Your audiobook is waiting…

Grace and Fury

Series: Grace and Fury, Book 1
Length: 8 hrs and 38 mins
4 out of 5 stars (69 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Bold, brutal, and beautiful - a must-listen fantasy full of fierce sisterhood, action, and political intrigue for fans of The Selection series, Caraval, and The Handmaid's Tale.

In a world where women have no rights, sisters Serina and Nomi Tessaro face two very different fates: one in the palace, the other in prison.

Serina has been groomed her whole life to become a Grace - someone to stand by the heir to the throne as a shining, subjugated example of the perfect woman. But when her headstrong and rebellious younger sister, Nomi, catches the heir's eye, it's Serina who takes the fall for the dangerous secret that Nomi has been hiding.

Now trapped in a life she never wanted, Nomi has only one way to save Serina: surrender to her role as a Grace until she can use her position to release her sister. This is easier said than done. A traitor walks the halls of the palace, and deception lurks in every corner. But Serina is running out of time, imprisoned on an island where she must fight to the death to survive and one wrong move could cost her everything.

©2018 Tracy Banghart (P)2018 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"Banghart...breathes new life into this feminist story of oppression and resistance. The sisters...shift and grow, adding depth to each character. Fans of Keira Cass and Marie Rutkoski will be drawn to this absorbing story and left eager for another installment." (Publishers Weekly)

"The Handmaid's Tale gets a YA twist in this debut...The pace is quick, the ending promises a sequel, and the plot couldn't be more relevant. Buy an extra copy - this should find an audience." (Booklist)

"The Handmaid's Tale meets The Bachelor, Grace and Fury is fast-paced, feminist, and a perfect summer read." (Bustle)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Weak

I started this book on a 2 hour road trip and that was the only reason I decided to finish it, I was already 2 hours in, otherwise I would have returned it.
The character development is very weak, until the end of the book, I hardly cared about any of the characters
The plot is very predictable, the author has tried to create a book similar to Hunger Games, but has failed.
Overall I don't think this is worth 1 credit
One of the narrators seems to be in constant distress and that's the only emotion she can have

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Loved Serina’s parts, hated Nomi’s parts

I’m a little torn on how I’m feeling towards this book. It was exciting and engaging, but also irritating.

I love the feminist agenda here and the bonds of sisterhood. I really enjoyed Serina’s journey and, to me, she stole the show. I actually wouldn’t have minded if the entire book was focused on this one sister. I loved her character development. Her progression from total obedience to rebellion was so fun to see. The setting of Mount Ruin was also exhilarating! Val was a pretty awesome character with a great backstory too. Serina is one of those characters that you grow to respect and admire.

Nomi on the other hand... I started out liking her—who doesn’t like a girl questioning and rebelling against the messed up sexist rules of life? I was all for her—even though her initial defiant moments felt a little petulant and ill-advised. She started out as a seemingly smart, yet rebellious, girl; unfortunately, she didn’t stay that way. Her actions throughout the book became more and more mindless to me. It’s like she turned off all critical thinking skills and became this naive, easy manipulated, prejudiced twit. Instead of questioning information provided to her, instead of taking into account her own experiences and knowledge, she gobbles up what others tell her like it’s gospel and allows herself to be used. I could tell immediately that Nomi was getting played and her lack of awareness and refusal to question the world around her infuriated me. This is callous of me, but she got what was coming to her.

So I found myself loving Serina’s parts and hating Nomi’s. I’m still interested in continuing the series and can’t wait to see Serina blossom into even more of a badass.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

What a fascinating story! I was captivated from start to finish! The world building was great!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lil
  • N/A
  • 10-28-18

Not great narration

Enjoyed the story quite a lot! Unfortunately the narrator sounds as if they’re AI and it takes away from being consumed by the plot. Very stilted voice that sounds like a robot.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kris
  • Pylesville, MD, United States
  • 08-22-18

Loved it

Wonderful story can’t wait for the next book! Left me wondering what was going to happen!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful