Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

When Drake Ramsey gets an invitation he can't refuse to embark on a treasure hunt in India, little does he know that it will be a headlong rush into danger that will require all his wits to survive.

A breakout novel in the tradition of Raise the Titanic and Raiders of the Lost Ark. Adventure listeners are sure to enjoy the third volume in the adventures of Drake Ramsey, written by a NY Times and USA Today best seller.

©2016 Russell Blake (P)2016 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    155
  • 4 Stars
    99
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    206
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    135
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    47
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Sean
  • CRYSTAL, MN, United States
  • 04-01-17

Can't get over the plagiarism...

I'm a fan of this series, and Ray Porter is one of my favorite narrators. Unfortunately, this time the story was a big departure from the previous books. The story just Doesn't flow well and I couldn't get past the fact that these people seemed to struggle with very basic tasks. There is a scene where they are trying to read sandscrit letters and are actually in an Internet cafe yet they can't seem to figure out how to translate them. 3 grown educated adults have to be told to "Google it" by the waitress. Really???

The real problem is that this book is a poor rewrite of Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom . 3 main characters (a treasure hunter, a beautiful woman and a military man) on the run from police and a cult leader in India. Trying to uncover a hidden relic and treasure only to stumble into a hidden temple and I kid you not an underground mine with generations of slaves and Chali/ Sheba cult worshippers. One character is even named Indiana Singh. I was just waiting for them to pick up an Indian street kid named "short round". I just couldn't get over how much this matched the movie. They say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, but not in this case.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Extremely well written and fun!

I noticed several negative reveiws of this book and therefore was tempted not to get it. However, I so much enjoyed the first two books in the series I thought it was worth a chance. Glad I did! Fascinating story. Certainly not plagiarism...in fact refreshingly original. The references to Indiana Jones are tonque in cheek; and the author makes this clear. This is a book about treasure hunters, but not the old-fashioned kind of treasure hunters. The author is a great writer. The story moved along fast, never boring. The main characters are not your standard action heroes and that even makes it more interesting. I am ready and waiting for the next volume in the series!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • L. Maki
  • Brooklyn, Wisconsin
  • 07-31-17

3rd on series, good

this was just as good as the previous two books and engaging. I recommend you follow up with this as the third book in the series.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great book

this was a very good book but not quite as good as the first 2. as always we love the characters and the bantering between them. and of course the narrator is aweome.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Drake Ramsey and company go after another treasure

This is the third in the Drake Ramsey series and takes place only days after the conclusion of the second novel.

Treasure hunting is a tough business. But this novel is less about treasure hunting and more about avoiding getting arrested in the (mostly) slums of India. The crew is in Delhi India for most of the book and avoiding the authorities because Spenser is suspected of murder. Throw in shady government operatives, lots of sketchy locals, and the usual -what the heck is going on here - attitude by the main characters, and you get an idea of the book.

There is conspicuously less actual treasure hunting and more sneaking around than typical in this series, and personally, I think the story suffers a bit for it.

The book is the third in a trilogy (so far anyway). Not sure if that is meant as an end point or not, but there is ample space for another chapter to the team's story. I personally found this to be the least of the three novels, but still a decent listen. If there is another volume added, I believe I will be getting that to see where things proceed.

A marginal recommendation.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A strong lead out with first book in series

Goddess Legacy. Not so much. The glossing over of details-yes, I enjoy the details- not just we were here now were there and then this happened.
Perhaps Mr Blake was working against a deadline.
The story is good and fast paced, fun characters.
Enjoy!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • waelse1
  • charlotte, nc USA
  • 02-25-18

Fun thriller adventure

Top of my head, Ray Porter is an Audible god, no one is better (see his Marlow in the Chandler series). And this has been a very entertaining action-packed adventure series. Here our intrepid heroes seek treasure in the ugly bowels of India and a lark turns into a dangerous pursuit of long-hidden secrets. Enjoyed it a lot.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Was a great story line, action and characters were entertaining, couldn't stop listening to the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Listened start to finish all three books.

I didn't want to stop. Now that I'm finished, I want more. Blake is a great author. Time to look for more of his writing.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not What Was Expected

Any additional comments?

I was very disappointed in the The Goddess Legacy. Drake just seems to get more needy and whiny as the story when on. Just like his father NOT. Narration was super as in all three books. Ending was no "happy ever after" I would had liked the heroine 'Ally" to ride off with Spencer

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tegan's mum
  • Tegan's mum
  • 02-24-17

Excellent tale with laughs

I thoroughly enjoyed listening to the story and can't wait for the next one. A good narrator too. I would recommend.