• Her Father's Fugitive Throne

  • Song of the Worlds, Book 3
  • By: Brandon Barr
  • Narrated by: Robin Miles
  • Length: 11 hrs and 38 mins
  • 3.8 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Her Father's Fugitive Throne  By  cover art

Her Father's Fugitive Throne

By: Brandon Barr
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $25.99

Buy for $25.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

The shadow of the Beast stalks Meluscia's every move.

The prophetess' dire warning looms as Meluscia fights to attain the throne. All the while, the dark Master of the Star Portal threatens to slay her and her band of prophets, bringing the world of Hearth into chaos.

Torn from the world he knows, Aven is held captive aboard a ship of ruthless mercenaries. Winter's vision of the horrible creature becomes reality for Aven, and he must face the monsters of his past and present - for there is nowhere to run.

©2018 Brandon Barr (P)2019 Podium Publishing

What listeners say about Her Father's Fugitive Throne

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another fantastic entry!

Let me just say, wow!

Okay, as I've come to expect, Robin Miles gives a fantastic performance with an awesome assortment of voices, including some really convincing male voices, almost perfect tempo, and nearly perfect vocal inflections. I really couldn't ask for anything better.

One of the things I really love about Brandon Barr's writing is we completely skip the oh-so-common (and annoying) recap of the previous book or a "story so far" note.

These books are not meant to be read as standalones, as they are a single contiguous story, in the vein of "Lord of the Rings" or "A Song of Ice and Fire."

You have been warned. Don't pick up in the middle of the series. Start at the beginning.

Now, another thing that I absolutely love about this series is Brandon Barr is one of those rare writers whose work only gets better!

The prequel (Ella Dethroned), available exclusively from AudFans, last time I checked, started strong and only got better.

Rise of the Seer is so good that it's hard to believe it was Brandon's first published novel.

The Bridge Beyond Her World took that fantastic base and built in numerous additional layers to turn what started out as two separate stories and tied everything into a grand, sweeping epic that I still have trouble believing really fits into the length of these books.

And this book took that amazing creation and took it to the next level. We're now seeing how things are going to fully tie in together, what the ultimate conflict really is, and how things might eventually come together.

If I were to have any complaints, I suppose it would be length (as epic fantasy goes they are rather short), the author's abundant use of character names when I pronoun would suffice, and the fact that what we're really looking at is two separate stories that will eventually come together somewhere near the epic conclusion (similar to the way Daenerys is competely separate from the rest of the stories in "A Song of Ice and Fire").

Apart from those, this book (like the previous two) is simply amazing. The characters are continuing to build, their arcs are expanding, the plot gets deeper and more complex. And I'm loving the way things look to be tying together.

I'm very pleased to report that (at least in my eyes) Melluscia has redeemed herself and is back to being a wonderful character that I love.


If you haven't read any of this series, then get on it! Pick up Rise of the Seer and dig in! My money says this will be the best series you read this year!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!