Regular price: $28.51

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From the author of the New York Times bestselling The Testing trilogy comes a sweeping new fantasy series, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas.

Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With their older brother next in line to inherit the throne, the future of the kingdom was secure.

But appearances—and rivals—can be deceiving. When Eden’s king and crown prince are killed by assassins, Eden desperately needs a monarch, but the line of succession is no longer clear. With a ruling council scheming to gain power, Carys and Andreus are faced with only one option—to take part in a Trial of Succession that will determine which one of them is worthy of ruling the kingdom.

As sister and brother, Carys and Andreus have always kept each other safe—from their secrets, from the court, and from the monsters lurking in the mountains beyond the kingdom’s wall. But the Trial of Succession will test the bonds of trust and family.

With their country and their hearts divided, Carys and Andreus will discover exactly what each will do to win the crown. How long before suspicion takes hold and the thirst for power leads to the ultimate betrayal?

©2017 Joelle Charbonneau (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    81
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent! Loved it.

I was so enthralled by this story. The characters were well developed. Tale reminds me somewhat of Cain and Abel. Awesome performance as usual from Lauren Fortgang. What a riveting tale. Can't wait for the next book!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MM
  • 08-06-18

Story leaves you wanting more

Such an great story, that has your unsure which side to pick. Just like warm apple cider it leaves you wanting more.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Drawn out

Very weak female character who never evolved until the last few chapters and then it ended. It gets to be tedious reading/listening when one side it always winning.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing book in all aspects!

Great writing, amazing characters, phenomenal narration, and a captivating story! Everything a novel should be! #TeamCarys

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Entertaining and Fun!

Enjoyed the story and oitamding performance of narrator. Will be looking for more by author and narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good surprise.

I wasn't really sure when I started listening to this book that I would like it. However once I got the characters in mind I couldn't stop listening character development was told in such a way that you could even understand the villains point of view even as you wanted to slap him into reality. Can't wait for the next book!!!