• False Positive

  • A Novel
  • By: Andrew Grant
  • Narrated by: Jon Lindstrom
  • Length: 9 hrs and 24 mins
  • 3.9 out of 5 stars (66 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
False Positive  By  cover art

False Positive

By: Andrew Grant
Narrated by: Jon Lindstrom
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.00

Buy for $18.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

For fans of Craig Johnson and James Lee Burke—False Positive follows up the powerful punch of Andrew Grant’s novel Run with a staggering second dose of thrills and suspense that is just as smart, atmospheric, and soul-searing.

Alabama detective Cooper Devereaux makes no apologies for his luxe lifestyle or the way he does his job. Most cops haven’t lived the kind of life he has—starting out as an orphan, raised by a grizzled cop savior—and most don’t use his kind of high-risk tactics. But he may have met his match in fellow detective Jan Loflin, who’s fresh off a long undercover stint in Vice when they’re partnered on a case that will test them both beyond their direst nightmares.

A seven-year-old boy has disappeared from his home in the Birmingham suburbs. But the more Devereaux digs into the missing child’s background, the more he discovers about his own, eventually shaking loose a series of harrowing truths—about bloodlines, mass murder, obsession, and what two damaged detectives have in common with the innocent victim they’re so desperate to save. This twisty page-turner—the debut of the Detective Cooper Devereaux series—hurtles at a mile a minute through an action-packed search for a missing child, culminating in an ending that no listener will see coming.

©2015 Andrew Grant (P)2015 Random House Audio

Critic reviews

“A fast-moving thriller . . . Readers who like defects in their heroes will love this guy, who knows he’s not as good as he’d like to be. The final twist comes just as all finally seems well with the world. A dark, enjoyable novel. One of [Andrew] Grant’s better works.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Smashing.”—Booklist

“Engrossing . . . Action-driven, the book’s pace never stops until the startling conclusion, which will chill to the core.”—RT Book Reviews (Top Pick!)

What listeners say about False Positive

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

it was just okay

this was okay -- it was confusing -- went back and forth to the the Detective's past. the switch was abrupt-- back and forth. If you can suspend belief about the killer and the detective. the ending was well.. I guess he is setting up for more in the series

it was okay -- I listened to it and I do like the author's other books --

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Different from his brother Lee Child

Overall, it starts of slow and it takes longer to develop his characters. The book did surprise me. It’s worth a listen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
    </