Your audiobook is waiting…

How to Fall In Love with a Man Who Lives in a Bush

A Novel
Narrated by: Nicky Diss
Length: 6 hrs and 6 mins
Categories: Fiction, Humor
4 out of 5 stars (24 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For listeners of quirky Scandinavian fiction comes this charming and witty debut novel by Emmy Abrahamson - perfect for fans of Jonas Jonasson.

Love stinks. Or maybe it just needs a shower....  

Vienna: famous for Mozart, waltzes, and pastry; less famous for Julia, a Swedish transplant who spends her days teaching English to unemployed Austrians and her evenings watching Netflix with her cat or club hopping with a frenemy. An aspiring novelist, Julia's full of ideas for future best sellers: A writer moves his family to a deserted hotel in the dead of winter and spirals into madness! A homely governess loves a brooding man whose crazy wife is locked up in the attic! Fine, so they've been done. Doesn't mean Julia won't find something original. 

Then something original finds Julia - sits down next to her on a bench, as a matter of fact. Ben is handsome (under all that beard) and adventurous (leaps from small bridges in a single bound). He's also sexy as hell and planning to shuffle off to Berlin before things can get too serious. Oh, and Ben lives in a public park. 

Thus begins a truth stranger than any fiction Julia might have imagined: a whirlwind relationship with a guy who shares her warped sense of humor and shakes up the just-okay existence she's been too lazy to change. Ben challenges her to break out; she challenges him to settle down. As weeks turn to months, Julia keeps telling herself that this is a chapter in her life, not the whole book. If she writes the ending, she can't get hurt. 

But what if the ending isn't hers to write? 

©2018 Emmy Abrahamson; English translation 2018 by Nichola Smalley (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great weekend read!

loved it...love can be found in the most unique places if you just stop overthinking

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • DawnO
  • Orlando, FL
  • 03-18-19

An enjoyable novel- I’m happy to recommend it!

I would recommend this book to people who enjoy love stories. I especially enjoyed it because I had seen an interview on British TV, and knew it was based on a true story. The author changed parts of the story to make it more enjoyable and exciting, but when they met, he was homeless and living under a bush!! I I liked that the story m.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow! Loved this book!

Funny and insightful . I really didn’t want it to end.
The narrator gave an excellent performance as she smoothly transitioned from character to character. This book reminds us of what matters most in relationships. Highly recommend!