said the characters and story were interesting but the last 1-2 hours were really bad. The author goes way off the rails with fantasy science that ruins the book for me. It's like a somewhat realistic adventure on a train until you get to the end and you find that a character has a magic teleporter in his luggage and teleports you away to a happy ending.

Skip this one.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unique Angle on Immortality Story

Jasper T. Scott is a very good writer and both Tia Rider and Ben Jaeger-Thomas are enjoyable narrators.

The protagonists are given an interesting backstory to make them interesting and the antagonists are not diabolically evil but are self-interested to the point of making them unlikable. There are several twists playing out and one gets the feeling that the author left a lot of options open as to how the twists would turn out until close to the end. The SciFi was more on the 'Fi' side but still well within current expectations. The author does a good job at presenting a difficult moral dilemma that several of the characters are forced to consider during different periods of the story. I thought the end was a little out-there (excusing the pun) as well as a bit open-ended but still provided an adequate closure to the story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Yet another Jasper Scott masterpiece!

I don’t believe in spoilers!
As with all of Jasper’s stories the characters are believable and multidimensional; you could commiserate or loath them as the case may be. I think I would recognize them if they knocked on my door. The descriptions of the locales are vivid it’s very easy to imagine yourself there. The story line is plausible and engrossing.

Using 2 narrators added significantly to the listening experience. Both performed excellently giving depth to an already captivating yarn.

If you have never read any of Jasper Scott’s work you are really missing a wonderful experience

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Really enjoyed this one! Think a more serious, gritty version of Lost in Space. Really have liked everything I've heard by this Author so far.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting and interesting storyline

I enjoyed the storyline very much. Fully believe able and well written. Loved the voices of each character and how it flowed. I highly recommend it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Another Mediocre book

I truly wonder if its just me sometimes. I seem to come across so many books that are just "meh". I almost didn't finish it. As usually I kept going hoping it would get better but it really didn't.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great one to listen to!

I really enjoyed this book. The story was good and there's enough twists to keep you entertained but not annoyed. Characters are developed well enough to care about them without too much added info. Overall, just a great story. I tore through this pretty quick and am a little disappointed it is over so quickly. Very much looking forward to the next book of Jasper's.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good book, can’t stand alternating narrators

The story was captivating and I was excited to listen whenever possible. Wish there was more to listen. However, the narrative is accomplished by two persons who alternate chapters. Both narrators do a spectacular job but I find it distracting to hear the voices of characters changing every other chapter. Personally, I enjoy single narrator or cast narrative in which each character has an assigned performer.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful