adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $40.59

Buy for $40.59

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"Isabella Star LaBlanc brings an authentic-sounding narration to this powerful audiobook...Dialogue, including words in other languages, is handled with effortless transitions and clear depictions between characters. This audiobook should not be missed." (AudioFile Magazine, Earphones Award winner)

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK

An Instant Number One New York Times Best Seller

Soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama's production company, Higher Ground. 

“One of this year's most buzzed about young adult novels.” (Good Morning America)

For fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange, Angeline Boulley's debut novel, Firekeeper's Daughter, is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community.

Eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. She dreams of a fresh start at college, but when family tragedy strikes, Daunis puts her future on hold to look after her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team.

Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into an FBI investigation of a lethal new drug.

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, drawing on her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the source. But the search for truth is more complicated than Daunis imagined, exposing secrets and old scars. At the same time, she grows concerned with an investigation that seems more focused on punishing the offenders than protecting the victims.

Now, as the deceptions - and deaths - keep growing, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go for her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.

A 2021 Kids' Indie Next List Selection
An Amazon Best Book of the Month for March Selection
An Entertainment Weekly Most Anticipated Books of 2021 Selection
A PopSugar Best March 2021 YA Book Selection

A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company

"The text is filled with Ojibwe phrases and traditions that Native American reader LaBlanc (Sisseton-Wahpeton Dakota) handles with ease. Her voice is young and earnest and her fluency adds to the portrayal of Daunis...It’s a tale filled with suspense, and LaBlanc’s sensitive reading will keep listeners plugged in." (Booklist, starred review)

"Expert narration from Isabella Star LeBlanc, a Sisseton Wahpeton Dakota, brings authenticity to Daunis’s joy, anger, fear, and grief while providing distinct voices for the supporting cast, including the tribal elders. LeBlanc’s captivating voice draws readers in, expressing every mundane, sweet, heartbreaking, and life-threatening moment." (School Library Journal, starred review)

©2021 Angeline Boulley (P)2021 Macmillan Audio

Featured Article: The Best Vacation Listens for the Dwindling Days of Summer


Warm days and lazy afternoons—there’s nothing like summer vacation. And unwinding on the deck, beside the pool, or on the beach with a good audiobook is simply one of life’s greatest pleasures. As autumn rapidly approaches, we’ve been trying to squeeze in just a little bit more summer before the leaves begin to brown. There’s still plenty of time for enjoying a vacation—and finding the perfect listen to accompany you!

What listeners say about Firekeeper's Daughter

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,795
  • 4 Stars
    335
  • 3 Stars
    78
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    11
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,681
  • 4 Stars
    249
  • 3 Stars
    68
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,607
  • 4 Stars
    293
  • 3 Stars
    85
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Che Meegwetch

Meegwetch for telling our story as real folks instead of as an old story, for giving us a modern presence that doesn't neglect our ancestors. Your words honor all of us. 💙

43 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful groundbreaking and honest

Miigwech @angelineboulley for this beautiful novel, as a non-Indigenous reader, this book felt like a gift and I truly appreciate you sharing your Ojibwe philosophies, traditions and culture.

The Firekeeper’s Daughter is an absolute powerhouse of a debut novel. This book is so much more than a YA thriller/mystery. It is an exploration of a people that have long been depicted in literature and media as forgotten, it highlights the many injustices faced by Indigenous women particularly at a disproportionate rate.

This book does not shy away from issues such as racism, drug abuse, murder and sexual assault, but it also illustrates the beauty in community and the strength of family, heritage and what can happen when we nurture our relationships.

I am honored and grateful for the raw and openness with which the author writes about sacred traditions and ceremonies of the Anishinaabe and strength and resilience of the Anishinaabe Kwa (Ojibwe woman).

Highly recommend listening to the audiobook. This novel has already been optioned for a Netflix series by the Obamas’ Higher Ground production company.

21 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intense

This story is intense. I love the cultural aspect and the characters seemed authentic.
Isabella Star LaBlanc as the narrator is fine. I noticed several issues with the audio as if certain words and sentences were recorded at a different time than the rest. It was a little distracting. Also, her performance got better as the story went on but, the beginning was rough. It seemed like this might be her first audiobook performance and she hadn’t found her recording voice yet.
The story itself kept me hooked. I would recommend this audio book.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible!

This book is so good. There is heavy subject matter, but the author strikes the right balance so it’s not a downer. Instead it’s really powerful, entertaining, educational, meaningful and impactful. I highly recommend!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love this book!

ok so i'm only halfway through it lol! but i had to stop and write how much i love it! this book gives voice to people who are so underrepresented in our mainstream culture. and i can't tell you what a great voice it is!!! you have to experience it for yourself. it's such a treat to spend time with these characters, and hear their stories. i want more!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Family & Murder

I have a mixed opinion about this book. I loved the fact that the author included the Native American dialogue as part of the story. I also enjoyed the relationship between the family members; Daunis with her mom, grandmas, Levi and Lily. There were 2 mysteries, the murders and the drugs. Once the drug issue was solved the murders were forgotten. It’s like there was no need to solve the murders of these young girls. Because of this I gave the story a rating of 3.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Heart filling

Being Indigenous myself, this book has connected with me on so many levels. It’s a great read/listen.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I wept

The strong pull for identity made me weep tears for those that have no one to belong to. The analogies and stories were wonderfully written. All young adult should read this- especially women who need to know their inner strength. A huge thank you to Angeline Boulley for sharing her story and her culture!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Read this book! You will be better for it.



A good book. A true story in so many ways. Living in both worlds is a possible way, done in a healthy way that can benefit our community and our world.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very authentic! Very interesting!!

Loved the story! Loved the narrator! Very authentic! I learned a bit about their culture. A nice mixture of culture, mystery, suspense, plot twists, and love. I highly recommend!

6 people found this helpful