• House on Endless Waters

  • A Novel
  • By: Emuna Elon
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Davis
  • Length: 10 hrs and 9 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (474 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
House on Endless Waters  By  cover art

House on Endless Waters

By: Emuna Elon
Narrated by: Jonathan Davis
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.89

Buy for $18.89

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

“Elon powerfully evokes the obscurity of the past and its hold on the present as we stumble through revelation after revelation with Yoel. As we accompany him on his journey…we share in his loss, surprise, and grief, right up to the novel’s shocking conclusion.” (The New York Times Book Review)

In the tradition of The Invisible Bridge and The Weight of Ink, “a vibrant, page-turning family mystery” (Jennifer Cody Epstein, author of Wunderland) about a writer who discovers the truth about his mother’s wartime years in Amsterdam, unearthing a shocking secret that becomes the subject of his magnum opus.

Renowned author Yoel Blum reluctantly agrees to visit his birthplace of Amsterdam to promote his books, despite promising his late mother that he would never return to that city. While touring the Jewish Historical Museum with his wife, Yoel stumbles upon footage portraying prewar Dutch Jewry and is astonished to see the youthful face of his beloved mother staring back at him, posing with his father, his older sister…and an infant he doesn’t recognize.

This unsettling discovery launches him into a fervent search for the truth, shining a light on Amsterdam’s dark wartime history — the underground networks that hid Jewish children away from danger and those who betrayed their own for the sake of survival. The deeper into the past Yoel digs up, the better he understands his mother’s silence, and the more urgent the question that has unconsciously haunted him for a lifetime — Who am I? — becomes.

Part family mystery, part wartime drama, House on Endless Waters is “a rewarding meditation on survival” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) and a “deeply immersive achievement that brings to life stories that must never be forgotten” (USA Today).

©2020 Emuna Elon (P)2020 Simon & Schuster Audio

What listeners say about House on Endless Waters

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    223
  • 4 Stars
    145
  • 3 Stars
    73
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    11
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    254
  • 4 Stars
    102
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    215
  • 4 Stars
    110
  • 3 Stars
    58
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars