• I Let Him In

  • A Gripping and Emotional Novel with an Unexpected Twist
  • By: Jill Childs
  • Narrated by: Gideon Turner, Jess Nesling
  • Length: 8 hrs and 4 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (19 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
I Let Him In  By  cover art

I Let Him In

By: Jill Childs
Narrated by: Gideon Turner,Jess Nesling
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Last night I dreamt about the past for the first time in years. I thought I was over it. I thought I’d finally learned to block it out. But I’m right back there, all over again, inside the house. The room is dark, the corners black with shadow. Then, the scream...

When Louise Taylor is hit by a car as she cycles home in the rain following a fight with her boyfriend, she’s left hurt, frightened, and confused. And worse, something tells her it wasn’t an accident.

Housebound in her cramped apartment while she recovers, flashbacks to her traumatic childhood begin to resurface, threatening her hard-won self-control. Desperate to keep busy and distract herself, she hires Edward - a friend of a friend - to repaint her shabby living room and, hopefully, keep the past at bay.

But when Edward arrives - quiet, considerate, and handsome - Lou instantly feels like they’ve met before, that she can trust him. Tired of carrying the guilt alone after all these years, Lou tells Edward her secret. And to her surprise, he doesn’t pull away. He doesn’t gasp or grimace or preach about what she did. And Lou is so relieved to finally be free of this burden at last.

Until she learns that Edward has a secret of his own. One he’s been waiting a very, very long time to tell...

A gripping domestic drama from a USA Today best-selling author full of twists and turns, and with a very unexpected ending. Fans of Amanda Prowse, Kerry Fisher, and Jodi Picoult won’t be able to stop.

©2021 Jill Childs (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

More from the same

What listeners say about I Let Him In

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

That Ending

The ending is just too weird and made no sense. Honestly I am very disappointed!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Psychological suspense or science fiction?

This book starts out as a tense psychological thriller. Unfortunately, it ends with a twist from the Twilight Zone. Wish I had been warned before I invested my time in the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Huge Twist

Oh, I loved this story! Not realistic or believable but the emotions and intentions and events are just beautiful. If only some things were possible!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely loved it!

I really enjoyed this story. Deeply emotional, a bit fantasy woven but still a great listen. Ending left me hoping there would be another book!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-10-21

Not sure - but a good story

Not sure what to say without giving away spoilers. I get it -the story I mean, it was well written and all in all it was a good story. But it wasn’t what I thought- and I’m not sure whether that’s a good or bad thing, which is weird. This takes suspension of disbelief right to the very edge of insanity. Which makes more sense at the end but there was a moment there were I wondered if I’d accidentally hit the wrong button and gone back to the start.