Your audiobook is waiting…

Hunt the Wolf

A SEAL Team Six Novel, Book 1
Narrated by: Peter Ganim
Series: SEAL Team Six, Book 1
Length: 8 hrs and 15 mins
4 out of 5 stars (132 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Navy SEAL Team Six commando Don Mann infuses his debut military thriller with the real-life details only a true insider can reveal.

In the midst of a grueling training exercise, Thomas Crocker, USN, unearths a pocket of terrorism that leads straight from the slopes of K2 to the cities of Europe and the Middle East. Crocker and his team, who are trained for the most intense kinds of combat in the most extreme environments, must blaze through a perilous web of terrorist cells to track down a ruthless sheikh who is running an international kidnapping ring before his captives pay the ultimate price.

Hunt the Wolf is an adrenaline-packed novel sure to appeal to fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor, featuring the world's most elite soldiers and based on the experiences of renowned SEAL Team 6 commando Don Mann.

©2012 Don Mann (P)2012 Hachette Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator Stinks

I’ve read the hard copy and enjoyed greatly but this narrator stinks! Kept my attention no more than 20 seconds!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not sure if I will get another one in the series.

The story was a little hard to follow occasionally. Didn’t completely represent how things go IRL from what I’ve been told elsewhere.
Sounded like it was read by Zapp Brannigan.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator Horrible

The Narrator was horrible, so bad it was distracting and hard to pay attention to the storyline.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Fails to Connect

In the last few months I have listened to three different tier one operator novels, Dalton Fury’s Delta novels and Seal Team 6 Outcasts and now this novel. It is not only my least favorite but more than once I thought about turning it off. I am not sure why. Maybe because the author felt the need to provide a complete resume of the lead character rather than let it dribble out over a number of novels or that it felt pushed on the listener/reader? Or may because it seemed less like a ‘team’ and more like the lead (Tom Crocker) was ‘doing it all’ and didn’t need the other members of his team? While the author tried to provide Croker with traits that would connect with the reader, they felt cold. And while some text was given to other Seal Team member characters, there wasn't enough for the reader to connect with them. There was action but it didn’t create suspense. It isn’t a bad novel but it just didn’t connect with me; drive me to want the next book or to hear more about the characters like the Outcast and Delta novels did.

Plus, while all authors have personal views and feelings towards various issues, at times it felt that the author was too close to certain issues - too passionate or close to the issue – that his anger and energy came through so that it felt like an arguement rather than 'simply telling a story'.

Added together, it felt like the auhor needs to take a step back, buffer himself so that he can tell a story that more quietly leads the reader rather than forcing the reader down a path.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful