adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $38.50

Buy for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

What does it mean to earn the silver oakleaf? So few men have done so. For Will, a mere boy, that symbol of honor has long felt out of reach. Now, in the wake of Araluen's uneasy truce with the raiding Skandians comes word that the Skandian leader has been captured by a dangerous desert tribe. The Rangers are sent to free him. 

But the desert is like nothing these warriors have seen before. Strangers in a strange land, they are brutalized by sandstorms, beaten by the unrelenting heat, tricked by one tribe that plays by its own rules, and surprisingly befriended by another. Like a desert mirage, nothing is as it seems. Yet one thing is constant: the bravery of the Rangers.

In this red-hot adventure, winner of the Australian Book of the Year Award for Older Children, John Flanagan raises the stakes on the series that has already sold millions of books worldwide.

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2007 John Flanagan (P)2019 Listening Library

What listeners say about Erak's Ransom

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    915
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    803
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    792
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

well done

ive been listening to the books in the published order. the 2 before this story take place after this one chronologically. still felt every bit of the suspense, and kept reminding myself i know what happens after this

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful book One of my favorite books I have ever listened to

In epic book
There was nothing bad about it
Make sure you listen to the books in order this is book 7

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing book!

This is one of the best written books I’ve ever read.
I do recommend this series to be read in order,
But the story of the rangers is incredible.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Erak’s Ransom

I really liked this book as well as all of the Ranger Apprentice books. The characters are very likable and the story line is very good. I start a book of John Flanagan and find it very hard to stop.
McNeil Johnson

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pardon my repetition, but great series

In some series, when venturing into arid cultures, the stereotyping gets a little uncomfortable. Flanagan melds positives and negatives in such an even-handed way, much like he did with the Viking stand-ins. We do get a re-enforcement of Will's homeland as the pacific center, surrounded by problematic but redeemable kingdoms. Fiends are found and justice is served. Bit by bit in the series, female sidekicks getting more chances to show their mettle, but I would wish for more. In paralle with this, Will and Horace are still late-bloomers in their awareness of the ladies.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cool stuff

Read beautifully I really enjoyed the story and the plot overall It was great and it left me on the edge of my seat

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Amaziiing! I think it's one of my favorites so far

Loved it! Easy to listen to, didn't want to stop listening to it! Great!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

must read

I love how Flanagan brings to life a world full of adventure with likeable characters. I've been listening to these back 2 back and will continue to do so. I'd like to add that Keatin is a top knotch voice actor. honestly he keeps me enthralled in the story. sad that book 6 chronological is a different narrater, but still looking to start that immediately.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Slow start, great finish

I was a bit annoyed at 1st that this book didn't seem to be keeping up with the previous books. However, once everything got going it was absolutely one of the best. Please note! This book is not in order! The previous book should actually come after this 1!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Whimsical

I loved these hooks growing up, and with how bush my job is I don’t get enough time to actually sit down and read. But so far, John Keating has done a phenomenal job every single book! (With the exception of one he didn’t do) and in my opinion his voices and accents are always 100% spot on from my view of them. I always look forward to listening to more!