adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.89

Buy for $18.89

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A Goodreads Choice Awards Finalist

Named Best Comedy Book by the African American Literary Awards Show 

Fans of Issa Rae and Phoebe Robinson will love this collection of laugh-out-loud funny and insightful essays that explore race, feminism, pop culture, and how society reinforces the message that we are nothing without the perfect body.

By the time Chloé Hilliard was 12, she wore a size 12 - both shoe and dress - and stood over six feet tall. Fitting in was never an option. That didn’t stop her from trying. Cursed with a “slow metabolism”, “baby weight”, and “big bones” - the fat trilogy - Chloe turned to fad diets, starvation, pills, and workouts, all of which failed.

Realizing that everything - from government policies to corporate capitalism - directly impacts our relationship with food and our waistlines, Chloé changed her outlook on herself and hopes others will do the same for themselves.

The perfect mix of cultural commentary, conspiracies, and confessions, F*ck Your Diet pokes fun at the all too familiar, misguided quest for better health, permanent weight loss, and a sense of self-worth.

©2019 Chloé Hilliard (P)2019 Simon & Schuster Audio

More from the same

Narrator

What listeners say about F*ck Your Diet

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I wish I saved my credit.

I started this audible as soon as I purchased it and I just can't make it through. I wish I save my credit.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Funny but awkwardly narrated.

Its part memoir and part rant about the imbalances of race and social inequality in this country. l liked that! Some really funny moments. I loved that even more. Not so favorable was the bulky chunks of history facts. It got too heavy at points. The performance if this book was off. There was odd pronunciation and punctuation of words. For example, "Judy GarLAND" or "Rose Nylon" (instead of Nylund) or "they wanted me TO come". She punched the wrong words. It was hard to listen to that because it stumbled the rhythm. Overall it was entertaining, like a loooong zoom call with your friend from college.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring... just boring

I wanted to like this book. I really did. However, I found it to be very boring. The writer's performance was good but the content was not interesting and there were too many statistics.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Too Much Resentment In This One

I won’t be finishing this book. The author is blaming everybody and everything, including Reagan, for everything wrong with her life. No thanks. I look for uplifting stories, and this is anything but.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Too political

Chloe Hilliard took a book about diets with potential and made it political. No thanks!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Ugh!

This book was highly recommended on a weight loss podcast. I only got through 4 chapters & gave up. If I wanted to hear about political issues, I’d watch the news. Huge waste of money.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

uplifting!

loved the real narration, gave the book life on many women issues/topics. Enjoyed greatly.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is similar to my story of childhood obesity!

I loved this book because it was so relatable. She is an inspirational woman! Loved

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

I appreciated the author's perspectives, insights, humor, and delivery. She invites the reader to see new points of view and ideas in a way that I found really engaging. I love her talent, her openness, and her humanity.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hilarious and Serious

Listened to the book several times. It gets better and more funny each time. Can't wait for the next one.