• Her First Mistake

  • An Utterly Gripping Psychological Thriller with a Breathtaking Twist
  • By: Carey Baldwin
  • Narrated by: Meaghan Martin
  • Length: 8 hrs and 29 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (84 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Her First Mistake  By  cover art

Her First Mistake

By: Carey Baldwin
Narrated by: Meaghan Martin
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Mia covered her mouth to stop herself crying out. She hated the dark, but her mother had made her promise. But what was the point of being a good little girl if she couldn’t help her mother? She’d promised her mother not to scream, but she hadn’t promised not to escape....

To the world, Mia Thornton is invisible - a quiet, timid preschool teacher. People would never guess that she found the will to dig her way out of a locked shed when she was just six years old. That she never saw her mother again.

Now, all Mia longs for is a normal life and friends to call her own. But when she runs into a group of colleagues one evening, she discovers that, once again, she’s been excluded. Stung at the rejection, she pockets the keys of one of the women in a petty act of revenge. Celeste Cooper is fearless, pretty, popular - everything Mia wishes she could be.

The next day, Celeste is reported missing. And Mia realizes that it might have been her fault. Wracked with guilt, she joins the search, determined to make up for her mistake. But as she grows closer to Celeste’s family, Mia can’t help but feel she’s being watched....

What if Celeste’s disappearance has more to do with Mia than she realizes? And if she keeps digging, does she risk being dragged back into the dark forever?

Prepare to be gripped by the pulse-pounding new psychological thriller from USA Today best-selling author Carey Baldwin. Fans of The Wife Between Us, The Girl on the Train, and Gone Girl will be totally addicted to Her First Mistake.

©2021 Carey Baldwin (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

More from the same

What listeners say about Her First Mistake

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Unfortunately, i cannot give this book high praise

because the hype did not.live up to my expectations.perhaps i am a person who expects "a thrilling twist' is more than is given. this is some thing the author & publisher need to consider. i found the narration kind of boring, a little adolescent, & therefore doesn't meld like people thing it should, i.,e., police pause the public. Someone invested in psychology i did't find the expertise necessary to complete the plot in a believable way. this is the book i ever read where everyones input clashed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story