• Inside the Whispers

  • Samantha Willerby Mystery Series, Book 1
  • By: A. J. Waines
  • Narrated by: Leila Birch
  • Length: 10 hrs and 9 mins
  • 4.0 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"If you are looking for a psychological thriller that will disturb you and is full of pretty twisted OMFG moments, grab yourself a copy!" (Noelle Holton, Crime Book Junkie)

The most dangerous place is inside your own head....

Dr. Samantha Willerby, a specialist in post-traumatic stress, has never seen anything like this before. Following a fire on the London Underground, three survivors seek her help but although unmistakably traumatized, their stories don’t match the facts. Are they "faking it"? Sam’s confusion turns to horror when one by one, instead of recovering, they are driven to suicide. 

When her lover, Conrad, begins to suffer the same terrifying flashbacks, Sam is desperate to find out what’s causing them. As a mysterious and chilling conspiracy begins to unravel the nightmares begin for Sam....

"The crisp, pacey writing grabbed me from the first page and wouldn’t let go: 5 stars." (E.M. Powell, best-selling author of the Stanton and Barling Mystery series)

Inside the Whispers is a tense, haunting psychological thriller that will leave your nerves in shreds. It can easily be listened to as a stand-alone novel and will appeal to fans of authors like Gillian Flynn, Mark Edwards, and Caroline Mitchell.

Please note this is a revised edition of a book by the same title previously published in 2016.

©2018 A. J. Waines (P)2019 Novel Audio

What listeners say about Inside the Whispers

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I wanted to like this…

Right from the start, I had a hard time listening to the narrator’s extremely formal Queen’s English accent for a story that called for a more casual tone. It was stiff. But I plowed on listening hoping I’d get over it. I didn’t. I also found some of the concepts in the story a bit unbelievable, but I am not a psychiatrist, so perhaps they’re not as far fetched as they seemed. I was somewhat entertained by the “what next” storyline, but I cannot recommend it when I’ve had so many other much more pleasant listens.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good read,.. rather a good listen

The story was interesting and wasn't confusing with all of the characters, A little bit more character background would have been nice it could have made the book a little more interesting.