Your audiobook is waiting…

Follow Me Home

Detectives Kane and Alton, Book 3
By: D.K. Hood
Narrated by: Patricia Rodriguez
Length: 9 hrs and 42 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (153 ratings)
Regular price: $19.95
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

"Don’t you agree, Detective? That some people deserve to die? I’ve killed the first. I’ve killed the second. Now will you catch the others, or do I have to kill them, too?"

The body of Amos Price lies in a pool of blood on the polished floor of an otherwise empty house. With no signs of a break in and no clues left at the scene, Detective Jenna Alton is at a loss. But as the team begins to unpick the life of the reclusive victim, they discover a disturbing link between Amos and the disappearance of several young girls in the county going back years.

Days later, another brutally murdered body is found in a remote motel on the outskirts of town. Ely Dorsey was killed in a frenzied attack, and Jenna fears not only that the murders are connected to the missing girls, but that the killer hasn’t finished yet.

As Jenna tries to work out who will be next, the killer suddenly starts sending her deputy, David Kane, messages. Is she being taunted? Or does the murderer want to be caught? And will Jenna discover who’s behind these killings before more people die?

An absolutely nail-biting thriller with plenty of twists, Follow Me Home is perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter, and Rachel Abbott.

©2018 D.K. Hood (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    92
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    79
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    7

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love this book....

I love this series of books.... awesome, suspenseful, a really great read. I love it

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Faced paced on the edge of your seat thriller

D.K. Hood does it again. These books just keep getting better and better. I read this straight through and could not put it down. These books would make an amazing TV series. I can't wait for the next book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Roe
  • New Jersey
  • 03-07-19

Much better than Book 2

From both a narrators point As well as the story itself book 3 was much better than book 2. I had considered not completing the series based on the second book but I’m glad I decided to give book 3 a try. The book was much more suspenseful and action-packed and really had me wanting to listen anytime I had an opportunity. Hoping that the two remaining books in the series will be as good.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Would be much better with a better narrator. It’s a good book but at times the narration takes away from it.

Would be much better with a better narrator. It’s a good book but at times the narration takes away from it.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Please Get a new Performer!!!

The story was great. The words/phrase “bile” and “turkey necked” were a bit overused! The performance was AWFUL to be honest. The reader lacked emotion and her pronunciation and annunciation of many words was cringeworthy! The word is Pedophile NOT PEE-dophile! With the word being used so frequently throughout the book, one would think the correct pronunciation of that word be important.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I really wanted this to be good

Let me start by saying that I really like the story lines for all of the Detectives Kane and Alton books. D.K. Hood is a good writer. I think the main problem is that the narrators are not good. I listened to this book even though I struggled through the narration of the first and second books. This narrator was better than the first two although she mispronounced the word pedophile along with many other words. It was a little annoying, but way better than the first two books so I dealt with it.
As I said, the story line is good and holds your interest; however, I must say that I did get irritated by the lead character, Sheriff Alton, in this book, as well at the other two books. She is supposed to be a strong law enforcement official and some of the things she does in the books are just plain stupid!
Overall, I really did like the book and the characters. I would definitely listen to another one as long as they got a better narrator.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Someone tell this narrator how to pronounce words!

I've never written a review before, but I just had to with this book...here goes...I really didn't think there could be a worse narrator than Book #2 (Irish accent). Boy, was I wrong! My husband and I cringed EVERY time she said the word 'pedophile'. We thought the story was good, though.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Terrible reading for audible

The voices were horrible
Didn't pronounce words correctly
disappointed because the first one was a great listen.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

How far can I roll my eyes?

I am forcing myself to finish this book. I have listened to the first 2 books in this series and remember them as being pretty good. This one however is awful. While listening to this book I have learned to roll my eyes until they are so far back in my head I think they might rotate 360 degrees. The narrator is just awful. I don't know who the editor was on this production, but someone needed to pull out a dictionary to see how to pronounce words, pedophile, in situ, and corral to name a few. I cringe every time I hear these words. I purchased this book because of the 4.6 stars the book was given by other reviewers. After listening to most of it I don't know where the glowing reviews came from. I am going to finish this book because I am not a quitter, but I think this will be the last book in this series that I purchase.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

story good narration horrible

It would be nice to enjoy this book, which was well written, in the audible format. but it was painful as the narrator mispronounced pedofile throughout the entire story. And it was used often. Great story ruined by horrible narration. Fail on Audible and Brilliance Audio.