• Girl's Guide to Witchcraft

  • By: Mindy Klasky
  • Narrated by: Emma Galvin
  • Length: 11 hrs and 27 mins
  • 3.6 out of 5 stars (198 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Girl's Guide to Witchcraft  By  cover art

Girl's Guide to Witchcraft

By: Mindy Klasky
Narrated by: Emma Galvin
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $21.99

Buy for $21.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Jane Madison has a problem. Or two. Or three. She’s unhappily working as a librarian. She has a crush on her oblivious Imaginary Boyfriend. And she just learned she won’t receive a well-deserved raise; instead, she can live for free in a cottage on the library grounds. When Jane settles into her new home, she discovers a hidden chamber lined with ancient books about witchcraft. Her first spell awakens a feline familiar. Her second makes her irresistible to men. Those magical workings attract a sexy magical warder, and Jane’s life is quickly turned upside down. Does Jane have what it takes to become a real witch?

©2006, 2011, 2012 Mindy Klasky (P)2014 Audible Inc.

Critic reviews

"Fans of Shanna Swendson's Enchanted, Inc. series will find much to love in Klasky's zesty blend of fantasy and romance as well as in her winsome heroine." ( Booklist)

What listeners say about Girl's Guide to Witchcraft

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    27
  • 1 Stars
    45
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    65
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

okay story---horrible narrator

What disappointed you about Girl's Guide to Witchcraft?

The story had promise but the narrator was horrible! She paused every three words. Placed emphasis on the wrong words or phrases, had no concept of conversation flow or even sentence structure. Made it extremely hard to keep listening.

How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

A different narrator!

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Emma Galvin?

Amanda Ronconi would have done a great job with this one.

Any additional comments?

Not worth the credit. Can I have mine back?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cute story, awful narrator!

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

This was a light, entertaining book. The story flowed well and kept my interest.

What didn’t you like about Emma Galvin’s performance?

The narrator doesn't seem to understand the purpose of periods and commas. There were many times that the end of one sentence became part of the next sentence, changing the meaning. If you record the next book in the series, please use a different narrator.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

listen to the reviews

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

No! The story was alright but the reader sucked big time....

What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

I knew the ending..... before half way.....through.

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Emma Galvin?

Anyone would have done better. I will never buy another that she reads.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Cute if you can stand the horrible narrator

Would you try another book from Mindy Klasky and/or Emma Galvin?

Not if narrated by Emma Galvin

What was one of the most memorable moments of Girl's Guide to Witchcraft?

Trying to listen to the story with the narrator ruining it

How did the narrator detract from the book?

Horrible narration that made it hard to pay attention to the story

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

The story is cute

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Narration is Terrible

What would have made Girl's Guide to Witchcraft better?

Another reader. I had to abandon the story within the first 15 minutes because the narration was so bad.

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Emma Galvin?

Almost anyone. Her style was practically monotonic and she paused after every second or third word regardless of natural phrasing. I'll NEVER listen to any book narrated by this individual again!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

What an awful narrator!!!!

Would you try another book from Mindy Klasky and/or Emma Galvin?

Not by any chance I would listen to another book that Emma Galvin is the narratator.

How could the performance have been better?

A narritator that could rwad proparlly

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Anger

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Horrible Narrator!!

What did you love best about Girl's Guide to Witchcraft?

I think the story would have been cute, but the narrator ruined it!

What was one of the most memorable moments of Girl's Guide to Witchcraft?

Trying to fight past the horrible grasp of the English language of the narrator.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

She paused where she shouldn't have and didn't where she should have. She used improper emphasis on words causing them to make no sense. There might as well have not been any punctuation, because she paid it no attention!

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I love to listen all day as I work and run errands. I have probably taken 5 times longer to finish this book, than it would normally take. I am the kind of reader who really hates to put down a book or quit listening, the only reason I haven't just walked away from it is because the story is good, but Emma makes it so very hard to listen to for any length of time. Keep having to take a break. My 11 year old grand daughter would do better!

Any additional comments?

Redo the series so that Mindy might actually have a chance of getting people to continue the series. I will not get the other books because of Emma's mutilation of English and Grammar.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Cute

Nice little cozy. Had a bedroom scene but nothing too graphic (thank you). Good quirky characters. Fun read. Think I'll try the next one.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Better to read the book

I read the actual book and loved it. The performance ruins the story. Her stops and starts during a sentence is more than teeth grinding. No inflection or emotion. The performer sounds like she’s 13 reading her big sister’s book out loud to a friend. I’m sorry to have wasted the credit. I’ll read the actual book again to truly appreciate a good story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

What is wrong with the narrator?

Who on earth decided that the narrator should pause every three words? I don’t understand how this got through post production.

The story could probably be cute enough but the narration just hosed it. Who earth was the director, the person in charge of making sure that this recording was done professionally?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful