Gods of the Dark Web

Narrated by: Sean Duregger
Length: 2 hrs and 15 mins
Categories: Fiction, Horror
4 out of 5 stars (29 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From the author of Engines of Ruin comes a dark suspenseful novel for fans of Black Mirror, Edward Lee, and cosmic horror.

The internet is a scary place. Beneath Facebook and Twitter is another world. One in which anything can be obtained - for a price. A community of black markets, depraved pornography, and death. This is the dark web.

Leon was just curious. He had heard the stories of the secrets and forbidden fetishes that the dark web offered. He was an activist, protesting against war and hate. But after a protest became violent, he felt he needed protection. Being a teenager with no way to buy a gun legally, he had no choice but to turn to the dark web.

This rash decision sends Leon spiraling down into a dark side of humanity that most don’t know - or even want to know - exists. A world of murder, torture, and cannibalism. But behind all that there is something worse. Something stalking him and intent on ruining every aspect of his life. 

Now, Leon is fighting for his life and reputation as he is being hunted by vile and arcane forces. They are the gods of the dark web.

©2018 Lucas Mangum (P)2020 David N. Wilson

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cosmic Horror on the Dark Web

I'd been following the author for a while on Instagram and saw that he opened up an online store for his books. I love buying physical books and love autographed books. So I actually received this book in the mail. About a day before I was going to read it Lucas posted that Sean Duregger was going to be narrating this story, and would be posting reviews copies. I was able to get one. If you're not already listening to Audiobooks from Hell change that now and do so. Sean has a great voice. He really brings it to this title. That punch you want in a horror title. He has great pace with the story, and really drives it to the edge with edgy parts and keeps you listening. I love Audio books, but sometimes there's a bad Narrator and it can get kind of boring. Glad Sean brings excitement with his performance. Enough about the performance. This was my first completed story from Lucas. Currently reading another of his titles. Lucas has this raw in your face way of telling a story. Let's face it we read Horror for a reason. We want to be scared, we want to feel uneasy. I don't feel like he crossed any lines with his details, he painted a perfect story with his words. He pointed out stuff you would see from the Dark Web, I mean you can't really tell a story with you without describing a scene. If you love cosmic horror, or Lovecraft inspirited horror this title is for you. I highly recommend both here. Lucas is a author to watch out for and Sean is force with his voice. Looking forward to hearing and reading more from them soon.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

This book should have way more warnings!

This book pushed my literary boundaries and I almost did not finish it. The story and details were extremely horrific. i dont think the summary provided accurate information as to what the reader/listener is in for. Warning description words I would have used are bdsm slavery, golden showers, child porn, and a brutal baby killing not to mention the brutal murders of adults. This book was a total waste of my time. I would have returned it except I had received it for free. Good thing I did not pay for it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wish it was longer!!

A great story. Awesome narration!! Wish it could’ve been a longer novel!! Great job! Thanks!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not for the faint of heart

Started off at night, but had to finish it in the day light. This book is dark, one of the most unsettling horror story I have ever done. Still a good story and good narration. Had to stop at one point, but was glad to hear the main character was having a hard time as I was with what was going on. Even at the end of the book I had spent some time to reflect on the darkness and the way it ended. This book was given to me at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic insane book

This book was sick, love it. Weak minds and stomachs should not go for it. But for all the brave smart open minded individuals. Is perfect. Fantastic narrative.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Gory and extreme

An eldritch Lovecraftian god and a cult of depraved followers that find victims using the dark web. Gods of the Dark Web is a short, mean and brutal story about the horrors of the dark web and the vile things that may take place there. This is the urban legend/creepypasta like version of what might be lurking on the dark web. We should all be a little more careful about meeting strange people we found on the internet. I love anything that has to do with the dark web/Internet horror so i just had to read this one when I heard about it.

There are a few moments in this book that were very gory and extreme so be warned if you have trouble with gore and violence.

Note: I received a free copy of this audiobook in exchange for this unbiased review

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gross, sick, twisted and I couldn’t stop listening!

I have listened to almost every book show on Drager as narrated, but I do think this one is my favorite. From the very beginning to be absolute in this book will have you on the edge of your seat and at some point even nauseated LOL! I could not stop listening to this book did it until it was over. I stayed up until 130 in the morning, even though are usually go to bed around 9 o’clock again LOL! I totally recommend this book to those who love horrer and or tired of the jump scare and the same all same all. This is not that. It is totally worth the credit!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heavy horror!

A really creepy premise with some outrageously disturbing subject matter. You might unplug your computer for awhile after this. Of course, that doesn't mean it will shut down...
A short one, but it's just right for the pace of the story. Well-narrated by Sean Duregger. Nice work!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

No Stew for Me

I did enjoy this dark horror of the dark web, there was a few stomach turning scenes. Recommend if you enjoy short horror stories. I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review. Thank you

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

Creepy and depraved

This book is creepy and depraved. I had to stop listening after a certain point just when it was getting good. I usually like books with a little depravity but not like this. I received this book at my request and I am voluntarily leaving my honest review here.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Thing
  • Thing
  • 03-24-20

Interesting concept

The idea behind the story was interesting but for my money, the execution and narration let it down. The narrator sounded almost bored, which killed the tension. And for me, the gratuitous gore didn't add anything.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alex George
  • Alex George
  • 03-15-20

A solid story with well-rounded spooks

*I was provided a copy by the author on behalf of Audiobook Boom*

A solid short horror story that's equal parts brutal and intense. Whilst it's not my cup of tea, it was good regardless, and the narrator was okay.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tachikoma
  • Tachikoma
  • 03-10-20

Stunningly dark story.

I love horror, always have since I read The Rats by James Herbert when I was 9 and have devoured millions of stories since. Unfortunately I have noticed a steady decline in the savagery and horror in tales in the last 20 years and they seem more and more sedate in the handling of horror. Maybe it's down to the popularity of authors such as Stephen King who excel at character pieces but lack the true bite that I grew up with and crave.
Due to this I expected further disappointment from this tale as, while the synopsis was really interesting, I figured it'd be another wet fish of a tale... How wrong was I.
A tremendously dark tale of true body horror with a side-salad of Lovecraft all mashed together with the threats posed by our secondary existence in the internet.
Beautifully descriptive in all it's bare-nerve horror and fantastically narrated by Sean Duregger this tale drew me in and held me by the throat through the entire single-sitting listen I did and boy was it a fun ride.
Horror's back baby and Lucas Mangum's at the top with the greats!