• Her Broken Wings

  • Detectives Kane and Alton, Book 8
  • By: D. K. Hood
  • Narrated by: Patricia Rodriguez
  • Length: 8 hrs and 54 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (351 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Her Broken Wings  By  cover art

Her Broken Wings

By: D. K. Hood
Narrated by: Patricia Rodriguez
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The sound that wakes her from sleep is unmistakable - someone is in their house. She listens as heavy footsteps start up the stairs, and as the bedroom door is flung open, she doesn’t even have time to scream....

Following a frantic emergency call in the middle of the night, Detective Jenna Alton arrives at a secluded family home to find the body of Lucas Robinson lying in a pool of his own blood in his bed. His wife Carol, shivering in shock, has just watched an intruder shoot her husband in cold blood.

As Jenna investigates the murder, she soon discovers that Lucas was having an affair. And when his mistress is also found strangled to death in the center of the small town, Jenna is convinced that the murderer is living amongst them.

When the killer escalates with a mass murder at a remote ranch on the outskirts of Black Rock Falls, Jenna knows for sure that she’s dealing with a murderer more twisted than any other she’s faced before.

As the town begins to fill with revelers for the annual Halloween festival, Jenna has to work fast to stop any more lives being taken. But as the killer always seems to be one step ahead of the investigation, has she finally met a murderer who can outsmart her?

Fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter, and Rachel Abbott will love this compelling and nail-biting crime thriller from best-selling author D. K. Hood.

©2020 D. K. Hood (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about Her Broken Wings

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    269
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    247
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    245
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Serial killer capital...

This is the eighth book in the Kane and Alton series. Although very good you do have to suspend believability for entertainment value. In eight books this town has had eight serial killers and it’s just a very small town in the middle of nowhere.
Anyway it’s a well written, good, fast paced, light read.
Patricia Rodriguez does a very good job narrating. She does speak a little slow so I listen at 1.5 speed.
Recommended light listening.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great characters

I love the characters and I am always looking forward to the next story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not what I expected

I like this series, and highly anticipated this book. Sadly, it was slow out of the gate and never really got any traction for me. A woman’s husband is murdered next to her in bed, a macabre murder scene is discovered at a ‘halloween house’, then the murdered man’s mistress is murdered. Can the team pull together these deaths, with the help of the new local FBI team?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this series

Love this series, but I certainly would not visit this town! Looking forward to the next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Supremely stupid sheriff

No normal law enforcement officer would give a complete stranger access to her property and tell him exactly how to avoid the cameras. This series is decent overall, but sometimes the sheriff does things so out of character for a supposedly amazing and renowned serial killer catcher.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING

I had it in my head what I wanted to say…. but I would give to much of the story away!
Sit back and enjoy! Between the awesome job of the narrator and the authors amazing words you will feel as if you are right there! RELAX AND IMAGINE!!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great

Loved the story from beginning to end! The characters were terrific and quite entertaining.
Now I just need to find the rest of the books in DK Hood's series. it's the first time I've read anything from this author and I'm very pleased to have found a new highly entertaining author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I like this narrator!

She does so many voices so well!

This is such a twisted read. This makes it a highly engrossing read. You sort of know who the perpetrator is but when you get it put together...the pieces all fit.

That's what I love about these books!

I'm so bummed this series is almost over. I need to find another. This is one of the only series of books that is really good!

I don't like some errors. Preferences really. We don't say, "He got out the car" We say of! "He got out OF the car." I don't care for improper language and this has been something I've seen in all of MS. Hood's book except for perhaps book 1! It doesn't mean it gets docked a star but it needs to be fixed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this series

I love The Alton and Kane series! I’m glad the same narrator did most of the books. She pronounced some words differently but overall it was great!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The story seemed rushed and anti climactic

The story seemed rushed and anti climactic. It didn't make alot of sense why the killer was after Jo

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sheilabate
  • sheilabate
  • 06-09-20

Her broken wings

Brilliant !!! I just can't wait for the next one. This book has kept me same during 15 weeks of Sheilding....more please !!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 03-12-20

Hmmm!

This story is becoming a soap opera! “Another darn serial killer”, yes someone actually said that! I think the narrator is very talented though but I think it’s the last credit I’ll use on this series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Janey
  • Janey
  • 02-13-22

Another great book in the series of Kane and Alton

I am hooked as want to know what happens to Kane and Alton and the "family". I wish though that all the cases were not about the bad things that happen to women and girls and murder! Maybe I will hear more as I move through the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kerry
  • Kerry
  • 03-25-20

What a great series

Love the characters and the story has you in right from the beginning.. cannot wait for the next instalment of Alton and Kane.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-19-20

Another great book!

Another great book. I can hardly wait for the next one. It was full of twists and turns.... couldn’t put it down.