adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The YA thriller of the summer.” (Bustle)

For fans of Sadie and Serial, this gripping thriller follows two teens whose lives become inextricably linked when one confesses to murder and the other becomes determined to uncover the real truth no matter the cost.

What happened to Zoe won’t stay buried....

When Anna Cicconi arrives to the small Hamptons village of Herron Mills for a summer nanny gig, she has high hopes for a fresh start. What she finds instead is a community on edge after the disappearance of Zoe Spanos, a local girl who has been missing since New Year’s Eve. Anna bears an eerie resemblance to Zoe, and her mere presence in town stirs up still-raw feelings about the unsolved case. As Anna delves deeper into the mystery, stepping further and further into Zoe’s life, she becomes increasingly convinced that she and Zoe are connected - and that she knows what happened to her.

Two months later, Zoe’s body is found in a nearby lake, and Anna is charged with manslaughter. But Anna’s confession is riddled with holes, and Martina Green, teen host of the Missing Zoe podcast, isn’t satisfied. Did Anna really kill Zoe? And if not, can Martina’s podcast uncover the truth?

Inspired by Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca, Kit Frick weaves a thrilling story of psychological suspense that twists and turns until the final word.

©2020 Kristin S. Frick. All rights reserved. (P)2020 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

Critic Reviews

A People Best Book of Summer, 2020

A Parade Best Book of Summer, 2020

What listeners say about I Killed Zoe Spanos

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    186
  • 4 Stars
    139
  • 3 Stars
    77
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    246
  • 4 Stars
    99
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    160
  • 4 Stars
    129
  • 3 Stars
    70
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Engaging audio

Narrator(s): the narrators did an excellent job voicing their characters, and I love how the podcast episodes featured more voice actors.

Story: For me, it was easy to predict parts of the mystery. However, the story was nonetheless engaging. I do wish there was a bit more description and development in some areas (especially the more rushed scenes and with some side characters), but it’s a minor issue.

All in all, I’m glad I took a chance and spent my credit on this audiobook.

39 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

underwhelming

I enjoyed the layout of the book and the creative audio narrative, but the story was lacking. I was hoping for more of a climax or at least white knuckles.

29 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprise

Very clever plot. Different than anything I have read before. It was captivating from beginning to end and the characters came alive.

22 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW

This book was absolutely incredible. The authors style is so poetic, which is accentuated by the narrators. A work that seems like it was meant to be consumed as an audiobook.

22 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

mediocre

Not great not horrible...I listened to the whole thing and it was entertaining but lacking substance.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

How did this win awards???

The writing really isn’t good. The language is weird, unnatural and convoluted. The plot drowns in floral over the top descriptions. What is the author’s obsession with hair? I love it when characters are brought to life with little quirky descriptions of actions, but this was too much. The whole novel was ‘all talk, little action’. What 17 years old goes into long poetic rants about every little boring detail? None of the characters were realistic and the whole novel felt like a bad drug trip. The main narrator managed to keep an appropriately dull and depressing tone throughout the whole thing, and I kept feeling as is she was about to burst out in tears. In all fairness, I can’t blame her. By the end of this novel I too had lost the will to live

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I kept wanting to get the end!

I wanted to get to the end not because I wanted to book the end but because I had a pretty good idea about what was going on. I wasn't right on the nose but I was close. The book kept you wanting to keep reading. Was nicely done. The narrator's we're not bad but the recording at some points we're annoying. I will definitely speak out more of this author's books.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

VERY Far Fetched and Somewhat Rambling

The story is relatively well written in terms of use of language. The plot is very far-fetched in that the mother of the protagonist fails to speak up with a family secret to save her daughter from prison when they have a good relationship... and there is almost no reason remaining to keep the secret. The protagonist also has a variety of psychological or psychiatric issues that are incredibly poorly explained, making them seem like a crutch for a poor plot. On the other hand, the character development is reasonably interesting and the characters are multidimensional. I ended up listening to the last 1/3 of the book at 195% of normal speed, but it was marginally worthwhile.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Kept me puzzled

Very intriguing book! Kept me guessing right until the end! Narration was great as well.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Unique audio production and a nice homage to “Rebecca”

It’s not the world’s best mystery, but the ending twist was satisfying and unexpected. I enjoyed the way Frick wove elements of “Rebecca” throughout in unexpected ways—it’s certainly not a shot for shot retelling, which is to its benefit. There are podcast interviews running through it and they’re done by voice actors that made the podcasts feel realistic within the book itself.