Your audiobook is waiting…

Into the Unknown

Length: 9 hrs and 57 mins
4 out of 5 stars (73 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Their Cruise Ship Jumped to the Wrong Star System 

The USA Today best-selling author of Dark Space, a true master of plot twists, brings you a gripping new sci-fi thriller....

Criminal attorney Liam Price can't believe his luck. He scored a deal for a suite aboard the Starlit Dream to the exotic world of Aquaria in the Kepler star system. He surprises his wife, Aria, with the trip for her 40th birthday, and the Price family gets ready for the trip of a lifetime. 

Soon after the voyage starts, they learn that they’ve somehow jumped to the wrong star system. Liam consults the ship’s computer to determine their location, but he can't access the navigational data. The captain claims that there’s nothing to worry about, but Liam wonders: if there’s nothing to worry about, why restrict access to the ship’s nav data? He fears that pirates may have detoured them to rob and ransom the wealthy passengers. 

Before they can learn more, the ship plunges into darkness, and suddenly the cruise of a lifetime turns into a trip to hell. As the crisis unfolds, Liam and his family are thrust into the middle of a deadly conspiracy and a desperate struggle for survival. 

Into the Unknown is a mystery thriller set in space, perfect for fans of Michael Crichton, Suzanne Collins, and Arthur C. Clarke.

©2019 Jasper T. Scott (P)2019 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story with unique narration style

I enjoyed the story. The main characters are very relatable and act 'real'. It is very easy to get into Jasper's universe, as he describes just enough about something futuristic without going into jargon or talking about aspects that aren't necessary for the story to progress. I'd enjoy listening to more books in this series.

The actual narration had some issues. There were two orators who took turns every chapter or so (one man, one woman). This usually represented different parties in the story, but not always. I found it more of a distraction to switch my focus to the different speaker's style. Each one on their own was fine.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unique Angle on Immortality Story

Jasper T. Scott is a very good writer and both Tia Rider and Ben Jaeger-Thomas are enjoyable narrators.

The protagonists are given an interesting backstory to make them interesting and the antagonists are not diabolically evil but are self-interested to the point of making them unlikable. There are several twists playing out and one gets the feeling that the author left a lot of options open as to how the twists would turn out until close to the end. The SciFi was more on the 'Fi' side but still well within current expectations. The author does a good job at presenting a difficult moral dilemma that several of the characters are forced to consider during different periods of the story. I thought the end was a little out-there (excusing the pun) as well as a bit open-ended but still provided an adequate closure to the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great one to listen to!

I really enjoyed this book. The story was good and there's enough twists to keep you entertained but not annoyed. Characters are developed well enough to care about them without too much added info. Overall, just a great story. I tore through this pretty quick and am a little disappointed it is over so quickly. Very much looking forward to the next book of Jasper's.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book with many surprises

You can't trust anyone. This story has more twists that you can believe... Hard to not listen in one sitting.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting and interesting storyline

I enjoyed the storyline very much. Fully believe able and well written. Loved the voices of each character and how it flowed. I highly recommend it.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shaz
  • Shaz
  • 09-01-19

thrilling!

Thoroghly enjoyed this audio book. it was action packed and quite a thriller. would love to see it made into a movie.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful