Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From Amazon best-selling author Jenifer Ruff - a dark suspense thriller featuring a fascinating, twisted protagonist. Everett will make you wonder just how well you know your friends, neighbors, and classmates. Fans of James Patterson, Karin Slaughter, Hannibal Lecter, Dexter, and Gone Girl will be hooked. 

At Everett College, perfection has a dark side....

Beautiful and brilliant Brooke, a transfer student with a mysterious past, aims to graduate first in her class at Everett and attend medical school. Her classmates and professors are captivated by her achievements and appearance. Only Jessica, a wealthy socialite fueled by prescription pills and a huge case of snobbery, senses there's something not quite right about the perfect student. What happens during a historic blizzard will settle their differences once and for all.

©2014 Jenifer Ruff (P)2018 Jenifer Ruff

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Could be considered a Young Adult (YA) novel

This book was ok and held my interest, it is like a very mild, censored version of American Psycho but with a female college student. The summary makes it seem more intense and thrilling than it is. The main character really isn't that dark or with a disturbing past, to me, the summary implied her to be uncontrollable, doing anything necessary to get what she wants. However, she is more of a troubled girl with determination and unusual interests that will do what it takes to succeed in school. Not saying she is normal or typical, she certainly exhibits characteristics of a person with "sociopathy", but in a very tame way. But the more I think about it, she could be someone on the spectrum with learning or behavioral issues, rather than someone who is really disturbed. She comes from a loving family with supportive parents and cares deeply for her younger siblings so that alone is hard to detach from a supposed sociopathic person. She does do a few violent things – I think only 2-3 instances, but as I said, all quite mild compared to what I was expecting, almost a little "bubblegum" and they weren't even explicitly described, some were just implied. I was not impressed overall and it was extremely anti-climactic –– however, I was entertained and I will likely listen to the sequel just to see if there is more character development. I would not recommend it but this is good for those who like darkly themed books that are rather censored and not explicit.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Jessica's Dark Passenger

I don’t read a lot of suspense stories because I have to take a lot of breaks to calm my nerves. I did like Dexter, Hannibal, Gone Girl, and American Psycho is one of my favorite books. I got through this whole book in two sittings and would have done it in one if I had the time. I simply really enjoyed the story and the narration. For hardcore thriller fans this may seem tame as it takes a while before Jessica’s dark side really shows and when it does it is quite subdued compared to some of the popular thrillers.

What starts off as a young adult story turns dark and quite tense. The suspense in this story just keeps building and building. By the time I got to the end I was so anxious that I couldn’t move any further to the edge of the seat without falling off. I listen to mainly horror stories and so nothing here was too much for me, but I couldn’t relax until I knew how everything was going to turn out. It wasn’t tense so much because of what was happening, more so because of what could happen. The fear of getting caught is deeply ingrained in me so that was a huge stressor for me.

The character development was by far my favorite aspect of the story. Much like how Brooke teaches her exercise classes, the author lays everything out and does a great job building up each of the characters. Jessica’s increasing agitation and downward emotional spiral coupled with her escalating belittling of everyone around her was fantastic. She was by far my favorite character because I hated her so much. The author’s writing of her character was quite impressive as I rarely have such a strong emotional response to a character. While I didn’t sympathize with Brooke, I completely understood why she was doing what she was doing. I saw her as an anti-hero who will can quickly become the villain and that is a question I look forward to being answered. I really liked her inner thinking on trying to act as she thought she was expected to act while struggling with her compulsions forcing her to be the opposite of that. It was this writing style that made this so tense for me as I felt more like a character in the story versus an outside onlooker to it all.

The setting of a college really added to the YA novel feel, although I think that was a good setting for the first story in the series. It provided a great backdrop to see the characters mature and their true personalities emerge. I hope as Brooke moves on in life that we see her dark side really take over and the thrill really become intense. I am happy that this is a series and look forward to more of the story, there is just so much that is untold that I thinks needs to be.

Stephanie Dillard did an amazing job. She voiced all of the characters perfectly, but really nailed Jessica. Her snobby and snooty voice really was spot on for what I expected and added to my dislike for the character. I really hope she keeps up with the series.

I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Dee
  • LA
  • 12-04-18

Dark, for sure!

I forgot that I was listening to a dark psychological suspense. It started off as a rather innocuous listen about a beautiful but awkward girl attending college as a pre-med major. I was well into the listen before the first...incident. Even then the author didn't connect the dots; I had to do that myself. That's when the lights came on and I checked the book title and sure enough, bad people!!!

I was rather taken aback by that but only for a minute. Then I dived back in!

The narrator was pretty special. There were several POV's throughout this listen - some energetic, some frenetic, some somber, some sane. She handled them all.

The ending sets up nicely for book two. I can't help but feel sorry for Ethan though. He has no idea.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unique Character

Ruff has created a fascinating and unique character. There's a lot of mundane action from ancillary characters, but it all comes together by the end. Most will likely dive right into the next two books in this series. I was provided a free audio version of this book for agreeing to consider an honest review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

disturbingly dark :O

this was a dark very fast paced and suspenseful listen loved it and how it never let up can't wait for next one!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very unusual

Brooke is an atypical, somewhat unique character. Stephanie Dillard does a very good job of voicing her and all of the characters in this unusual psychological thriller. Although the story is open-ended, it ends with a satisfying conclusion. This could prove to be a very interesting series.

NOTE: I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

very disappointed

Highly disappointed

Ok, I was looking really forward to hearing A Dark Psychological Suspense Novel.
I love those kind of books! This is NOTHING of the sort.The first 9 chapters where about a girl who studies hard, and works out all the time.. I mean that is it! There is a glimpse of a guy in-between there, but nothing serious.
I stayed with this book till chapter 15 and stopped listening to it.. NOTHING happened.. I mean NOTHING.
I think the Bio of the book is really wrong. You have been warned.

They only reason I made it to chapter 15 is because narration was very good!


I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful