Duel at Araluen

Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger
Narrated by: John Keating
Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
4.8 out of 5 stars (698 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $35.00

Buy for $35.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

International best-selling author John Flanagan returns to world of Ranger's Apprentice in this new installment of the Royal Ranger series starring Maddie, Will Treaty's fearless young apprentice.

King Duncan and Princess Cassandra are trapped in the south tower of Castle Araluen and under near-constant attack from the Red Fox Clan. Sir Horace and Ranger Commandant Gilan are holed up in an old hill fort, surrounded by the enemy. And Ranger's apprentice Maddie is the only one who can save them all. 

With the help of Hal, Thorn, and the rest of the Heron brotherband, Maddie will have to break her father and his men out of the hill fort, but will they reach Castle Araluen in time? 

International best-selling author of the Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband series, John Flanagan returns in the captivating next installment of the Royal Ranger series: The Royal Ranger: Duel at Araluen. Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien, Brian Jacques's Redwall, and George R.R. Martin's Game of Thrones!

©2019 John Flanagan (P)2019 Listening Library

What listeners say about Duel at Araluen

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    603
  • 4 Stars
    79
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    574
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    540
  • 4 Stars
    74
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good, but not as great as previous ones

Another good Ranger's Apprentice story and was quite enjoyable. I'm not giving it a five because of a few small things: it was missing a bit of fun of the previous stories (following two groups being constantly sieged is a bit draining), it wasn't stand alone or a new adventure (part 2 which continued a cliff hanger), there was no Will or Halt, and had a limited scope of locales (really, just the castle and the hill fort). However, the inclusion of the Brotherband characters was a plus and Maddy continues to be a great character.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

ANAZING

As always, John Flanagan does not disappoint. His writing of men and women is so important for young readers to be enjoying. Strong females who are not made better by the men, but alongside them. And vice covers a. This series is just as enjoyable if not more than anything else he’s written. Maddie and Horaces relationship is enough to bring tears to my eyes. Love love love love.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just Wow!

I have read all of John flanagan’s books/series from rangers apprentice, brotherband, and now royal ranger. Arguably this is my favorite book out of all of them and that is saying something all of his books are my all time favorites! I love how all three series overlap and your favorite characters from each have a part in this one book. I especially love Maddie’s and Cassandra’s role in this book. Talk about some kick ass ladies, some goals right there!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

decent book

I love this series but this one and the previous ones have just been lacking in good intriguing story. It was a good book but I think it could've had a better enemy as well.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

another wonder

can't wait for more Flanagan writing at its best and keatings telling always fun

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Vintage John Flanagan

I am a huge fan of John Flanagan, however I think his last few books have not been up to scratch. However the Royal Ranger series to me represents a return to form. Great book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing!

one of the best series ever and this is a great entry to that series!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Read

Once again Flanagan has come through with a great adventurous tale. I have enjoyed his books since I was a boy and still do today .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

overall a great book

Like many of John Flanagan's books, it was really easy to just get captured by the story. The only thing that took away from that was Maddie's horse. The way he was written into the book, it seemed like the horse was actually talking to her. I could understand if it was written in such a way that it was clear Maddie was more or less imagining the extreme level of conversation she had with her horse, but it seemed like Bumper actually had a high level of thought which took a little bit away from the story each time conversations with Bumper came around. Either way I still really enjoyed the book and still would suggest it to others who love the Rangers Apprentice series!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another success!

This book did not disappoint! Loved the storyline, the characters have such depth! So glad we merged the two series!! Thank you for sharing your talents!!