Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $38.50

Buy for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

What does it mean to earn the silver oakleaf? So few men have done so. For Will, a mere boy, that symbol of honor has long felt out of reach. Now, in the wake of Araluen's uneasy truce with the raiding Skandians comes word that the Skandian leader has been captured by a dangerous desert tribe. The Rangers are sent to free him. 

But the desert is like nothing these warriors have seen before. Strangers in a strange land, they are brutalized by sandstorms, beaten by the unrelenting heat, tricked by one tribe that plays by its own rules, and surprisingly befriended by another. Like a desert mirage, nothing is as it seems. Yet one thing is constant: the bravery of the Rangers.

In this red-hot adventure, winner of the Australian Book of the Year Award for Older Children, John Flanagan raises the stakes on the series that has already sold millions of books worldwide.

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2007 John Flanagan (P)2019 Listening Library

What listeners say about Erak's Ransom

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    475
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    429
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    417
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful book One of my favorite books I have ever listened to

In epic book There was nothing bad about it Make sure you listen to the books in order this is book 7

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cool stuff

Read beautifully I really enjoyed the story and the plot overall It was great and it left me on the edge of my seat

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Amaziiing! I think it's one of my favorites so far

Loved it! Easy to listen to, didn't want to stop listening to it! Great!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

must read

I love how Flanagan brings to life a world full of adventure with likeable characters. I've been listening to these back 2 back and will continue to do so. I'd like to add that Keatin is a top knotch voice actor. honestly he keeps me enthralled in the story. sad that book 6 chronological is a different narrater, but still looking to start that immediately.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Slow start, great finish

I was a bit annoyed at 1st that this book didn't seem to be keeping up with the previous books. However, once everything got going it was absolutely one of the best. Please note! This book is not in order! The previous book should actually come after this 1!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Whimsical

I loved these hooks growing up, and with how bush my job is I don’t get enough time to actually sit down and read. But so far, John Keating has done a phenomenal job every single book! (With the exception of one he didn’t do) and in my opinion his voices and accents are always 100% spot on from my view of them. I always look forward to listening to more!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Another good read!

i really enjoyed this book, as much the previous books in this series. i only wish authors would lean so heavily on cliches. Of course, this could only be qn issue for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Grand Slam in the Series

Once again, John Flanagan did not disappoint. This was another great book in the Ranger's Apprentice series. Action, Adventure, suspense and Drama all wrapped up in one book. The character development is above and beyond. I share in their triumphs and losses. What a ride this book was.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

New setting and still excellent fun.

So much fun. I haven’t enjoyed a series this much since Harry Potter. This entry places our favorite hero’s in a brand new setting with new trials and dangerous challenges. All the fun and charm you’d expect from Flanagan is ever present. New and intriguing enemies and allies keep you guessing. The funny one liners and friendly jabs amongst hero’s are as good as ever and their relationships really shine.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

This is an amazing continuation to my favourite book series. I cant wait to continue listening to the next entries that follow.