• Everett: A Dark Psychological Suspense Novel (Brooke Walton Series Book 1)

  • By: Jenifer Ruff
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Dillard
  • Length: 7 hrs and 45 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (58 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Everett: A Dark Psychological Suspense Novel (Brooke Walton Series Book 1)  By  cover art

Everett: A Dark Psychological Suspense Novel (Brooke Walton Series Book 1)

By: Jenifer Ruff
Narrated by: Stephanie Dillard
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

From Amazon best-selling author Jenifer Ruff - a dark suspense thriller featuring a fascinating, twisted protagonist. Everett will make you wonder just how well you know your friends, neighbors, and classmates. Fans of James Patterson, Karin Slaughter, Hannibal Lecter, Dexter, and Gone Girl will be hooked.

At Everett College, perfection has a dark side....

Beautiful and brilliant Brooke, a transfer student with a mysterious past, aims to graduate first in her class at Everett and attend medical school. Her classmates and professors are captivated by her achievements and appearance. Only Jessica, a wealthy socialite fueled by prescription pills and a huge case of snobbery, senses there's something not quite right about the perfect student. What happens during a historic blizzard will settle their differences once and for all.

©2014 Jenifer Ruff (P)2018 Jenifer Ruff

What listeners say about Everett: A Dark Psychological Suspense Novel (Brooke Walton Series Book 1)

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Could be considered a Young Adult (YA) novel

This book was ok and held my interest, it is like a very mild, censored version of American Psycho but with a female college student. The summary makes it seem more intense and thrilling than it is. The main character really isn't that dark or with a disturbing past, to me, the summary implied her to be uncontrollable, doing anything necessary to get what she wants. However, she is more of a troubled girl with determination and unusual interests that will do what it takes to succeed in school. Not saying she is normal or typical, she certainly exhibits characteristics of a person with "sociopathy", but in a very tame way. But the more I think about it, she could be someone on the spectrum with learning or behavioral issues, rather than someone who is really disturbed. She comes from a loving family with supportive parents and cares deeply for her younger siblings so that alone is hard to detach from a supposed sociopathic person. She does do a few violent things – I think only 2-3 instances, but as I said, all quite mild compared to what I was expecting, almost a little "bubblegum" and they weren't even explicitly described, some were just implied. I was not impressed overall and it was extremely anti-climactic –– however, I was entertained and I will likely listen to the sequel just to see if there is more character development. I would not recommend it but this is good for those who like darkly themed books that are rather censored and not explicit.