adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

DI Kelly Porter is back. But will her latest case push her beyond her limits?

On a peaceful summer morning in the Lake District, a dog walker discovers a woman’s body outside the local church. She has been brutally murdered, mutilated, and left with nothing but a roll of banknotes.

Kelly takes charge of the investigation team, determined to catch the killer. But as the death toll rises, it becomes clear this could only be the work of a dangerous mastermind unlike anything she has encountered before.

Can she put the pieces of the puzzle together before terror strikes even closer to home? 

Don’t miss this electrifying crime thriller, perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves and Patricia Gibney.

©2018 Rachel Lynch (P)2019 Rachel Lynch

More from the same

What listeners say about Deep Fear: An unputdownable crime thriller

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    142
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    151
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    127
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story but...

It sounded as though the narrator had not done a read through before the taping. It was distracting enough that I’ll be reading a hard copy rather than downloading the next installment.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Page turner

Enjoyed the narration and the storyline was faced paced and kept the reader enticed. Kelly Porter series is fast becoming a new DI blockbuster.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another good story

I’m enjoying this series. I have two questions though. How is Nike pronounced? At one point the narrator pronounced it to rhyme with bike. Later on, she pronounced it with two syllables.

I read a lot of British police procedurals. In all of them, police officers “show their warrant card.” In these books, they show their badge. Confusing.

I’m enjoying the characters and I look forward to more in this series.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

boring boring and too much going on

it is so slow, there seems to be nothing to help a listener "concentrate". I felt like as soon as she stopped talking about a person, I'd already forgotten who it was and we're on to the next forgettable character. it was just difficult to get into or follow. I didn't go past 32 chapters.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loving this series

Loved the story and narrator. lots if twists. Interesting characters. Just bought the next book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Decent detective story

Could use with a little bit of an edit to tidy up some parts here and there, but the story is gripping and the characters are fairly interesting

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

Even better than Book One! Very well written and performed. I'm an avid crime/mystery reader/listener, and am picky. However, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and am on to the next one in the series! Rachel Lynch, keep up the great work, and please keep Clare Kissane as your narrator. She is excellent, and perfect for narrating your books. Great entertainment!
Scotty
Audible addict.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann Bridlington
  • Ann Bridlington
  • 04-22-20

Brilliant

Loved it.... Couldn't stop listening... Already purchased next in series. Highly recommend this author.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Oops 66
  • Oops 66
  • 11-21-19

This 2nd book by Rachel Lynch has been brilliant

I read the first book, and it was good to get all the background knowledge for this series. This second book is by far better than first book, couldn’t put it down. I am looking forward to 3rd book now.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for GrandGennetay
  • GrandGennetay
  • 09-24-20

Story ok but lousy reader

The story was OK but the reader is dreadful. sentences paused in the middle, often leading to confusion about who is speaking. I won't listen to more in the series because of the performance.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. Avril C. Pucci
  • Mrs. Avril C. Pucci
  • 05-12-20

Badly written with little point to the story

I was constantly irritated by the poor grammar & the pointless waffle which distracted from the long winded unbelievable story. I won’t be looking for the next in the series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CherryPie62
  • CherryPie62
  • 04-20-20

Not-unputdownable

This was a pedestrian police/murder mystery. Grammar and syntax was appalling and some of the pronunciations of not particularly unusual words were laughable.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ray
  • Ray
  • 08-14-20

Not amazing but not bad

A bit blah really. Not bad and I like the main character but it just felt a bit unremarkable. I want something with a slightly more complex yet believable element of riddle... I keep thinking Rachel will give it to me, but becoming less certain.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for annie21
  • annie21
  • 03-29-20

excellent lots of twists

really enjoyed this looking forward to the next nice twist as the end brilliant book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 03-22-20

Phew! Definitelyinitely unputdowbable

Another exciting murder case for DI Kelly Porter. I feel almost part of it, as living in Cumbria all the places, although with changed names, are familiar to me.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marion G.
  • Marion G.
  • 04-01-21

Oh dear

Sorry to say, I just lost patience with this novel and absolutely hated the narration. So much depends upon the reader when listening via head phones and neither the story nor the tedious voice caught my attention. A good start but such a slow pace - so much so that I only made it to chapter 6 and gave up. I have an extensive library so really not prepared to waste time when something better could be awaiting my undivided attention.Am certain that many members disagree with me if the previews are anything to go by but I can only voice my opinion and leave the rest to you.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for zona
  • zona
  • 02-02-21

Great 2nd book

Great 2nd book in Kelly porter series. looking forward to starting the next one. would recommend

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-21-21

GREAT READ

Kept my interest all the way through. Look forward to reading more Rachel Lynch books in this series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-18-20

hard to put down!

I loved this book. I started listening to Rachel Lynch via Audible recommendation and I haven't been disappointed. believable characters and great storey line. I had everyone pegged as the murderer at one stage, except the murderer...lol

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jodie Smith
  • Jodie Smith
  • 06-24-20

Brilliant!! Onto the next!

Love this series! Like how the author concentrates on the crimes being committed not just the detectives! Onto book 3

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mozinoz
  • mozinoz
  • 01-27-20

Really enjoyed it

The occasional grammatical error and incorrect use of words (eg benefactor when the author meant beneficiary) was a bit annoying! Apart from that, excellent story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gayle Mason
  • Gayle Mason
  • 11-04-19

A new author for me but LOVED IT!!

This story was great. Well written and pacey!! I had no idea “who dunit” until near to the end when the reader was meant to find out!!

As I read this genre a lot I’m used to guessing who’s guilty.

Treat yourself and enjoy the Lake District in the UK too!!