Your audiobook is waiting…

Czechmate: A Gripping Crime Thriller

Jack Palms Crime, Book 3
Narrated by: Seth Harwood
Series: Jack Palms Crime, Book 3
Length: 6 hrs and 17 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Jack Palms tackles the dark underbelly of SF crime!

Once hired by the SFPD to investigate the mysterious murder of a crooked cop, Jack Palms now finds himself in the path of Alexi Akakievich, a cruel drug lord with a ring of sex slaves tapped directly into the city’s political elite.

What’s unclear is whether Akakievich wants the power they can give him or if he just wants to tear the city down. Whether Jack likes it or not, he finds himself in the way. Luckily, in Czechmate, we see the return of Vlade, Niki, and Al to stand by his side.

From international best-selling author and creative writing professor at Harvard and Stanford comes the third installment of the Jack Palms series. Fans of Law and Order, CSI, House of Cards, and Miami Vice will love this gripping mystery crime thriller!

This audiobook includes graphic violence and sexual themes and is packed with action. Not for the young or faint of heart.

Note: All audiobooks can be listened to as stand-alone. Grab your copy of Czechmate today.

©2018 Seth Harwood (P)2019 Seth Harwood

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I am Jack's Total Sobriety Failure

I didn’t get a chance to listen to book 1 but did listen to book 2. Book 2 seemed to work standalone quite well but as the world of Jack Palms continues to develop, I feel that you need to listen in order or you will not fully understand everything going on. Book 3 picks up a few days after where book 2 ended and there is a lot of referencing back to the previous book. All in all I would say this was a good continuation of book 2 and pinpoints on to some specific topics from that story arc and delves further into them.

The plot was a lot more simpler than the previous and didn’t span nearly as much time. It flowed quite nicely and while I felt that this was a simple plot I still felt like there was a lot to the story. I was happy to see what I felt was some resolution to some open items from book 2 and even a resurrection that I wasn’t expecting at all. The way everything played out gave me the same felling I get on a lazy Sunday on the couch watching a marathon of my favorite 80/90’s buddy cop series.

Between this book and the previous, I would say I preferred the previous a bit more. This is a consistent continuation and so it was just purely the plot of the previous that spoke to me more. I liked the action in this one and liked how Jack was not as invincible as he seemed in the last one. I just felt that this one seemed a bit more familiar and wanted a little something more out of the box.

I really enjoyed how there wasn’t a lot of new characters added and that it felt like a smooth transition from the previous story. It was great to see the continual development of the character relationships. Glad we get an answer as to where Jack and Gannon stand. I look forward to seeing what comes next for Jack and the rest of the crew.

The narration perfectly matches the characters and the story itself. There are a couple different people voicing the characters, so you really get pulled into the story more and get to experience the different personalities each character has. I continue to enjoy the Americanized Russian accents and think that the overall feel of having the author narrate the story really ramps up the energy.The chapter breaks are a bit wonky, but since I take most of this story as an action comedy I eventually got into the forcefulness of how each new chapter number was delivered and began to get disappointed when they became less so.

I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Hard Boiled Adventure

This story had crime, action, and adventure. The action was intense and the sound effects we're subtle and not over done. During the car chase you could hear the classical music playing on the radio. These effects helped with the tone of scenes. Definitely recommend you give it a listen.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Was very impressed with the story and the way it kept you wanting to hear more. The author did an excellent job pulling you into his world and keeping you engaged the whole way. I will definitely have to go back now and listen to the first two. I recommend this book to anyone with a love of the hard-boiled detective types. I received a free copy of this audio in return for an unbiased review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

REALLY GOOD SERIES!

I really enjoyed this book. It was full of action and suspense. I couldn't put it down. The narration was great and will keep you entertained. The author did an excellent job with the characters and plot. I've read the second book in this series (This Is Life) and enjoyed it as well. I look forward to reading more books by this author because he never fails to entertain me! I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Thrill Ride All the Way Through

Czechmate was indeed a gripping crime thriller. I really like the Jack Palms series. This is the second I've listened to in the series and they can be listened to as stand alones. Jack Palms is a neat character who doesn't insult my intelligence. He's human and helps fight crime in the San Francisco area. Whenever he mentions an area such as Sausalito and my housemate walks by and hears it he says 'oh, I've been there'. So this book really gives you the feel of being there. It is definitely action-packed. The returning characters are great and I especially liked the chemistry between Jack and Gannon.

Another thing I enjoy is when an author narrates his own audiobook. He's owning it and does an excellent job with the voices of the characters. There's never a question as to who's speaking and the accents were fab. I also like the occasional voice of Gannon. This was an overall great listen.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Consistantly good

Seth Harwood delivers a consistently good story. Like the previous 2 books, this one is also fast paced and filled with action.
I know it's a little thing but after 40+ chapters it begins to get annoying, it's the way he introduces the next chapter.


"I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review."

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Action, action and more action

Czechmate: A Gripping Crime Thriller: Jack Palms Crime, Book 3.... Loved this audio book, it is better than book 2 and that was good. Picks up where "This is Life" left off. Starts at high speed and never lets up from page 1 to the last page Action, action and more action.
Narrated by the author and he does an excellent job of it. Superb production, and I loved those snatches of music .
I highly recommend this audio book it is great entertainment.
I was given a free copy of this audiobook at my own request, and voluntarily leave this review.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Norma Miles
  • Norma Miles
  • 03-17-19

The power of black.

Jack Palms, one time movie star, recovered drink and drugs addict, wakes up in hospital in severe pain. He'd been shot in the shoulder. Following directly on from Book 2, (This is Life), when Jack's hoped for quiet and peaceful return home after his biking time with his Czech buddies was anything but. He'd been dragged into the uncovering of a widespread prostitution ring of young Russian girls, brought in by Alexi Akakievich, compromising senior members of the community, including the Mayor and The Chief of Police. The psychotic Russian gangster had made it clear he wanted Jack dead, but now his old Czech friends had returned to lend a hand to help protect Jack and dispose of Alexi. Together with his reluctant new partner, Shaw, and F.B.I. agent, Jane Gannon, Jack and the Czechs together try to put an end to the vicious Russian's hold on the city and the girls.

Even more so than its predecessor, Czechmate is almost total non stop action, including a.quite phenomenal car chase - who'd have thought that it could be so exciting? It is, at times, bloody and brutal and filled with pain. This time the story is not just in the first person so that other of the protagonists, and their actions, feature alongside Jack. But the reader is still treated to what goes on inside his head as he continues to transition from celluloid to real life.

Narration is again by by the author, Seth Harwood, with a little help from friends who take a few of the character parts. This Audible is, according to the introduction, a slightly revised version of his original serialized podcast. Mr.Harwood reads his story well, good pace to fit the text and a slightly downbeat tone which really suited his main character.. The added voices too, were exce!!ent, bringing a refreshing full cast feel. Nice brief bursts of music were occasionally inserted and, rather strange, the chapter numbers were given almost sarcastically enthusiastic rendering. But overall, this was a most enjoyable performance of a good, gritty thriller.

My thanks to the rights holder who, at my request, freely gifted me a complimentary copy of Czechmate, via Audiobook Boom. It was fun, with bursts of humour, exciting and a really good unexpected read. I will certainly be looking out for more productions by Seth Harwood, hopefully continuing the Jack Palms story. If you like your books fast and furious, this is definitely for you, too - but read book two first.