• F*ck Your Diet

  • And Other Things My Thighs Tell Me
  • By: Chloé Hilliard
  • Narrated by: Chloé Hilliard
  • Length: 9 hrs and 15 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (112 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.89

Buy for $18.89

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A Goodreads Choice Awards Finalist

Named Best Comedy Book by the African American Literary Awards Show 

Fans of Issa Rae and Phoebe Robinson will love this collection of laugh-out-loud funny and insightful essays that explore race, feminism, pop culture, and how society reinforces the message that we are nothing without the perfect body.

By the time Chloé Hilliard was 12, she wore a size 12 - both shoe and dress - and stood over six feet tall. Fitting in was never an option. That didn’t stop her from trying. Cursed with a “slow metabolism”, “baby weight”, and “big bones” - the fat trilogy - Chloe turned to fad diets, starvation, pills, and workouts, all of which failed.

Realizing that everything - from government policies to corporate capitalism - directly impacts our relationship with food and our waistlines, Chloé changed her outlook on herself and hopes others will do the same for themselves.

The perfect mix of cultural commentary, conspiracies, and confessions, F*ck Your Diet pokes fun at the all too familiar, misguided quest for better health, permanent weight loss, and a sense of self-worth.

©2019 Chloé Hilliard (P)2019 Simon & Schuster Audio

More from the same

Narrator

What listeners say about F*ck Your Diet

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    79
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    9
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I wish I saved my credit.

I started this audible as soon as I purchased it and I just can't make it through. I wish I save my credit.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Funny but awkwardly narrated.

Its part memoir and part rant about the imbalances of race and social inequality in this country. l liked that! Some really funny moments. I loved that even more. Not so favorable was the bulky chunks of history facts. It got too heavy at points. The performance if this book was off. There was odd pronunciation and punctuation of words. For example, "Judy GarLAND" or "Rose Nylon" (instead of Nylund) or "they wanted me TO come". She punched the wrong words. It was hard to listen to that because it stumbled the rhythm. Overall it was entertaining, like a loooong zoom call with your friend from college.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great peek inside a black woman's mind!!!

Chloe explores gender inequality, race, body consciousness and sex. She leaves no stone unturned in her laugh out loud autobiography. If readers are looking for a hilarious read that will not only entertain but also educate, then look no further...she absolutely delivers!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring... just boring

I wanted to like this book. I really did. However, I found it to be very boring. The writer's performance was good but the content was not interesting and there were too many statistics.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Funny and informative

Read was easy and light. following C.H. through her life was interesting and an eye opener. I learned quite a bit while I giggled. definitely recommended to my friends.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This book was better than I expected

I honestly went into this thinking this book would tell me how to kick my weight without kicking good food to the curb but it gave me so much more insight into life not only as a fellow emotional eater but as a black woman in America. Highly recommend!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Informative and Funny As Hell!

I really appreciate the author being open and honest about her struggles with obesity and food, and how those struggles affected her relationships with friends, family, and the opposite sex. I may not agree with everything she recommended in her book, but there are some things I plan to incorporate in my life like getting a full-length mirror to look and appreciate the whole me. Thank you for your candor, charisma, and enthusiasm!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Wish I hadn’t spent a credit on this book

This book came very highly recommended. All I heard was a very angry and quite racist voice of someone who has/had nothing good to say about anyone. Keep your politics to yourself! This book was supposed to be about dieting!! One star is one star too many.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Waste of a credit

I listen to books for enjoyment I get no enjoyment out of your political and racial beliefs. Title returned after getting shortly into the second chapter. Don’t waste your credit

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Entertaining and insightful

I loved that Chloe narrated the book, she did an excellent job. I hope she writes more books about her journey.