adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Family secrets are hiding a legacy of lies. Can DI Kelly Porter get to the truth before innocent lives are left?

When the seventh Earl of Lowesdale is found hanging from the rafters at Wasdale Hall, everyone assumes the aging aristocrat finally had enough of chasing the glory of his youth. But when the coroner finds signs of foul play, DI Kelly Porter is swept into a world where secrets and lies dominate.

Meanwhile, two young hikers go missing and it’s up to Kelly to lead the search. But digging deeper reveals ties to other unsolved disappearances and Kelly and her team are in a race against time.

Soon, both investigations, and Kelly’s own family secrets, lead to Wasdale Hal,l it becomes more important than ever for Kelly to discover the devious truths hidden behind the walls of the Lake District’s most exclusive estate...

Don't miss this gripping crime thriller featuring an unforgettable detective. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons and Patricia Gibney.

©2018 Rachel Lynch (P)2019 Rachel Lynch

What listeners say about Dead End

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    123
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    99
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I prefer mysteries .....

to politics and this story just was not on...more like a platform with a vague attempt at couching a mystery into it...quite disappointing. The performance was grand despite the story or lack thereof.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Show don’t tell

It’s such a shame that the author keeps doing all the thinking for the reader by constantly explaining what’s going on. We get it, we don’t need constant reminders by the characters. Just tell the story. It’s such a shame because the story is decent and the characters aren’t too bad. A little two dimensional but interesting enough

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another good one

I am committed to this series. I love the setting and atmosphere. The writer does a fantastic job of painting images while the narrator does an excellent job of placing the reader in the story. We have been listening to Kelly's adventures since the first book and cannot wait to start the next one!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 04-11-20

Great read....kept me going through lambing!

thoroughly enjoyed this book. Love hearing names if placed I know and can imagine clearly.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Oops 66
  • Oops 66
  • 11-24-19

Brilliant

Another really good book. I listen on audible I would like to say the Narrator is very good too. I shall be buying number four very soon. I do enjoy female detective series and these are brilliant!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for terry coates
  • terry coates
  • 03-24-21

Story with a twist

Good story in a localised setting. Looking forward to the next book in this series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie
  • Julie
  • 12-24-20

I loved this book.

I was engrossed0 from the very beginning, Really good story written extremely well. Love the
narration also, read with feeling. Onto the next book...

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Liz
  • Liz
  • 12-17-20

Slower paced

Not.my favourite of the series but still a jolly good listen.
Will continue with the series

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah McCaffrey
  • Sarah McCaffrey
  • 10-24-20

Good

I am glad I persevered with these books, I love the main character even though she so has some unlikable traits. Less graphic than the first which I prefer. Overall I like the performance, although sometimes a little flat. I will continue to listen to more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KatieL
  • KatieL
  • 10-18-20

Brilliant as usual

Love it when you find a writer and series with several books already published. I've finished 3 books in the last 2 weeks and loved them all.
I love that Kelly Porter is good at her job, healthy and has a happy love life. Usually, a female lead needs to have some emotional issues and an addiction of some sort to seem real. Kelly Porter has family issues, but seems to deal with these through positive ways such as running, hiking or counselling from Johnny rather than binge drinking and pain killers. Hope this continues as it's a breath of fresh air.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-08-20

Long story


The voice was at times not very clear articulate ,so not very comfortable as a listen.
Good plot.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann Bridlington
  • Ann Bridlington
  • 04-25-20

Another brilliant story

Loved it. Couldn't stop listening. The narrator is excellent. Looking forward to the next one.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-10-20

slow burner

easy to listen to. like the characters and kelly porter. looking for ward to the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandra
  • Sandra
  • 04-23-20

Great

This is a great series so far. Don’t let the first book put you off, I’m glad I didn’t, even though I couldn’t finish it, I tried again with book two and I’m enjoying the involved plots as this writer improves her craft. Well read, pleasant narration.