adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.18

Buy for $14.18

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Gritty, complex and effortlessly chilling, Brolly’s Dead Eyed is a grisly crime thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. 

DCI Michael Lambert thought he’d closed his last case....

Yet when he’s passed a file detailing a particularly gruesome murder, Michael knows that this is no ordinary killer at work. 

The removal of the victim’s eyes and the Latin inscription carved into the chest is the chilling calling card of the ‘soul jacker’: a cold-blooded murderer who struck close to Michael once before, 25 years ago. 

Now the long-buried case is being reopened, and Michael is determined to use his inside knowledge to finally bring the killer to justice. But as the body count rises, Michael realises that his own links to the victims could mean that he is next on the killer’s list....

The gripping first novel in a thrilling new crime series by Matt Brolly. Perfect for fans of Tony Parsons, Lee Child and Angela Marsons.

©2019 Matt Brolly (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about Dead Eyed

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great British murder detective mystery! I want more!

I hope this will continue as a series and look forward to more DCI Michael Lambert audiobooks. Both brilliant narration and superb writing makes for an exceptional and exciting listen. Twists and turns throughout. Never a dull moment! I lucked out with this one for the phenomenal deal of $7+. Very highly recommended.
👏🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟👏

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly Enjoyable Thriller!

Narrator David Monteath delivers impeccably with Matt Brolly's "Dead Eyes", a masterful crime-drama; thriller about a ruthless serial killer that takes the eyes of his victims; while they are alive. Interesting, intelligent, provocative; a ⁹ horrifically entertaining tale twisting and turning to the very end! The who in who done it is a real mind bender!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed this one

Dead Eyes has a good story with interesting and and developed characters. I will listen to the next in the series. David Monteath is, as always, an excellent narrator.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Had potential.

This story and the characters had a lot more potential. The story felt long and tedious. While I would like to know more about the main character, not enough to continue with the series. I was set to try his other books on Audible, but decided against it after listening to this one.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for shaun m arstall
  • shaun m arstall
  • 06-01-20

brilliant

an absolutely brilliant story, very clever twists and super narration. highly recommended. well done guys

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jules Blunt
  • Jules Blunt
  • 01-09-21

Could be a 5 but I found it tricky to get into

Really enjoyed this though I’d worked out who was doing it quite early on. Likeable characters wonderfully narrated - smiled at the Bristol accent but all quite credible.

Well worth both pursuing with and the credit to buy it. Am moving straight on to book 2!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mairead Perry
  • Mairead Perry
  • 03-29-20

Excellent

Best I’ve heard in ages. Story and narration looking forward to more of Matt Brolly books 👍

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Clair
  • Clair
  • 05-25-21

Great

Great 1st book I really enjoyed listening to this the narrators voice was really good to listen to characters are really good did not expect the end I will be download in the next one

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Penny Cutter
  • Penny Cutter
  • 01-15-21

Doesn’t go anywhere

Uninteresting gruesome serial killer story with implausible relationships between characters. The usual maverick semi-ex policeman with tragic history. And a police force seemingly populated entirely by DCIs so they have to do all the legwork themselves.

I only managed to get through this because of David Monteath’s excellent narration and the fact that I was decorating while it was playing, Even so I had to keep rewinding because I’d tuned out. Returned

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dolly
  • Dolly
  • 12-08-20

Mixed

Lambert seems to be a cross between a US style kickass cop and an English detective suffering from PTSD. However in spite of his disability he discovers all the main leads on the case and solves it single handed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joanne James
  • Joanne James
  • 10-01-20

Unmissable

loved this book. I took a country-length drive with this book as my companion. I did not want to stop driving!