Heard It All Before

Series: The Montgomerys, Book 1
Length: 11 hrs and 49 mins
4.4 out of 5 stars (139 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.72

Buy for $20.72

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Debut novelist Michele Grant pens a juicy tale in Heard It All Before. Best friends Jewellen and Renee think they know Dallas men like the backs of their hands. But that’s before Jewellen unexpectedly falls for a guy from the wrong side of the tracks, and Renee gets lured away from her own man by a hard-bodied hottie.

©2010 Michele Grant (P)2010 Recorded Books, LLC

Critic Reviews

"Grant depicts their dilemmas with a pitch-perfect voice, delivering funny yet believable stories embellished with a gusto that readers who enjoy Carl Weber and Mary Monroe will relish." ( Publishers Weekly)

What listeners say about Heard It All Before

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

Non-poetic urban storytelling

Bought the book based on the ratings and description (a lesson!) and was sorely disappointed by the excessive descriptives (do I REALLY need to know the details of what you're wearing and thinking EVERYTIME!?!) and overused idiomatic language (to substantiate the "downness", I suppose) that seemed to be a cover for telling a good story. I found myself rolling my eyes at the characters because I didn't like them and couldn't fit them into any reality. An urban tale spun by the ever so good looking, great job, hood to riches, quick witted (not really), got-it-all-together characters left me wanting. There was absolutely NO depth or sincerity. I'd advise the author to look at the writings of Diane McKinney-Whetstone or JD Mason to see how soulful love stories are spun. Black love is a beautiful thing and deserves a good telling.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Listen

Despite some other reviews, I thought this was pretty good. It kept my attention and some parts were even comical. I enjoyed it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Poor Performance

The female narrators were monotone and extremely dull. The story was also overly detailed and the dull performance did not help.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful

I must agree with the first listner, this book was a waste of time and credit.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Issa a NO for me!

Narration was slow and boring. Story was boring! Characters were boring. Just a real snore fest!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loves it

A great story line and the narrators really brought it to life. Her debut book was a hit with me.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Gross and Terribly Toxic

The concept of this story was great. The story telling was horrible. Even with multiple narrators I could not keep up wirh who was who. I listened to it twice and I am still not sure if the couples meet at the basketball game or before the basketball game. Also, the author seems like a "Pick Me". The men in the book did no wrong. She even talked about how women should and should dress and behave along with saying something negative about Beyonce for absolutely no reason. This book was Gross and Terribly Toxic

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not Great But Certainly Good!

This book held my attention from start to finish and for the most part was pretty good. The narrators were all good, but I did like some of them better than others. Most parts were pretty predictable, but still several parts definitely brought out a chuckle and an audible "uh-uhnnn". Bottom line: I would give this author another try.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Hard to Follow

I don’t usually write reviews however this book was awful from the start. The narrators were hard to listen to with awkward pauses and the story line was predictable and boring. I tried a few times to listen but couldn’t deal past the first few chapters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great listen

part comedy, which I didn't expect. it would make a great movie. the actors were fantastic